We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay for a perfect vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Riviera
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 ave. Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A perfect stay for a perfect vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We just left Hotel Royal Riviera after two nights. We started our road trip from Paris to Rome via south of France and Italy. As we are still in the middle of our trip, I could not resist writing my review and mentioning that staying in this hotel was a highlight of our trip so far. The helpful and friendly staff made us feel at home specially with their great recommendations for authentic restaurants or helpful advises about anything we asked about. Moreover, the beautiful beach area and swimming pool and delicious lunches offered by their restaurant at the pool area. Also the large and perfect room added to the warmth of their hospitality. Thank you Royal Riviera to make our 30th anniversary a perfect celebration.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We thank you very much for your kind review and thank you for having chosen the Royal Riviera as part of your special trip. We were delighted to have you stay with us for your 30th anniversary and are pleased to read that you will keep a nice memory of this moment. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel on another occasion and wish you a nice end of trip in Italy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    76
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
81
256
19
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and were very happy with the service from staff and the ammenities the hotel has on offer. The location was lovely. The service on the private beach was attentive. The restaurant was also good, if a little pricey; watch out the cheese course alone was £36 for 2 and was not mentioned as extra (a small niggle). Breakfast on the terrace was wonderful. I do agree that the room sizes are small for the money paid, however Nice is expensive and the common areas make up for the small room size. Moreover, we were made to feel very welcome in this hotel - a simple thing that not all hotels master.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Royal Riviera. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel has excellent location - conveniently close to many of the major destinations near Nice or Monaco. The walks on either side of the St. Jean Cap Ferrat peninsula start right at the doorstep of the RR. The service is first class. Our problem was the size of the room we got for 300 Euros. We knew we were going to be on the road side of the building (no problem there) but our room was no more than 200 sq. ft. The bathroom was fine. Contrary to what some reviewers commented on the noise the trains made, that was not an issue with us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We thank you very much for your review. We're delighted to read that you enjoyed our service and the Hotel location. As per the size of our rooms, our standard room is about 20m2, offers the same amenities & equipment than our other type of rooms and is at an attractive rate. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming back in the near future and you will give us the opportunity to make you discover our superior rooms. I will be pleased to take care personally of your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Have just returned from 4 nights here, on our first trip to south of France. Excellent location, mid way between Nice and Monaco, easy to get round.The staff were friendly, spoke English and always helpful. Hotel getting dated, room needed updating and room service was haphazard and not until 6.30 on one day after two requests! Everything was clean, bed comfortable.
Food and wine overpriced for what it was, eating dinner on the terrace was dim and chilly, and seats not the most comfortable.
Be aware, the pool only opens at 9.00, (and closes at 6.00) so no swim before breakfast - which by the way was excellent. Would not return to this hotel, there must be better in such a lovely area.

Room Tip: Standard rooms face the road / railway. Choose a deluxe for garden or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We thank you for your sharing your experience with us and for your constructive review. We thank you for your kind words adressed to our team. We've well noted your remark regarding our room service and we will be working to improve our quality of service. As per our rooms, we would like to kindly inform you that 2 out of our 4 floors have been renovated last year. The other 2 floors were renovated in 2008 and are refreshed every year.
As per our pool opening hours, they were thought in order to respect our guests peace (the pool being close to the rooms and our restaurant terrace). However one of our strength is to be flexible and we can open the gate earlier should you wish to have a swim before your breakfast. You only need to ask for it by our front desk team. We hope that you will change your mind and will give us a chance to better serve you in a future stay. I will be pleased to take care personally of your reservation and we will make sure to give you a better impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maywood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The excellence of the staff, beautiful grounds, private beach, sophisticated bar lounge....a treat after an afternoon in the sun....and wonderful, attentive restaurant personnel made for an exceptional three week holiday this past August...be sure to consult with the excellent concierge
for any recommendations needed...The proximity of the trains (15 minute walk) allows one to explore the Riviera at ones own pace...just a wonderful experience....last year was a treat for two weeks...this year, three weeks....and next????.

Room Tip: We love the sea/garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Janet,
Thank you very much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you again this year for such a long stay and we hope that you'll be staying with us even longer next time!
Thank you again for your confidence and for having chosen the Royal Riviera for your summer vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is the third time we've been to this hotel and it keeps on getting better and better. There are a lot of hotels in the area that are first class, but this hotel holds its head above the rest due to the high level of service. It's not first and foremost a family hotel but it copes with the onslaught of small children in the pool etc in a friendly and efficient manner. In a polite and subtle way it is made apparent that your children are expected to behave in the pool and not take over the poolside area with noise and games. I agree that my children should behave properly and I think their attitude is correct. This is not a hotel that sets out to capture the family hotel market. The service is excellent, the food very good and the location fantastic. You can jump on a local train and whizz up and down the Riviera for peanuts. It has its own private beach with powerboat etc and all the toys. The cleanliness of the seawater is a bit hit and miss sometimes, and suffers occasionally from jelly fish as most of the beaches seem to around here nowadays but not many hotels in the locality have direct access to a beach so this is a price well worth paying. The rooms are always spotless. I left some jewellry there and the manager was extremely helpful in tracking it down and forwarding it on to me. The concierges are extremely knowledgeable and helpful, and the waiting staff in the restaurants are friendly and efficient and greet you by name which is something I like. Makes it seem a small and friendly place. This is an expensive hotel but it is a five star hotel in the South of France and it is by no means the most expensive in the locality. Many of the other 5 star hotels on the Riviera are so unbearably pompous - checking out what you're wearing etc- but this hotel is not like that.

Room Tip: Bearing in mind this is the South of France, this hotel doesn't come cheap, but it does offer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Clients,
We thank you very much for taking time to post a review. It is always a pleasure to read positive feedback and the whole team thanks you for your kind words. We are family friendly and do our utmost to have your children spend a nice time with us, bearing in mind that all our guests should be enjoying their stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at The Hotel Royal Riviera in late August 2012 for a few days before departing on a cruise. We had been to the French Riviera before, staying in Eze Village and Monaco. This hotel was located in a great spot, just close enough to Nice and Monaco without being right in the center of the city. The hotel itself is lovely. Its not a huge hotel but it has the amenities it needs to rank in a 4+ star category. We enjoyed our stay immensely. We had a fairly low key couple of days and just enjoyed the area. The pool is lovely and the staff helpful. They were quick to help us find places and restaurants and greeted us by name. The room was small but nicely renovated and extremely clean, which I am very picky about. Free wi-fi was also a nice benefit, as well as bathrobes . The only small negative that I could complain about was the location of our room. In reading other reviews, I had noticed that many people found the rooms facing the railroad tracks to be less than desirable. I did mention this upon check in and did request NOT to be the room facing the tracks, but the front desk girl sort of brushed off my request and put us there anyhow. It was a tad bothersome but not enough to request a room switch nor was it bothersome enough to tarnish our visit. I am a picky hotel traveler and I enjoyed this hotel immensely.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, do not take the first room next to the elevator. We had it and the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal Riviera, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We thank you very much for your time in sharing your experience at the Royal Riviera. We are proud and pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. As per your note about your room, we would like to kindly inform you that all our standard rooms (which was the room category you booked) are located by the Hotel entrance, facing a railroad. None of our standard room is on the other side of the building. The Hotel was full upon your visit, therefore we were not able to offer you any other option. We would then suggest you choose a sea & garden view room on a future visit. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel on another occasion and will be at your disposal for any other enquiry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Riviera

Address: 3 ave. Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal Riviera 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the peninsula of Cap-Ferrat, with plunging views of the Provencal gardens and the Mediterranean, the 94-room Hotel Royal-Riviera provides the intimacy of a private villa with the luxury and glamour of a palace. L'Orangerie villa's 16 rooms and suites each offer a large terrace overlooking the garden or the pool, or a balcony with a partial sea view. Guests may dine in the restaurant "La Table du Royal" or on its outdoor terrace, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Riviera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.