We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great collection in cool surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fondation Maeght

Fondation Maeght
623, chemin des Gardettes | 06570, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
33 4 93 32 81 63
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Wiltshire, Engalnd
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great collection in cool surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Art isn't really my thing, but there is something for everybody at the Maeght Foundation. The building is air conditioned and so it's a great way to pass a couple of hours out of the heat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    139
    52
    35
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Save the 400 meter walk up the hill and 15 euros and AVOID”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A modern art museum with a fairly limited collection. Sculptures are perhaps the most interesting. Walked up there after visiting the village but wish we hadn't. Really expensive at 15 euros and then an extra 5 for a button to allow you to take pictures. 3 of us went and we paid for 1 to take pictures. A fee of 5 euros would still seem a stretch compared to other museums in France. Avoid.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extraordinary art collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

One of the best museums we went to during our stay in Southern France. Provocative and well-curated collection of outstanding modern and contemporary painting and sculpture in an amazing building. Particularly enjoyed the Miro maze and sculpture gardens outside. A must-see museum!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not worth it !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

14 Euros entrance to be told that the famous exhibits were in Marseilles ! A fact that should have been advertised before entering. A lot of people packing & no gallery staff available just security who were clueless. Quite a steep walk from the village if you arrive by bus. Much more to see in Nice - skip it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“There was more art in the bookshop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place has a beautiful setting but when we went in late June 2013 half of it was closed.
The art we saw was pretty average. There is free parking on site so do not park at the bottom of the hill. Our visit took 20 minutes with half of that in the bookshop.
Not worth the effort of going.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fondation Maeght also viewed

St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Fondation Maeght? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fondation Maeght, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.