We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine du Calidianus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Domaine du Calidianus to your Saves list
Domaine du Calidianus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Jean Moulin, 83120 Ste-Maxime, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Ste-Maxime
Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Lovely relaxing holiday, great staff especially delphine who was a breath of fresh air and exceptional in the restaurant, and the reception staff who were very helpful and friendly.. We had superior rooms, twin and double, the bathrooms were brand new and luxury, very clean, the rooms were lovely and cool on return from very hot August days out, and opened out to our private terrace areas, perfect. Lunch and evening meals were very good, especially any steak meal, breakfast was very basic compared to other hotels we stayed at,, but was relatively cheap at 12 euros each. Lower pool was first class, more luxurious than top pool, and rarely crowded even in August. Always room for 4 people. A bit of a stretch into town, 20 min walk, need to do early or late in the day out of the heat. Went by Eurostar/tgv to st Raphael, 75 euro taxi ride to hotel, worth it with all the bags. If going to st tropez take boat early, or for cheaper option bus but early in day, we went on 7.50 bus and was easy. Later on large queues build up. For very good meal go to hotel belle aurore, right over the sea, 40 euro menu but superb, should be Michelin starred. In town try la maison bleu, the Michelin starred restaurant, la badiane, and l'amiral, and for air conditioned relief and good Italian food, a cafe/restaurant on the front, red paint, which we can't recall name, but to right of first road up into old town. Huge meals, just have one course! Great holiday, near to beaches, free tennis and table tennis, library, bar and restaurant, all to hand all day. Drinks by pool, all you could ask for. Go for it!

Room Tip: We had rooms 3 and 4 which were next to reception on the ground floor. The terraces of these rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Very much pros and cons for this hotel. First the pros: good location, great staff, clean rooms and modern bathrooms, effective air con, friendly service (including running us into town when no taxi available :)), very tasty food available, two lovely clean pools with plenty of sun beds & sun shades.
Cons: Hard to put a finger on what was not 100% but looked as if it needed sprucing up a bit! Food was good but menu hardly changed over 6 nights. Air Con failed on last day and staff not too bothered about getting it fixed!
All in all, very good value for this part of Cote D' azure. Lovely friendly staff and I can see why people might return year after year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, Berkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Charming and quiet. Excellent value for money. We had a double and a twin room on ground floor, so we could walk straight out to one of the two swimming pools. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Took them just a day to remember out names, which rooms we were in and our preferences for drinks, breakfast etc. Had lovely salads for lunch a couple of days. Dinner also served but we went out each evening. 5 minute walk down hill to main coast road then 10/15 minute walk into Ste. Maxime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Good value for your money. Beautiful situated on a hill overlooking the sea. It's only 2 storey high and has 2 great pools. Every room has it's own patio on the ground floor and a balcony on the top floors. A 15 minute walk and your in St. Maxime. Only a couple of minutes and you can enjoy the sea! There is a boat conection between St. Maxime and St. Tropez, very nice if you don't want to stand in a traffic jam.
Tip:
Visit the old villages of Ramatuelle and Bormas les mimosas.

Room Tip: Room number 4 is right next to the restaurant, some night people stayed long and became louder as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seveso, Italia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've been a guest of Domaine du Calidianus for 14 days in August and we've been given a spacious room with an additional baby bed; the room is provençale style and the bathroom is new.We've been given a room with withswimming pool view but unfortunately with a very small balcony we had to move the tableand the chairs to sit on it, the sun tent wasn't working but luckily the sun beams didn't reached us. Air conditioning mini bar and comfortable beds with comfortable pillows.
The place is very relaxing completely surrounded by pines and trees in a relaxing place just 200 meters from the beaches and 15 minutes walking distance from the center of Ste Maxime, free parking and a night guard patrolling the place.The people working there are kind. My experience is positive, but because the reception for the check out opens at 8:00 o'clock in the morning I was told that the bill It should be paid the night before; because hotels and restaurants are my job I think that the bill should be paid the day of the check out especially because of the mini bar. Anyway the place is perfect for a holiday in Ste MAxime, the restaurant of the Calidianus is not expensive at all and is worth eating there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place was so cheap compared to other hotels of the area that I was in doubt, although reviewes were quite good

The structure is a 2 storey complex that runs in semi-circle hidden among the oleanders, slightly up the hill from the road. It boasts 2 swimming pools and a provencal restaurant and is a piece of paradise on heart, no wonder it was packed with pregnant women looking for a relaxed holiday

Rooms are furbished in provencal style and strangely enough it was the only hotel of this holiday with a bidet

It's worth noting that albeit close to ste maxime it's not in town, so you'll definitely need a car to go to ste maxime - or st tropez, if you fancy that

A note for the tech-freaks, the wi fi works well but reaches only as far as the reception area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Loed on the road to Saint Tropez this is a very good option to stay. It's a 3 star hotel with a very good service, 2 swimming pools and surrounded by a very nice area. You can go walking to Saint Maxime or you can go by car to Saint Tropez, about fifteen minutes. The price is fair, what's good news in this very expensive area and the rooms are nice with a balcony with a view of the pool. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Try to book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine du Calidianus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine du Calidianus

Address: Blvd Jean Moulin, 83120 Ste-Maxime, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Ste-Maxime
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ste-Maxime
#7 Family Hotel in Ste-Maxime
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine du Calidianus 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Domaine du Calidianus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Calidianus Hotel Ste-Maxime

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine du Calidianus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.