We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel, a vacation center for retiered persons” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Delcloy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Delcloy to your Saves list
Hotel Delcloy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Ave Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not a hotel, a vacation center for retiered persons”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We chose this hotel, because we wanted to visit Cap Ferrat and this was near. A mistake. We arrived at 9 on sunday evening, and there were no kind of service at the hotel - only a machine where you could by snacks. (Near the hotel it was as empty, no open restaurants, nothing)
Room was asketic, only thing provided in the bathroom was soap.
Carage were good, but we had to drag our luggage quite a long distance, including many steps.
In the morning it appeared that the "hotel" really was a vacation place for retired clerks or notaries.
Plus points for breakfast and location near by Cap Ferrat and Villa Ephrussi de Rotschildt.
Price-quality -relation was absurd.

Room Tip: Rather check hotels in Villefrance sur Mer, Beaulieu or somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is not a place you want to stay. We arrived to a friendly and helpful desk. We then received our rooms that were a hi two star low three. Once the rooms were cleaned, we had certain things missing that we needed for the Monaco grand prix . We then had to change rooms after the race, no fault of the hotel. We booked a family room for four people. When we checked into the room there was one single bed. We have traveled enough to know that this should not happen as we booked with Expedia. I never post on these sights, but place screwed us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We've stayed in the hotel for 2 nights, over a long weekend in August. The location of the hotel is fantastic: situated in St Jean Cap Ferrat, one of the "crown jewels" of the French Riviera due to its tranquility and elegance, the hotel overlooks a great beach (5 min walking to the beach), with views up to the stunning hills. It has also direct access to a beach pathway, on which it's possible to walk to the centre of St Jean Cap Ferrat, passing beautiful villas along the way.

Besides its location, the other asset of the hotel is the pool and terrace, which a beautiful view. There were sufficient loungers, and a bar by the terrace where one could sit in the pleasant shade. It has to be noted that the hotel seems to cater mostly for families with children (some activities were organized for them by animators), and as a young couple on a romantic weekend we were a bit worried whether it will not be too lively and animated. Howevever, this was not a problem, as the pool and terrace is sufficiently large and so does not feel too busy. Also, there is a children's pool, as well as a bigger pool with depth of over 1,60m in some parts so it did not feel crowded.

The hotel is actually composed of several buildings, with a main building hosting the reception and restaurant, while several other two-storey buildings with apartments or rooms. This may mean that one needs to walk a bit to the room, but this was not a problem for us. Also, the pathway and garden appeared to be well cared of.

While we booked a room, we were actually given a small flat, with a kitchenette (with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, some dishes and cleaning products) and a second little room with 2 extra beds. It was on the ground floor, and had a little terrace as well. However, this seemed to pose no security issues, as there was an extra wooden door on the terrace that one could close and lock while away. Also, there is a small seif in the room.

As some other reviews have noted, the rooms are by no means not luxurious. However, we have found ours to be of a good size, clean and comfortable. Also, the room was equipped with a fan. There is no cleaning or change of towels included in the room fee. However, this can be added as an extra (I believe 80 EUR for a week). What we also liked was that there was free parking in an underground garage.

Overall, given the fantastic location, the great pool and pool-side facilities, and the great price compared to the hotels nearby and overall hotels on the Cote d'Azur at such a good spot, this hotel offers fantastic value for money! We would definately come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megeve, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our friend stayed in this hotel. It happened so, that his visit took place in the middle of August when the temperatures at Cote d'Azur were at their peak. The outside temperature was around 35 in shade. So, when he exhausted from his flight, got into the room for some rest he was surprised in the most unpleasant way imaginable. The rooms didn't have climate control of any kind (no fans, no conditioning, nothing). When he called the reception they said that they didn't have ANY air conditioned rooms and that the 3-star hotels aren't supposed to have them.

So, the friend had to move out from the hotel... He couldn't assess anything else about it, but having no air conditioning is enough for blacklisting a hotel forever, especially in such a hot location as Cote d'Azur.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

In terms of value for money in that area, I'd say it was good, in terms of value for money generally I wouldn't be so generous. The staff were civil and polite but there was an aire of 'couldn't care less', but to be fair they were just 'laid-back'. The outside grounds and pool was superb and the garden was fabulously kept, plants and trees had names and were trimmed and watered daily. The views over the bay was the best and takes the breath away, but the rooms were awfully basic, towels shabby, mould in shower, separate toilet constantly smelt as there was no extractor fan or air circulation. Water pressure was ok and water was hot. Carpet was stained, thin and old but our first room was a stone floor with a kitchenette and 2 single beds, we moved to a much nicer room so my review is is based on this. All that said, we had a fabulous time in Cote d'Azur and we were able to park our car in the grounds or in the underground car park which was tricky because of small spots and inconsiderate parking. Hotel was central to shops, restaurants & railway. One of the main problems for me aside from the room was not having a bar open all day to get drinks/coffee/tea whilst by the pool. It closed at 2.30pm then re-opened at 5.30 but the barman was always late to work it didn't get opened up until closer to 6pm by which time we wanted to shower, change and go out. I would stay there again because I know what to expect and what to bring with us - hairdryer & towels (which you can borrow from reception as I discovered 3 days into the holiday) but I wouldn't necessarily rate this hotel and recommend to others despite this. Bare in mind that the hotel next door literally next door costs €500 a night and is in the exact same spot overlooking the bay, so I would definitely stay again for €100 a night leaving money to enjoy the Cote d'Azur. But it's a choice thing.

Room Tip: Go for a 2 room apartment without a kitchenette, whilst you might not need the bunk beds at least yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Booked hotel as we traveled with a child and wanted a kitchette. When we arrived we found out the pictures were inaccurate and the kitchettes hasd been taken out. The fridge was replaced with a miniture minibar. The microwave etc removed. Shame. Great location. Good pool. Rooms clean but property needs a refurb. you may get lucky and get a better room or you may not. No air con. No real security in the rooms as windows in our unit would deter a thief for about 15 seconds. For a few days fine but for longer stays the problems would irritate you.

Room Tip: Rooms that start with 900 (or close) are next to a busy railway line so noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I stayed with some friends at the Hotel Delcloy from 7 to 10 July. The hotel sits at the top of St Jean Cap Ferrat and is in a great location as has a wonderful outlook over the sea and bay, it's also next door to the 5 star Hotel Riveria. There is also a great footpath that runs from the hotel along the cost to the harbour/restaurant area of St Jean Cap Ferrat, which takes about 15/20 mins to walk.

The rooms are clean, with modern shower room and seperate toilet, and the bedroom is large with TV and small kitchenette area with dining table and chairs, and balcony. It was perfect for our needs the only downside was that we couldn't find any air conditioning in the room which made it, at times, almost unbearable to sleep in. The apartments look a little dated from the outside but are clean and comfortable inside, the great thing about this hotel is the large pool area which has spectacular views over the sea and bay. Staff were friendly and helpful and we encountered no problems.

There are regular buses that run to Nice every 10/20 mins for one euro each way (it takes approx 20/25 mins), and the hotel is within (10/15 min) walking distance to Ville France. A taxi to Monaco costs around 50 euros each way and is approx 20 mins from hotel, a taxi to Nice Airport was approx 65/70 euro each way so much cheaper to bus it.

If you don't want to stay in Nice but still want to stay somewhere within easy reach of the main towns, then I would recommend this hotel, the rooms are fairly modern although basic - but the grounds and outlook from the pool are spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Delcloy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delcloy

Address: 3 Ave Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Delcloy 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Delcloy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Delcloy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.