We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i love the family running this hotel, lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Oursin

Hotel L'Oursin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel L'Oursin to your Saves list
Hotel L'Oursin
1 avenue Denis Semeria, St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Stavanger City
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“i love the family running this hotel, lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

quite a lot of sound from neighbouring rooms, but it's ok. good service. good breakfast. we will be back. excellent location near beach and restaurants:-)
love the family dog. love the area. love the scenery

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Shabby sheek or just plain quirky ...basic accommodation in the most perfect setting and location.
with a rate to match Euros 75.00 per night not including breakfast...with 9.50.

A stones throw from the yachting marina and many restaurants to choose from, there is a local supermarket very nearby...Lovely outdoor drinking and dinning.

The bus is about 100 yards that will take you into Villefranche and Nice Euros 1.50 ..in a walking distance is the Villa Rothschild a visit is a must...Villefranche, and Old Nice is a must so is Saint Paul d Vance and Eze...Monoco is half hour by train....there is a coastal walk that leads to Beaulieu sur Mer... very classy...and en route youll come acroos David Nivens old home the Pink Palace....outstanding...Don't bother to hire a car waste of time and money.

Room Tip: room 4 or 5...but remember youll always get the odd car driving passed this very narrow street.....n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We got married in St Jean Cap Ferrat and stayed in l'Oursin for a week together with our close friends. We very much enjoyed our stay; the hotel is fantasticly located in the village (next to the main square and a stone's through from its beaches); it's rooms and interior are charming and its owners extremely friendly. L'Oursin made our stay - and ultimately our wedding- in St Jean extremely enjoyable and really, exactly what we wanted!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Cap Ferrat for a wedding, during the peak season. We really cannot emphasise enough what a fantastic location this is if you don't want to drive or catch taxis (which is not easy). It is central (but quiet) and one can walk to the public/private beaches easily; the many restaurants within 5 minutes; a superb Boulanger 1 minute away; and the lovely Cap Ferrat peninsula walk/run almost on the doorstep. The accommodation is basic, but very clean - however, since this was a wedding with friends, we didn't spend much time in the room, hence it was perfect. Many friends stayed in much more expensive hotels in Villefranche and Beaulieu, but L'oursin was the cheapest and certainly best located. The host (mother and son) were charming and very helpful. I absolutely recommend this hotel if you want a basic, clean, no frills hotel in a truly beautiful (and otherwise very expensive) location. A bargain.

Room Tip: One at the front if you don't mind paying a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed at this charming hotel, and enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of the owner and her son. The lovliest people ! She even gave me a souvenir, an heirloom piece, I was very touched. I would highly recommend this hotel in the French Riviera. The room was very large and very comfortable

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

Their website is artfully crafted to make it seem like a quaint cute gem but really it's kind of dumpy. Good news is you are staying in an amazing and expensive part of France for pennies, but when it's 90 degrees out, it would be nice to have air conditioning. Also, this room was so small, I couldn't open my suitcase all the way, there's not enough room! I side stepped over to the window because the doorless mini fridge blocked the path. There was a bouquet of smells such as cigarettes, old vase water that needed to be changed and perhaps dog pee (?)
When I turned down the sheets, I discovered several hairs from a mystery person.

  • Liked — friendly staff, location, free wifi
  • Disliked — smokers, no ac, mini fridge doesnt work, bad lighting, smells weird
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Oursin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Oursin

Address: 1 avenue Denis Semeria, St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel L'Oursin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Oursin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.