We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"When money talks"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Santolines

Save Saved
You added Hotel Les Santolines to your Saves list
Hotel Les Santolines
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Les Santolines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Boulevard Jean Moulin, 83120 Ste-Maxime, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 hotels in Ste-Maxime
Espergærde
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"When money talks"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Two year ago we were actually very pleased about Hotel Santolines. After staying at the hotel two years in a row we were looking very much forward to go back in July 2009. But for some reason the hotel has introduced a "7 days rule" implying that you will have to stay 7 days at least days in the Suite in order to be able to book the Suite? This rule you do not see at all at the Santolines website or in any of the brochures from the hotel? Therefore we did kindly ask if we could then stay 5 days instead of 4 days as originally planed AND orally confirmed when we left the hotel in 2008. But apparently hotel management is more focuses on money than faithful customers so we will unfortunately not be able to go to Santolines as we have all ready booked flight tickets based on the promise we got from the hotel when we left in the summer of 2008. Our daughter is very sad that she can not go to Santolines, but we have promised her to find a hotel that treats their customers with a little fairness. Well, time will show if this way of treating customers is a sustainable approach???

Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

Found the hotel by chance after looking around St Tropez for a room and finding nothing at a resonable cost. The hotel is a little strange in layout and although the rooms are small they are very well laid out and the place has a great feel to it.

Across the road from the beach, the hotel has parking and a private walled garden with pool. Also the on site restaurant is terrific and very reasonable for the food and location.

Really well recommended

  • Liked — Layout and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

Located about a five minute walk outside of Ste Maxime, the Santolines is typical of a 3 star French hotel. Rooms are fine, albeit a little small, bathroom is fine, parking is good and it is across the street from the beach. Inexpensive if you consider it so close to the beach. Breakfasts are typical French continental style, and overall a good experience. Rooms surround a pool and sun chairs. A Shell gas station next door has a convenient minimart complete with a huge stock of wines. Across the street on the beach is a terrific restaurant, and the creperie is across the bridge on the way into town. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Great location across from the beach
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

My family and I spent 1 night in Les Santolines and it was quite enough. We rented their largest suite which has 2 bedrooms and a kitchinette. The hotel is on an incredibly noisy highway along the coast in the less desirable part of Sainte Maxime. The staff was nice but the room needed more thorough cleaning. One of the bathrooms had a filthy soap container and the floor was probably not cleaned in quite a while in the entire suite. The breakfast included one of the worst orange juice we have ever been served, even my 6 year old gagged when drinking it. The beach across the street is not very clean and the private beach nearby is a pebble beach with poor service.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noise, dirty bathroom,poor location
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid it
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

The garden view rooms are small, with a tiny tiled shower .
They are clean as they are well serviced once a day, and have an a/c, a safe,minibar,tv, a tel and a lovely terrace with direct acces to the pool area.

The double bed is narrow 1.40 mX 2m but very comfortable, Our room had a third bed suitable for a kid under 12 yrs.
The staff is helpfull and the continental breakfast is just Ok. One coul have bfst every morning in one of the nearby cafes or buy croissants at 'La Tarte Tropezienne' not far from the casino.
There is a peeble beach just accross the busy and noisy road wich leads to Saint Tropez , and 100 m away ther is an upscale sandy beach Maxim with a good lounge/restaurant .There is a free parking.

The negative side of Les Santolines; the noisy and busy road 5 m away behind a green fence and the night security of the complex.We were told to close the windows and shutters during the night to avoid trouble....as there is no nightshift at the reception desk.

We had a wonderfull meal at Gruppi's (avoid the restaurant Trident) and an excellent value for money lunch -14 euros -at the bistrot on place des Lices at St Trop.

As for the beach we went to Les Jumeaux-Pampelone a sandy beach near the famous Nikki beach- wich was excellent ;15 euros for a sunbed/day and 36 eurosper person for a delicious alfresco lunch, a bargain for St Trop.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2004

Les Santolines is a lovely hotel in Ste. Maxime on the French Riviera. It lis across the street (very busy) from the Mediterranean Sea where there is a lovely sandy beach. We had a good sized balcony with a view of the Sea and could see St. Tropez which is twenty minutes away by car or ferry. The hotel is exceptionally clean and well appointed and Marie and Carol at the front desk went out of their way to accomodate their guests.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Santolines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Santolines

Address: 30 Boulevard Jean Moulin, 83120 Ste-Maxime, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Ste-Maxime
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 hotels in Ste-Maxime
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Santolines 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Les Santolines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Santolines Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Santolines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.