We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The problem with trip advisor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aphrodite

Aphrodite
10 Boulevard Dubouchage, 06000 Nice, France
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Aphrodite is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #189 of 1,431 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on Boulevard Dubouchage in Nice, Restaurant Aphrodite combines a potent mix of vibrant energy, exciting nouvelle cuisine and seriously stylish customers to create what has become one of the most innovative restaurants in town. Popular with a chichi corporate crowd during the day and discerning diners at night, the modern Mediterranean dining room is dressed in burnt orange and cream colours, and is decorated with contemporary artworks, sleek chairs and lemon-hued lighting. The kitchen at Aphrodite is renowned for its bold cuisine, and signature dishes include the fillet of beef roasted with pine needles and served with apple mashed potatoes; the pigeon roasted with cumin and rosemary served with Chantenay carrots; and the fillet of Saint-Pierre roasted with liquorice, pistachio nuts, purple artichokes and lemons.
harrogate
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The problem with trip advisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This is the problem. A restaurant is adventurous and produces great food of interest and many just don't get it. Ignore. Go. Enjoy. Quite excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    91
    39
    43
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“for my mind nothing special.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have been twice to this restaurant, once in 2011 where I had a chicken breast which was OK for main, with tastless bubbles of something before, and a dessert (which I cannot remember) and again in 2012 with a large group booking.
The idea of a peas in one pod, (on this visit) as an appetiser was hard to take, even though there was a small blob of pea mousse to make it I guess seem more appetising?
Sardine fillets on vegetables, then Cabillaud on Polenta, and fresh raspberries with whipped cream on top for dessert, all rather inexpensive ingredients except perhaps for the fish fillet. The general opinion of us all was not favourable.
The welcome is also strange a waitress came onto the footpath to insist we enter asap then kept us waiting so long after for the free rather uninspiring free cocktail drink.
I cannot figure what is going on in this restaurant, when there are so many good alternatives available in Nice.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First impression was good, but that's it. After that almost everything went wrong and we wondered how Michelin stars are awarded. In Michelin star restauraunt you would expect to get amuse buche - we did not. It took well over on hour before we received anything to eat. Starter was awful. Main course was ok, but you would expect something more than just ok. Dessert below average. The staff was disorganised carrying food in and out of kitchen trying to find a table it belongs to. Overpriced. This was worst restaurant experience during our one week stay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What does it take to earn a Michelin Star??????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

What does it take to earn a Michelin Star?????
A little more than this I had hoped!!!!!!
You walk in and have a reserved table........ It takes "only" 25 minutes before they take your order..... And from there nothing improves .... The first course is served before the appretizer ..... The champagne comes with the main course ... After it was asked for twice..... You are served two courses before you get anything to drink....... We orderded the Discovery menu... And expected something exeptional... Our expectations were FAR from being met.... Food was below average ..... Service was horrible. We have been there many times before - and was really looking forward to this evening. BUT...... Tonight was Very Very disappointing in all regards - both food and service .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Joris-Winge, Brabant, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The world of Textures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

From traditional excellent fish dishes up to amazing texture dishes. I enjoyed the explanations and the chef even made time to explain the special. The dessert was really special, it looked like a boiled egg but was actually something very nice as dessert...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aphrodite also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Aphrodite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aphrodite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.