We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Colombe d'Or

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St-Paul-de-Vence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Colombe d'Or
Save
You added La Colombe d'Or to your Saves list
Place du General de Gaulle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Appalling!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

BY far the worst restaurant experience ever!
Rude staff, undercooked food ,and terrible atmosphere.
I cannot for the life of me understand why anyone ever goes here.
Do NOT go to this overpriced cafe!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    31
    13
    12
    12
See reviews for
37
75
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

It's elegance and perfection is not coming from it's luxury but from it's unique history and famous artist visitors. Rooms are clean and comfortable but more than this full of art and history. A bit expensive which totally worths to this experience. Restaurant menu is reach and tasty but always crowded.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Whenever I travel to the south of France, I always leave time to experience lunch at La Colombe d'Or. The outdoor scene is very chichi and Gallic. The food is beautifully prepared and served tableside. The experience is memorable and worth the journey

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kedington Suffolk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner for two here, the waiters were superb, very professional, friendly & fun.Lovely garden, but too cold to eat outside when we visited, but the bar area is intimate. The huge physical size of the menus is fun too, but sitting in the beautiful dining room with Picasso's & other noted artists on the walls is fantastic, the whole atmosphere is amazing. The Provencal food was really good, & plenty of choice. The wine list lists many fine wines, some over 2000 euro's, but there is plenty of choice around the 30/40/50 euro level too. Not cheap, but excellent value for an unmissable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The whole experience of eating at this restaurant is one we will remember for a long time. A beautiful October day on a delightful terrase sat in what was probably the best table. The provencale escargot entree was superb, the main courses of civet de lapin and poulet avec morilles and cream were excellent, and the tarte au pommes was divine. The service was exceelt, the waters friendly, and the wine was reasonably priced. The bill was just over 150 Euros for the two of us, but worth every centime!
Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The location of St Paul's and la Colombe d'Or is fantastic. The restaurant is close to the entrance to the medieval hill town. The restaurant itself if full of atmosphere (Sunday lunch) eclectic clientele and very helpful restaurant staff ( see below).

The food was fantastic. If I were being picky, the desserts weren't as good as the rest of the food. Anywhere else and they'd have been great. The food was cheerfully and helpfully served. No need to go mad on the wine list - the house wine was super.

One niggle - we arrived early to look round St Paul's before lunch. The assisted parking was not available at 1200! If you have to park the car yourself don't even think of smelling a hint of wine. The access to the car park is precipitous (to say the least)!

That apart it lived up to our expectations and more. A thoroughly enjoyable afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was my third time in La colombe d'Or . Not the best.
Service at reception, bar and restaurant was lousy . Only the voiturier and room service are at the level they should be.
I think they are at a stage where the popularity is such that the eye for detail is lost.
Where are the days of that little extra which they were soo famous for?
Time for something new

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Colombe d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colombe d'Or

Address: Place du General de Gaulle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#9 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 311
Also Known As:
La Colombe d`Or Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence
La Colombe Dor
Colombe Dor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Colombe d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.