We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The view from the balcony looking South
The view from the balcony looking South
The view from the balcony looking South
The view from the balcony looking West
The lower garden and decking with stunning views
Light and airy bedroom with super king-size 'bateau-lit' bed
Main room with French windows onto the balcony
St-Paul-de-Vence
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
jbird3
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

You wont find a better place for a self catering holiday. The villa is so close to the buzz of the Cote d'Azur in Cannes and Nice but in a quiet oasis. The views from Villa Olivade are absolutely stunning and the pictures do not do it justice. The villa has everything you need for a relaxing holiday. We ate in more times here than we usually do because of the views from the terraces.
We are golfers and found some really good golf courses nearby which weren't too extortionate. After a good (and warm) round of golf we loved going back to St Paul de Vence for a beer and glass of rose in the Café de la Place to watch the guys play boules.
The walk into St Paul de Vence was as stated in the details as a leisurely 20minute walk and whilst uphill it wasn't too onerous even in the heat. The only warning I would give is that it is quite a tight windy road and the traffic can travel fast but David provided a torch for when its dark which I would definitely recommend you use it so the traffic can see you if you are walking home late.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and waking up to the views
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Helen J
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely villa in a beautiful location - perfect place to unwind and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at the Villa Olivade for a week in July this year and what a beautiful place it is!. Nestling in the hills with amazing views all the way to Antibes, it has the feeling of being secluded yet not isolated. It is possible to walk to St Pauls de Vence town in 20 minutes, or just relax on the balcony, prepare your own meals and listen to the crickets at night. Its a perfect base for exploring the Cote d'Azur. The villa is extremely clean, comfortable and very well equipped and decorated. Its also very spacious with plenty of living area, with modern bathroom and kitchen. The pool was lovely, and not too busy. We will definitely be going back again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything! Location and the property itself were perfect ,
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and of course we are delighted that you had a good holiday in Olivade. I must admit that the sound of the evening wildlife does add a calming ambiance when enjoying a drink or two on the balconies or terrace! Thank you again. David & Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Paula1280
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and I stayed in this villa for the first week in June and we were thrilled with our choice. It was beautiful and bright and contained everything you would need to make it feel like home. The views from 4 private decks were absolutely spectacular and were situated perfectly for practically every time of day! It was about a 15 minute walk into St. Paul - a charming town with lots of galleries and great restaurants. After walking most days for hours, we often drove to the town for dinner and parking was free after 8. St. Paul de Vence is an excellent base for day trips to Nice (20 minutes), Antibes, Eze, Monaco to name a few. The owner, David, was in contact by email when we had a question and offered us numerous suggestions for restuarants and sightseeing. Everything was perfect and we would highly recommend this accomodation.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Outdoor space
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind response and recommendation. You have really said it all about the villa and the location! Sally and I always try and offer our experience of the area having lived at the villa for a number of years and it's great to get some feedback to know that it's worthwhile and makes a difference. Thank you again. David & Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LittleWin...
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday at Olivade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We spent a very enjoyable few days at Olivade in October, we found the villa easily thanks to David's very good directions, and everywhere was very clean and tidy. The views from the balcony and the lower terrace are spectacular, we could have spent all our days just sitting there with fresh crusty baguettes, cheeses, pate and a bottle of wine, but decided to explore the surrounding area as the weather was still warm and sunny. St Paul de Vence itself is about a 20 minute walk away with some very nice bars and restaurants, so we were able to eat and drink there some evenings without having to drive (although we took a torch with us for the stroll home again at night). As the kitchen is well equipped, we decided to cook at the villa a couple of times to enjoy the fresh food that we picked up locally. There is also a swimming pool on the domaine, just a couple of minutes walk away from Olivade, which we didn't make use of during our stay but I'm sure would be most welcome in the very hot weather. The domaine itself is a very peaceful place, we hardly saw another person while we were there, it was easy to park the hire car outside the villa, and everywhere felt very safe because of the security gates at the entrance to the domaine. David and Sally-Anne had left information on the local area, plus instructions as to how everything in the villa worked, and also David's phone number if you need to speak to him. All in all a very relaxing break, and we would have no hesitation in going back again for a repeat visit!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: A very good location for places but at the same time, relaxing and peaceful
Liked least: Having to leave to go back home!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Gargantua...
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Scam - stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed 8 nights at Villa Olivada from August 25 to September 1, 2012. The apartment is okay, nice view, the interior is small but stylish and me and my partner had a great time. However, I would not recommend this property for one reason. At the end of our stay, we received an email from the owner saying that they won't return our deposit of 400£, the reason being that not all dishes were washed as we left. As cleaning had already been charged with our initial payment, this was clearly a rip-off. We advise you to stay away from this property, because you're not likely to see your deposit of 400£ again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Villa. However, it is regrettable that you have felt the need to leave a negative review after your £300.00 security deposit was not returned due to the state in which you left our property.

The kitchen drain was totally blocked with food and required emergency plumbing repairs. Extra staff had to be found to help clean and disinfect the villa because of the terrible hygiene issues you left including a maggot infestation in unlined and unemptied waste bins. All other surfaces were strewn with empty bottles and food packages. Crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils were left used and unwashed. When we first saw the photographs sent by our concierge Elaine, we were quite shocked and upset that our villa had been treated that way.

We have never withheld a security deposit from a guest other than yourself and certainly do not run a scam. Unfortunately the costs of the emergency plumber (on weekend rates), extra cleaners and Elaine having to wait 4 hours for the plumber to arrive came to more than your security deposit. This meant that there was no money left to return as we were out of pocket by 110 euros. We presented you with the invoices so you knew what we personally had to pay.

We are both sorry that you feel aggrieved but I'm sure you must have understood, and knew, that the way you left the villa was going to cause a lot of problems. The main concern was to ensure the next guests came to a clean, tidy and welcoming property for their well earned vacation.

David & Sally-Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
janosinsw...
1 review
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We spent a week in June in this stunning villa. The villa was well equipped and everything was clean and tidy and was working satisfactorily. It felt like home from the first moment. We also appreciated the generous terrace areas and the pool area which was quiet and clean.
A very pleasant surprise was the bottle of champagne raised in the fridge for my 60:th birthday. Thank you David and we hope to return.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
BillNYeye
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Villa Olivade was fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We spent the last week of June here. It was perfect. The owners have paid attention to all the details and genuinely want their guests to enjoy their stay at Villa. This is a comfortable villa, both private and yet open, simultaneously. It has a flexible and expansive living space both inside and outside, with 3 levels outside (upper balcony and two lower areas with chaise lounges, cushions, pergola, table and chairs, lots of plants). But its the views from each area that we loved! The upper balcony was our favorite (but we made good use of them all). It was great to have the outside spaces (because the weather is gorgeous), and each area is private -- we hardly saw a soul during our entire stay.

The interior furnishings were quite nice. The owners have created a very comfortable, tasteful, and liveable space for guests. Posters and artwork on the walls, and a nice overall ambiance. French doors/windows in every room that open up to awesome views, and allow the breezes and light in. There's A/C if you should need it (we didn't), as the villa stays quite cool. Flat screen TV, surround sound stereo (which we were too busy to use). There's also wifi, and David provides directions for how to access/use everything.

The bedroom has a comfortable King-size bed, french windows that open to the balcony and beautiful views, ample space in the closet and dresser, and even a table/desk, allowing a spot to put all our various "stuff" at the end of the day. The bathroom is fabulous, beautifully tiled, with an ingenious shower design.

There's a very nice working kitchen, with all the necessary cooking utensils, new range/cooktop, fridge, etc. to allow for making meals – We enjoyed eating outside, overlooking the distant Mediterranean and surrounding hills.

Great light, breezes, a fabulous panorama from the villa of the Mediterranean, rambling vistas, hills, abrupt stone mountains, stone walls... magnificent views of Saint Paul de Vence from Domain du Piol. Nice pool, and grounds -- you get a sense that you are walking around "history" here.

The villa is in a great location, convenient to supermarket, gas stations, etc. and especially to see historic art. It's very close to the galleries and shops of St. Paul de Vence (visit Cafe de la place to get into the rhythm of the area, over an espresso and baguette for breakfast). Visit Matisse's "Chapel of the Rosary", stunning in its simplicity and beauty. The Foundation Maeght, an excellent collection, with beautiful sculpture gardens and grounds. Within ½ hour are Vence, Antibes, Nice, Cannes, and all they have to offer (Picasso, Chagall, and Matisse Museums, the Modern Art museum and galleries of Nice). Thriving farmers markets, especially in Antibes and Old Town Nice; The Bay de Anglais and Promenade which fronts the Mediterranean and gorgeous beaches -- you can walk, run, rent bikes and go for miles). Visit the scenic towns of St. Jeannet, Tourrette Sur Loup, Biot, and Vallauris, to name a few. David and Sally-Anne provide an interactive "google map" of suggestions of what to do, where to eat, etc. Very helpful.

Villa Olivade was wonderful. We didn't want to leave. It was the perfect place to come back to at the end of the days sightseeing, open a bottle of wine, and relax and soak in the views and sunset.

One last thing -- the photo's the owners have posted are accurate!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location, location, location, views and ammenities!
Liked least: having to depart
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,061
/ Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
David T
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Jul 2011
Response Rate: 60 %
Response Time: Within a day
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing