We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a "must see" unless you're a Cocteau fan” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Santo Sospir

Villa Santo Sospir
14 avenue Jean Cocteau, St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not a "must see" unless you're a Cocteau fan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I enjoyed our visit to this Villa but wouldn't put it on the "must see" list. We were staying at GHCF, which is a 5 minute walk from the Villa so it was convenient. If we had gone out of our way to visit I would have been disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Hidden Jem on the Cote d'Azur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This place was amazing. No need to be a Jean Cocteau fan to appreciate this wonderful place.incredible to walk inside this treasure.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing tour from a close relative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When I did it, tours were still organized by an offshoot of the original landlord full of anedocts. You can visit a small beautiful house decorated by Jean Cocteau.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than an Art Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you have any interest in the art of Jean Cocteau, this is a must see. The villa interior has most of its walls decorated by Cocteau. The resident caretaker gives a guided tour (excellent English). Even if the art is not for you, it's still worth a visit as the Villa, time warped in the 1950's has such a stunning setting. Visits are strictly by appointment. Visit their website.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Santo Sospir also viewed

St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Villa Santo Sospir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Santo Sospir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.