We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely village in the village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Hameau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Hameau to your Saves list
Le Hameau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   528 rte. de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely village in the village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Since I visit quite a few hotels (but don’t review them all), I will do a break-down of the ones I do review. Hope this will prove handy for future readers.

GENERAL DESCRIPTION AND LOCATION:
Near the touristic but nevertheless beautiful town of Saint-Paul-de-Vence and merely 20-30 min from the airport you’ll find Le Hameau. You are still near Nice and the busy coastline, but suddenly all the crowding is gone, changed to peace and quiet. You can even drive your car without getting stuck in a bouchon (queue) - which otherwise is a daily experience if you stay down by the sea. Hameau is a french word meaning a gathering of houses without a church. The hotel Le Hameau is just that on a small scale: several little buildings with individual touch makes up a small ”hotel village”. Some buildings houses only one hotel room.
The style is typical south french and provençale giving a pittoresque and ”cosy” feeling. Views are beautiful overlooking the valley with the Mediterranean visible in the distance. The hameau is completely secluded from the road beneath and from neighbors. Nearest neighbor is the hotel "Villa St Maxime", which actually offers even a better, at least a more vast, view of the valley and St Paul. Villa Maxime has some similarities with the Hameau but has a totally different modern architecture and style. That is another matter - see numerous reviews here on TA.

ARRIVAL/PARKING:
Positioned more or less directly on the Route de la Colle leading up to Saint-Paul it is still easy to find with large signs on the road when you see and approach Saint-Paul. Gated private parking with generous space makes parking easy and convenient. It is also possible to go by bus from Nice (number 400 I think - info available on the net) even though you will appreciate having a car to get around the area.
Check in is without problem. The management is very kind and waits for you if you have a late arrival. You are guided to your room which may be on a different level, so if you have a physical condition or handicap please note that the whole area has many height levels and some stairs to climb.

ROOM OVERVIEW:
The rooms differ in size and standard - the individuality is part of the charm. My room was a bit ”up the hill” with a fairly large balcony overlooking the valley and seating at least two persons. Everything clean and in good shape. Mini bar in the room as well as ironing board and extra pillows.
 Beds are rather firm but comfortable.
 Charming bathroom with blue tiles everywhere, shower and bath tub. AC worked perfectly which is a blessing - it can get really hot in the summer.

POOL:
The pool (”infinite” style) is lovely with plenty of space, sun chairs and parasols for the guests. A jacuzzi, hamam and even sauna is available. For those who like to work out a mini-gym with a few machines completes the pool area.

BAR AND RESTAURANT:
Le Hameau lacks a restaurant, but you can have drinks and snacks (omelette, salads, panini) brought to the pool or to your room. In the reception lobby there is a small bar. Breakfast is being served outside in a beautiful garden with flowers and orange trees surrounding the sitting area. Breakfast is good including fruit, cereals, yoghurt, eggs (boiled, fried and omelette), ham, cheese and an assortment of bread and brioches.
For dinner you (will have to) take a 10-15 min walk up to Saint-Paul where you find plenty of restaurants.

ENVIRONMENT AND NEARBY:
The riviera is a busy place. As initially mentioned, you will get rid of the worst crowds here - just half an hour from the coast. The spot is perfect for excursions to many of the lovely villages in the Alpes Maritimes - mostly inhabited with ”real people” where pace is slower and the environment more natural.
 Neighboring Le Hameau is ”Fondation Maeght” which is a privately founded modern art museum created by the art patrons Aimé and Marguerite Maeght in the style and spirit of, for example, Guggenheim in the US. Set in a park environment and with sculpture, mosaics and decorations the museum focuses on the artists born around the beginning of the 20th century, such as Chagall, Giacometti, Miro and Braque. Ten minutes (note: rather steep slope uphill if you’re walking) from Le Hameau it is a must see!

”La Chapelle du Rosaire” - Matisse’s last major work - is nearby in Vence, only 5 km away. Also a must see (restricted opening hours - check on the net before you go)!

The airport (Nice-Cote-d’Azur) is not far away: just 12 km and depending on the traffic you should be able to reach it by car within 20 min under best conditions. However, you’d be wise to calculate for bouchons (trafic jams) near the coastline, which are frequent, especially in the afternoon.

RATING:
Official rating is three stars, which in my opinion is too low. The overall standard, quality of the property lacking nothing that can be found in a higher ranked hotel (with the exception of an onboard restaurant) sums up to be worth four stars.

PRICE/PERFORMANCE:
To no surprise the riviera is pricy. Considering the official three stars Le Hameau is a bit expensive. On the other hand, as mentioned the hotel deserves four stars and in that view the price is fair. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Mr Vierdank

We thank your very much for your accurate description and to have taken the time to
write your comments down.

Your satisfaction is our best encouragement.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    44
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
55
136
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim Municipality, Norway
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

You must just try this hotel!
This is one of the most lovely hotels we have stayed in!
The Place is just wonderful with grapes hanging overhead entering the hotel.
The room was lovely and the staff very helpful and friendly.
We stayed on after checking out just to get som extra hours at the pool with the view over the vally and the sea.
Combine a stay here with dinner at Colome d'Or in St. Paul (book in advance...).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Mr Geir,

We have been pleased to welcome you at the hotel Le Hameau.

Thank you for you nice valuation. We are glad you have kept an excellent memory of you stay among us.

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very nice hideaway of a hotel. Beautiful rooms and very nice surrounding areas. The hotel is also a 10 minute walk form the medieval village of St Paul de Vence. Staff are very nice. The hotel owner also took my husband for a ride in his Ferrari which was very entertaining!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Liadeb,

We thank you for your friendly comments.

That is right that the owner, Mr Burlando, likes sharing his passion for race cars. That is always an unforgettable memory and full of emotion.

See you soon for an other ride!

Kind Regards

The Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

this is our return visit to this brilliant hotel we went with two of our closest friends and they were overawed with the hameau the rooms are fabulous, breakfasts are memorable the location within walking distance of saint paul the views alone are enough reason to stay there but the best reason is the incredible friendly, courteous, nothing to much trouble staff, fabulous

Room Tip: all of the rooms are excellent depending on the size you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Mrs & Mr Targa,

We thank you for coming back in Le Hameau.

We are pleased to have received your friends and we thank you very much for the nice compliments about our staff.

We hope to see you again next year.

The Management & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Fabulous room. All rooms are unique, with traditional furniture. The door to the bathroom was so old, large and heavy, I swear it was the original from xx years ago. All traditional amenities provided such as TV, free WIFI, bathroom goodies, etc yet it keeps it's old world charm. Brekkie served outside on the terrace was fantastic..more than just the continental usual but incl some hot items (assume for the Americans!). Fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, eggs, cereals, croissants, rolls, juices, great pot of coffee and homemade jam from their garden. The grounds were lovely..beautiful flowers, vines etc. The pool was lovely, with great view. We also had a view of St paul de vence from our window..it doesn't get any better than that! No restaurant on site but then most people staying would want to go up the road to St Paul de vence, so no issue. Would love to come back and stay longer. Highly recommend as long as you appreciate Provence charm (ie you are not into hotel chains etc).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Mr. Alex Move

We thank you for your nice description of our hotel.

Our special attachment to preserve the authenticity of the place is well rewarded by your excellent memory.

We hope to welcome you an other time.


Kind Regards

The management and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Le Hameau is very well located as a base for excursions on the French Riviera. You need only 20 minutes to Nice Airport. The hotel is very charming and has a good swimingpool with a wonderful view. The garden is full of flowers and having breakfast on the terrace surrounded by roses is a true delight. The rooms are in the provencal style and have well equipped bathrooms. Staff is very helpful and the good team work gives the hotel a very pleasant atmosphere. A big plus is the large parking area.
If you compare price, quality and location you can hardly find a better holiday alternative "sur la Côte d'Azur".

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 in the main building Room 18 in the charming annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Mr Anders,

Thank you very much.

We are flattered by the accurate and nice description you have made, witch contribute to the reputation of our house.

We would be very happy to welcome you again among us.


The management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had a romantic week travelling the french riviera, and desided to slow down at St Paul de Vence for one night. Thank God we ended up here. This is absolutely one of the most charming and authentic hotels I´ve stayed at. Beautiful surroundings meet you upon arrival, And the staff is charming and helpful.
This is an old farm who was turned into a hotel in the 1950´s, and all the rooms have different themes, yet still the same charming style. Our room was big, had a terrace with Stunning panoramic view. Bathroom was not anno 2014, but still a really nice overall accomodation.
Breakfast was served outside, and that put some extra romantic spice on an already good tasting meal.
Swimmingpool was nice. May might not be summer, but for a norwegian traveller, the temperature in the pool was ok.
There are plenty of places to hang out and chill at this hotel, and the greenkeeper makes sure that every place is well maintained. Petanque course with citrus threes surrounding was my favorite.
The walk to the village of St Paul de Vence took us about 8,5 minute with easy walking, and is well worth a visit during your stay at the riviera.

The manager is a charming french man, with a warm authentic smile on his face, happy to answer your questions, open up the hotel shop beyond opening hours, and provide superb service.
If you have a fantasy of riding an old italian convertible sportscar through the valleys and esplanadas of provence, this guy have a couple of diamonds hidden in his garage, and you might get your dreams fulfilled...

Absolutely fantastic delightful experience, and I recommend this hotel. Great Value, and beeing a 3 star hotel almost makes me laugh in comparison to 5 star hotels far worse...

Room Tip: Any room is nice and has its own outdoor place, but ask for a room facing the sea for "the litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeHameau, Directeur général at Le Hameau, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Mr Aron,

Nothing is more enjoyable for us to know that we gave you satisfaction during your stay in Le Hameau.

Testimonials from our customers are our best encouragement.

Thank you very much for your kindness.


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Hameau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hameau

Address: 528 rte. de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#2 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Hameau 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Hameau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hameau Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Hameau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.