We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, THANK YOU Royal Riviera!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Riviera
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 ave. Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thank you, THANK YOU Royal Riviera!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our expectations were high, but the hotel managed to surpass them on every level. Our room was large and clean with sweeping views of the sea. Turn-down service was an extra nice touch. Breakfast on the shaded terrace with its views was a great way to start each day. The pool was one of the nicest hotel pools I have ever encountered, and the private sand beach is lovely. The setting at the pool grill is magnificent and the food is very good. I would like to thank certain people who helped make our stay extraordinary, and I would appreciate it if our thanks could be passed along to them. (Along with apologies for misspelled names!) Sondrine and Annabelle were particularly helpful on the phone when I called to make my initial inquiries about the hotel and its services, prices, and availability. They were patient, friendly, and answered all my questions. I'm sure I would not have booked at the hotel if I had not received such kind attention. Camille and Sarah were particulary friendly and helpful at the reception desk. Alexi was great at the bar. (Sorry we didn't spend much time there.) We were especially appreciative that Bruno, the general manager, who's plenty busy making sure all the VIP billionaires are kept happy and satisfied, took the time to introduce himself to us and check in with us every time he saw us on the property. We are two "nobodies" from midwest USA, but were never made to feel anything other than valued guests. Eric, the assistant manager, is a real asset to this hotel. He is constantly on the go, overseeing the smooth operation of each department. He makes an effort to learn the names. He is genuinely happy to see you. He genuinely cares that you are enjoying your stay. If I were to open a hotel (which I have no plans to do), I would hire him immediately! The same needs to be said for Eric, the assistant concierge. What an extraordinary fellow! Friendly, cheerful, full of great ideas and suggestion...his presence enhanced our stay and made a great experience even better. MERCI, MERCI, Eric et Eric!!!! Julian works tremendously hard making sure the guests at the pool have adequate towels, service, umbrellas, etc. He made our time at the pool a real treat. At the beach we were assisted by the extraordinary Stephan and Lucas. Boy! They sure have their work cut out for them, running around in that hot sun, making sure all the beachgoers are comfortable! But they are always there with a smile. Lastly, we would like to thank Arnaud and Marc at the pool grill. What fun they made each lunchtime visit! And Marc, I'm sorry I did not recognize you without your glasses!!!! Thanks to each and every one of you for making our stay not just special - but magical. Hope to see you all again next year! J & M.

Room Tip: Choose the mountain view rooms only if you are on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear J & M,

Thank you very much for your nice review and for taking time to name our employees. Please be assured that we share every review with them and they were touched by your kind words! Thank you also for your full description of our property.
We are all delighted to read that you have noticed our efforts to make sure all our guests feel special and hope you will leave us the opportunity to serve you again next year!
With warmest regards from the Royal Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    70
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
71
227
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Hotel Royal-Riviera is a beautiful property with a great location right on the Baie des Fourmis. The flowering landscaping was lucious and the outdoor dining area was very pleasant. The staff were all very eager to help. Our room was quite large, nicely decorated, and overlooked the pool.

As an activity, we took a fantastic walk on the Promenade Maurive Rouvier, which had a very convenient access from the hotel property. The walkway is right along the water and offered spectacular views of the area. The Promenaded ended in the Port de Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, which is a small harbor village with restaurants, shops, and marina. Nice area.

On returning to the Hotel, we had lunch at the poolside restaurant and then spent a very relaxing afternoon at the pool. We had dinner that evening al fresco at the hotel. The food was good and the service was excellent, but like many hotel restaurants it was very expensive.

Our only criticism: the shower nozzle was an inexpensive handheld gizmo that sat in a cheap plastic holder. Not what you would expect from an expensive luxury hotel. Also, the shower/tub had one of those silly partial glass doors, which I've seen in other European hotels. These little panels do very little to control the water, and the bathroom floor gets flooded even after a brief shower. Of course, this gets cleaned up by the maids, but the bathroom remains unpleasant in meantime.

Despite the relatively minor shower issue, the Hotel Royal-Riviera is a spectacular place and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: You definitely want a room with a view of the pool, which is in the back of the property. The front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear TravelMore1954,

We thank you very much for your nice and detailed review. It is always a delight to receive such positive feedback and the best part of it is you mentioning your wish to come back to the Hotel! We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights. The location is wonderful - just a short ride from Nice airport and close to many things to see. The staff was very helpful in terms of arrangements and recommendations for restaurants. My only complaint is that, for the cost, the rooms were quite small. We initially were in the rooms costing 1150Euro; the room was lovely but not for the money. We then switched to a room for 850Euro - which was tiny; it didn't even have a closet, so they put in a free-standing closet which made it even smaller. I know that the south of France is expensive but it seemed a little over the top. Add to that the fact that they arranged an airport transfer to the hotel for 190Euro when cab fare is 70Euro and its just a bit too rich for my blood.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear NancyDL,

We thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at the Royal Riviera on tripadvisor. We're pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hotel location and our team. We have taken good note of your remarks regarding our rooms and are sorry to read that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. As per our rates, July being our high season, they were the highest during your stay but are still lower than most of the Hôtels in the area. Regarding your remark on transfer cost, the choice was offered to your travel agent prior to your arrival between taking a taxi or having a private limousine transfer with chauffeur. Both costs were given to your travel agent, who confirmed a private transfer upon your arrival. We're sorry if this was not clear to you. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel on another occasion and invite you to contact us directly so we can make sure to pick the most appropriate accommodation and transportation for your stay. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

So, if you are going to "do" the South of France to any degree, there's possibly - amongst us who don't "do" such things with great frequency - the obvious concern about "le vibe". Or, to put it less eloquently (merci Les Francais) the fear that you will be sharing hotel space with impossibly overdressed, haute-maintenance, deliriously demanding folks for whom the vacation is pretty much on par with Cable TV : expected.

Main non! This is an utterly sublime property, where there is truthfully a sense that your holiday time (and indeed dollars) are appreciated. The staff was without exception courteous, gentle, engaging and extremely hospitable. The room - we stayed on the 2nd floor which has been renovated to the style indicated on the website - was perfectly appointed, immaculately clean, bright, cheerful and decadent.

Enjoy the bar - the bartenders certainly appear to be enjoying themselves. And dinner outside on the terrace is really magnificent. A superb menu with food that doesn't demand you pay all your attention to the plate, and a decent wine list that includes some approachable and affordable finds.

It's not often that something borderlines on perfect, but this hotel should congratulate itself on near perfection. Merci

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floors are the "refreshed" floors - I do believe upstairs could be a little da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear pauljToronto,

We thank you very much for taking time to share your recent experience at the Hotel on tripadvisor. We're delighted to read that you found the Royal Riviera not being a hotel with impossibly overdressed , haute-maintenance, deliriously demanding folks! We really enjoyed reading your nice review and hope it will give other travelers an interesting point of view of the Hotel. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future and remain at your disposal for any enquiry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We spent 8 nights here on a family holiday and despite the hefty price tag , we all checked out feeling very happy with our stay. The hotel does not have a spectacular facility or pool or beach. The rooms are good and spacious and the pool does the job and the private little pebble beach is nice but certainly not the most amazing beach. What the Royal Riviera does have is one of the highest standards of service I have experienced in this part of the world . From arrival until departure , we were made to feel at home and totally pampered. Whether it is the concierge services of Cristophe or Eric or the beach service of Stephane , and the great housekeeping staff and frankly all the staff we interacted with, the service was exemplary. The only drawback is that it does not have a casual eatery for dinner as the restaurant is quite formal. But that was not a problem given all the beautiful places to eat in the surrounding villages. I congratulate the management of this establishment.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Tarek_Aggad,
We thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to the Hotel for your summer holidays and are pleased to read that you all left the Hotel very happy. We thank you for your nice comments regarding our team and are glad to hear that we succedeed in making you feel pampered. We also thank you for your suggestion on having a casual restaurant for dinner, that we will surely share with our owner.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel for your next family Holiday and invite you to contact us direcly for a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

i have not stayed in the south of France along the coast previously, but i have stayed all over France and Europe and the United States. I have nothing to say but good things about this Hotel. I was here for my company's Club and stayed with my partner. The hotel was amazing, their meals were amazing, the room was amazing, and the service was, to my experience, 5-star. The location is perfect, the hotel is not that large (a great plus to me), beautifully appointed, clean, and they were just lovely about my halting French. Their English was really very good. The room was lovely: great bed, very nice, clean, and clean-smelling (if you've stayed in France, you know why I mention this), beautiful view over the pool and bay. A really, really nice room! And their buffet breakfast is a really nice hybrid of a French, English, and German; absolutely perfect.

So, right: nothing to complain about here. It was amazing; I didn't see another hotel I wanted to stay in by comparison. I think this may be the best place to stay if you can. And by the way, I found the distance from Beaulieu-sur-Mer, Monte Carlo, and Nice to be very workable.

Room Tip: I had a pool-facing room. Noise from the pool from about 11am til about 3pm was noticeable, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Padme111,
We thank you for your very nice review. We are pleased to read that you had chosen the Royal Riviera for your 1st time in South of France and delighted to hear that it was a nice experience! We hope it has convinced you to come back on another occasion and invite you to contact the Hotel directly for a future stay.
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

we had such a fantastic week there........... the staff are lovely they spend time with u it was lovely siting having dinner outside............. they had music twice whilst there.......... by the swimming pool really nice and staff are very helpful........... u feel very relaxed there... the guests were lovely the only draw back they try to put u on top floor very small bedroom no balcony we then had to get another room so much more.......... a lot of people come back every year........ a family run hotel........ by the beach a great relaxing break recommend it ,this is a lovely spot to go on holiday

Room Tip: get room facing pool and sea then u will get balcony. do not go to the 4th floor no balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia K, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for your review. We're pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time with usand thank you for your comments on our team! We hope you will be coming back in the near future and invite you to contact us directly in order to pick the right accommodation. Have a lovely Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Riviera

Address: 3 ave. Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal Riviera 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the peninsula of Cap-Ferrat, with plunging views of the Provencal gardens and the Mediterranean, the 94-room Hotel Royal-Riviera provides the intimacy of a private villa with the luxury and glamour of a palace. L’Orangerie villa’s 16 rooms and suites each offer a large terrace overlooking the garden or the pool, or a balcony with a partial sea view. Guests may dine in the restaurant “La Table du Royal” or on its outdoor terrace, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Riviera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.