We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild

Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild
Av. Ephrussi, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
+33 (0)4 93 01 33 09
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$84*
and up
Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It took Baroness Béatrice Ephrussi de Rothschild, one of the most original women on the French Riviera, seven years to build one of the most beautiful sites on the Côte d’Azur. An enlightened art enthusiast who travelled back and forth across France and Europe, Béatrice de Rothschild built up an incomparable and eclectic collection of masterpieces: priceless Sèvres and Vincennes porcelain, works by Fragonard, paintings by the masters (Boucher, Carpaccio, Tiepolo, etc.), Louis XVI furniture, and so on.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The drive to the house is simply stunning, and the house and gardens don't disappoint either. The house is an intimate glimpse into the life of a remarkable woman and the audio tour which is included in the entry price is well paced and interesting. We enjoyed tea and cake in the cafe late afternoon, and we loved the gardens, which are full of both colour and interest.

Our only grumble was price, the house had increased their prices by 30pc but this wasn't advertised on their web site, and if we had been in the UK we would have challenged this, and we we overcharged in the cafe, and when we questioned this, it turns out the waitress hadn't made us aware of an extra charge forms particular type of cake with their offer of afternoon tea.

So overall we loved the house and gardens, but it's an expensive day out, so be warned.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went with our kids 5 and 7 so that pretty much nixed the option of getting the audio tour of the interior of the villa. It was a gorgeous day and the kids just couldn't be kept inside so we hit the gardens and were impressed. We spent a couple of hours outside exploring, again only limited by the kids patience. What a view and what an incredible amount of work it must take to keep those gardens as they are.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pandabearjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
432 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Impressive but gauche”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was my fourth visit and each time I have left having admired the marvellous setting, the energy that went into constructing the place and the fabulous way that the house, garden and collection illustrate a period and the lifestyle and taste of a privileged section of the community. But extraordinary as it is, I do find this a hard place to warm to. The collections are not to my taste and the gardens are so over the top. That said, it makes a great visit and helps complete a social history of the development of this coast as a tourist destination and a home for those with money. The café is well worth a visit if only to sit and enjoy the view.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Easily accessed by local bus, this is a lovely place to spend an afternoon wandering around the villa and its beautifully kept gardens. There is a different garden around every corner - Japanese, Provencale, etc - all different and stunning in their own way. A very peaceful spot with beautiful views of the coastline. We had a wonderful lunch on the terrace - smoked salmon, tarte tatin and coffee with a glass of rose for a set price of 35 euros. There is also a very tempting gift shop on your way out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank vandg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Superb setting for fabulous home and garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This home and garden is beautiful and the story of its establishment and more recent recovery is interesting. Audio guides for the home tour are included in the entry price and a huge asset. The maintenance of both the home and garden is outstanding. We thoroughly recommend a visit to appreciate the beauty and elegance.

Helpful?
2 Thank ChristchurchStewarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Villa & Jardins Ephrussi de Rothschild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing