We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitaine Cook

Capitaine Cook
11 avenue jean-Mermoz, St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
493760266
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I dined at Capitaine Cook on the last night of our holiday in Beaulieu-Sur-Mer. We were absolutely delighted at the high quality of the offering. The 32 Euro menu proved to be of the highest quality and very good value. Our total bill was only 109 Euros including wine and coffee, with no extras. The restaurant is situated just outside the marina area so there no views over the sea etc.. however the excellence of the restaurant more than compensates for this. It was refreshing to find a restaurant serving genuine French cuisine at affordable prices. This is a very popular resort with a large number of tourist establishments serving mediocre food at expensive prices. We will most definitely be returning on our next holiday to the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    33
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Menu for 32 euros includes: appetizer, entree and dessert. All to choose from 3 different positions. food very tasty, service rather cool and competent. I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My family decided to have there a dinner. We ordered different dishes all of them were tasty and the price was not so big. Of course many restaurants in this area have better views, but for an exellent view they charge extra money. Here you can be sure that you won't leave the place hungry. Oh, by the way, they have very yammy soups.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Resto In Cap Ferrat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We ate at this restaurant twice while staying in Cap Ferrat. It is by far our best dining experience during a week in this area. We always prefer family- run "Mom & Pop" places. Pop is in the kitchen, and Mom runs the dining room and terraces. She is a Character. If you show up on the late side without a reservation, you will be turned away. If she likes you, you will be treated very well, including cookies and homemade Passionfruit liqueur and a chat after your meal. And what a meal. For the first lunch, we had rabbit terrine with a good salad, and a wonderful soup de poisson. Next was a rich fish gratin for me and very fresh whole grilled John Dory for my husband. Dessert was strawberry soup with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Delicious! With a 50ml of a good Rose, the bill was 84 euros, about $110. Our second lunch was similar and just as good. We highly recommend the Bisquebouille, a version of bouillabaisse. They even gave us seconds!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a lovely meal. We had rabbit and salads to start. Then we shared a fish entry. We could choose from 2 fresh caught fish and selected John Dory. It was grilled, deboned by your table and served with vegetable and 3 sauces. It was the best seafood we had in France. They served homemade liquor...some passion fruit and orange potion that was lethal and delicious. We skipped desserts but others were having cheese plates and desserts. All looked amazing. It is off season here but this little place was buzzing. We are going back on Thursday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitaine Cook also viewed

St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Capitaine Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitaine Cook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.