We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Riviera

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal Riviera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal Riviera
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 ave. Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My partner and I spent 2 nights at the Royal Riveria at the end of October to round off a week in France and Italy. I took the advice from earlier reviews to book a sea/garden view room. Everything about our experience was faultless. Before booking the hotel was responsive and helpful with my e-mail enquiry about taxis to Nice Airport. Our room was lovely. We were blessed with late October sunshine and blue skies but what made this a lovely place to spend a few days however was the staff. Every member of staff was helpful and friendly, making it a far more relaxing experience, for me, than most 5* hotels. The location is excellent. We skipped breakfast to have a cafe breakfast in Beaulieu marina, we walked to Villefranch for lunch on the quayside, and we walked to the stunning Villa Ephrussi on the Cap. Prices are what you would expect for a Hotel in this location and of this standard. We enjoyed a lovely snack lunch on the bar terrace before the taxi to the airport which the Hotel arranged perfectly. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Sea/Garden rooms are quieter. Some other room face the road/railway and are smaller/less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Client,
We thank you for sharing your experience at the Royal Riviera. The whole team was delighted to read your nice review and thank you for your nice comments. We hope to have you again with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    64
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
63
208
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London,England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just spent a long weekend here, very nice and pleasant but not exactly what I would call out of the world luxury . I really don't agree with previous reviews that this is the best hotel in the area, I stayed at the Grand Hotel Du Cap a few months ago (see my review) and that is different gravy.
The RR is very comfortable don't get me wrong just a bit late 1990s in style.if you want bang up to the minute style , do yourself a favour and go up the road to the Du Cap. You won't go wrong staying at the RR, but take my advice and stay at a hotel that is furnished and fitted to the highest standards with every modern luxury convenience and outstanding service.

Room Tip: Sea view a must, as rear overlooking road and train track
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and your opinion. We do respect your preference for the Grand Hotel du Cap. As a 5-star hotel, we do not compare ourselves to the palace Grand Hotel, in terms of standards. However we are working hard to provide the best service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Royal Riviera on another occasion and that you will give us an opportunity to offer you a better experience. I will be pleased to take care personally of your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in October at the end of the season but everything was in service and the staff was exceptional! We have been vacationing on the Riviera every year for 15 years and trying a new hotel every year. We have stayed at the Grand Cap Ferrat, Cap Estel, Cap Eden Roc, Byblos, Belle Rives, Hotel Juana, Hotel de Paris(Winston Churchhill suite)... The Royal Riviera offers a beautiful, private, but convenient location. The room and the common areas are beautifully designed and exceptionally clean. The pool is inpeccablely maintained. The formal dining was a culinery experience that was a pleasant surprise. Most luxury hotels either overrate their restaurant and are very pushie about dining with them during your stay or are so overpriced that no matter how good it is the price make your stomach turn. Royal Riviera was an overall exceptional experience. After staying a week we tierd of rich food and the chef accommedated us by a simple pasta dish and soup all made from scratch. This is unheard of in most hotels.
The staff really was what took the hotel to a higher level. In all my 15 years I never found an ovreall staff like Royal Riviera's staff. They were friendly, charming, and helping without ever lower the standard of etiquette. Eric Perbet (gen. manager) is to credit for an exceptial staff. He is a true asset that any luxury hotel on the Riviera would pay the top rate to have run their operations.There is so much to stay but just know that when you enter the door your time will be the very best a Riviera vacation will be at a realistic price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We thank you very much for your very nice review, which encourages our team. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. Mr Mercadal, our General Manager, will be pleased to meet you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have never experienced a hotel that provided such a high level of attention to detail, design, quality and most notibly manners and frienliness, from the reception to the cleaners, they could not have been more helpful or polite.
The room was immaculate, and after mentiomning my partner's birthday, we were soon made aware of a larger dual aspect room, which we took at no extra charge. The rear facing room was on the 3rd floor and had a beautiful view of the mountains, which whilst probably not as pleasing as a sea view was more than acceptable. The fact that a railway passes by at the rear did not detract in terms of view or noise either.
The food is pricey - but excellent (exchange rate does not help)
The surroundings are just gorgeous.
I honestly could not think of any one particular area of service or experience that I would change or could imnprove on. Highly recommended - bearing in mind the cost.

Room Tip: The mountain facing, rear rooms DO have nice views, they also back on to the railway, which we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights her at the start of our honeymoon and I couldn't think of a better place to have chosen. I will admit at this stage that we did receive a room upgrade which is always a bonus. Our junior suite was tastefully decorated and had the amazing panoramic sea views. The tasteful decoration continued throughout the hotel. However what really made this hotel were the staff from the reception to the bar men and the pool staff. It was simply the best service we have experienced in Europe and on par with the best that we have had anywhere in the world. A truly great hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for your review and for having chosen the Royal Riviera as a first step of your honeymoon. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us on such a beautiful occasion and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time. We sincerely hope to be able to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I had stayed two nights at the Royal Riviera in mid September while the weather was still quite warm.We were upgraded to the beautiful sea/garden/pool view room. What excellence! We couldn't fault a thing!
The staff where always ready to help with a smile and we really felt at ease! We will certainly come back to this charming hotel and I am sure you will not be dissappointed.
"Home away from home"
Phillipa Pdv

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I just got back from the Royal Riviera and what a wonderful experience; we had a beautiful room overlooking the gardens, the pool area and the sea...simply marvelous. The staff is most accomodating, the dining excellent, lovely bar area...a nice little beach at the foot of the hotel, and nooks and crannies to explore. We just can't wait to go back, and we will.

Room Tip: The garden view gives you the best of all worlds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We thank you very much for your time in sharing your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Riviera

Address: 3 ave. Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal Riviera 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the peninsula of Cap-Ferrat, with plunging views of the Provencal gardens and the Mediterranean, the 94-room Hotel Royal-Riviera provides the intimacy of a private villa with the luxury and glamour of a palace. L’Orangerie villa’s 16 rooms and suites each offer a large terrace overlooking the garden or the pool, or a balcony with a partial sea view. Guests may dine in the restaurant “La Table du Royal” or on its outdoor terrace, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Fastbooking and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Royal Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Riviera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.