We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The view from the balcony looking South
The view from the balcony looking South
The view from the balcony looking South
The view from the balcony looking West
The lower garden and decking with stunning views
Light and airy bedroom with super king-size 'bateau-lit' bed
Main room with French windows onto the balcony
St-Paul-de-Vence
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
janosinsw...
1 review
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We spent a week in June in this stunning villa. The villa was well equipped and everything was clean and tidy and was working satisfactorily. It felt like home from the first moment. We also appreciated the generous terrace areas and the pool area which was quiet and clean.
A very pleasant surprise was the bottle of champagne raised in the fridge for my 60:th birthday. Thank you David and we hope to return.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
BillNYeye
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Villa Olivade was fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We spent the last week of June here. It was perfect. The owners have paid attention to all the details and genuinely want their guests to enjoy their stay at Villa. This is a comfortable villa, both private and yet open, simultaneously. It has a flexible and expansive living space both inside and outside, with 3 levels outside (upper balcony and two lower areas with chaise lounges, cushions, pergola, table and chairs, lots of plants). But its the views from each area that we loved! The upper balcony was our favorite (but we made good use of them all). It was great to have the outside spaces (because the weather is gorgeous), and each area is private -- we hardly saw a soul during our entire stay.

The interior furnishings were quite nice. The owners have created a very comfortable, tasteful, and liveable space for guests. Posters and artwork on the walls, and a nice overall ambiance. French doors/windows in every room that open up to awesome views, and allow the breezes and light in. There's A/C if you should need it (we didn't), as the villa stays quite cool. Flat screen TV, surround sound stereo (which we were too busy to use). There's also wifi, and David provides directions for how to access/use everything.

The bedroom has a comfortable King-size bed, french windows that open to the balcony and beautiful views, ample space in the closet and dresser, and even a table/desk, allowing a spot to put all our various "stuff" at the end of the day. The bathroom is fabulous, beautifully tiled, with an ingenious shower design.

There's a very nice working kitchen, with all the necessary cooking utensils, new range/cooktop, fridge, etc. to allow for making meals – We enjoyed eating outside, overlooking the distant Mediterranean and surrounding hills.

Great light, breezes, a fabulous panorama from the villa of the Mediterranean, rambling vistas, hills, abrupt stone mountains, stone walls... magnificent views of Saint Paul de Vence from Domain du Piol. Nice pool, and grounds -- you get a sense that you are walking around "history" here.

The villa is in a great location, convenient to supermarket, gas stations, etc. and especially to see historic art. It's very close to the galleries and shops of St. Paul de Vence (visit Cafe de la place to get into the rhythm of the area, over an espresso and baguette for breakfast). Visit Matisse's "Chapel of the Rosary", stunning in its simplicity and beauty. The Foundation Maeght, an excellent collection, with beautiful sculpture gardens and grounds. Within ½ hour are Vence, Antibes, Nice, Cannes, and all they have to offer (Picasso, Chagall, and Matisse Museums, the Modern Art museum and galleries of Nice). Thriving farmers markets, especially in Antibes and Old Town Nice; The Bay de Anglais and Promenade which fronts the Mediterranean and gorgeous beaches -- you can walk, run, rent bikes and go for miles). Visit the scenic towns of St. Jeannet, Tourrette Sur Loup, Biot, and Vallauris, to name a few. David and Sally-Anne provide an interactive "google map" of suggestions of what to do, where to eat, etc. Very helpful.

Villa Olivade was wonderful. We didn't want to leave. It was the perfect place to come back to at the end of the days sightseeing, open a bottle of wine, and relax and soak in the views and sunset.

One last thing -- the photo's the owners have posted are accurate!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location, location, location, views and ammenities!
Liked least: having to depart
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Nene4dis
herefordshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Excellent villa, with extremely well equipped kitchen, comfy lounge and superb bed. Views from the villas patio doors are amazing, Views from the balconies and terraces just exceptional. Also very private.Very helpful & proactive owner, really efficient manager. Felt general Domaine especially the swimming pool needed some TLC but didn't diminish our enjoyment. Highly recommend.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Outside area/ views
Liked least: The pool
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2012
Thank you very much for you kind words about our villa. This famous old Domaine was frequented by Matisse, Renoir Picasso etc in it's hey day. Sadly when the central hotel closed for business, it remained untouched for nearly 20 years. We have been renovating the domaine to get it back to its former glory for the past 10 years and this winter the pool is having a 35,000 euro facelift and completely re-tiled with new mosaics. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we really hope to see you back soon!

David and Sally-Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
TravelerM...
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Mediterranean Villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We spent the first week of June 2012 at Olivade and could not have been happier. Besides the great weather, the Domaine du Piol development is impressive from first encounter and the grounds very well kept. It has a large swimming pool on a lower terrain level, and good views of the town of St Paul a short distance away. We even walked to St. Paul one evening. It's about 20 minutes away, some slight hills going, but all downhill back.

As for Olivade, it was perfect. The bedroom and living room are ample in size and the fully equipped kitchen more than met our needs for the nights we ate in. But the best was the patio outside, accessible through the living room or bedroom French doors. We had our breakfasts there every day and the sun rose over the roof line every morning at 8am bathing the table in warm early morning sunlight. And the view from the patio was exceptional, all the way to the Mediterranean.

The bathroom was roomy and an ingeniously designed shower stall, with movable glass walls, made the room even bigger.

The terrace below, accessible via a short flight of steps, is tranquil and surrounded by trees and plants that give it a tropical feel as well as a lot of privacy. We spent pleasant late afternoons laying on the chaise lounges, with the Western sun brilliantly warming us.

David, the owner, was also very accessible though he lives in Great Britain. We called him once for a question on the use of the cook top (called a 'hob' to the Brits) and he solved our question quickly. The interior of the house as well as the detailed PDF he supplied showed the care and attention he has lavished on it.

We would recommend Olivade without exception.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view from the terrace
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Catherine...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Villa Olivade absolutely met our expectations from the description and photos. It's lovely. The owner couldn't have been more helpful in supplying information and tips on where to go. We spent a week there in May, lucky with the weather so spent hours over breakfasts and our evening bottle of wine on the balcony - just gazing at the amazing view. Lying in bed at night you can look out at this view and the lights across the valley - it's so relaxing. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils - we did quite a bit of cooking and there was nothing we needed that wasn't there. It's a perfect base to explore the coastal towns of the Cote d'Azur and amazing scenery and hilltop villages inland. Just 20 mins walk to St. Paul de Vence and you've got your perfect lunchtime Plat du Jour and people watching at the Cafe de la Place and we had a wonderful evening at La Colombe d'Or restaurant. We would definitely go and stay at Villa Olivade again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: View from the balcony.
Liked least: Nothing really.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Clara W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Olivade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 for a stay in November 2010

Wonderful stay David I could not fault it in any way - first 3 days relaxing on the terrace looking at that amazing view, swimming in the pool & popping up to the cafe in St Paul for lunch or coffee & soaking up the atmostphere. The next 3 days shopping in Nice, meeting friends in Monty & looking at the boats in Antibes. The villa is ideally placed for getting about, beautifully decorated throughout. I shall definitely be going back next year.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The amazing view from the terrace
Liked least: Didnt really have a like least ?
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ANCION J
LIEGE
1 review
“Nice, quiet, intimate, ideal if you want a romantic getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
Google Translation

La villa des terrasses, aussi agréable en dehors que en dedans, nous a permis de passer deux semaines très agréables.
L'intérieur offre une décoration chaleureuse et conviviale. Le mobilier, les bibelots, les éclairages intérieurs et extérieurs permettent de créer une ambiance très " cosy" pour les soirées.
L'espace à vivre qui est déjà largement suffisant pour deux personnes est amplifié par de grandes fenêtres ouvertes sur une vue exceptionnelle que l'on peut contempler où que l'on soit dans l'appartement.
Peut-être un petit défaut : on n' a pas trouvé le lave-vaisselle.

J et JF Ancion Belgique

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the view and the intimate atmosphere of the apartment
Liked least: no dishwasher
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,061
/ Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
David T
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Jul 2011
Response Rate: 60 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing