We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keisuke Matsushima

Keisuke Matsushima
22 rue de France, 06000 Nice, France
+33 493822606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #205 of 1,503 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $295
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Skien, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The perfect meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We tried the Chef's surprise meny and the wine meny.
Probably the best meal we ever had. The staff were superb.
The meal focus on different tastes and composition. Do not exspect huge portion. If you are hungry, take the 8 course meny. Relax and enjoy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    63
    29
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly wallet friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a very affordable set menu at €28. When including a decent white wine (nothing fancy) and coffee, you can't complain at a total bill of €100 for a 2 person experience. The food is definitely high end. The cross-over is not overdone, leaning heavily towards the french cuisine. However, a faint taste of soya in the jelly served with delicious oysters, and a japanese "look" on the main dish fish (Colinet) are examples of small but pleasant out-of-the-box thinking from the chef. Some of the dishes were a bit too salty for our personal taste. Friendly and attentive staff. We were also greeted by the Chef when entering the restaurant (sorry, I thought you were another customer:)). Heavy japanese influence on interior works well. NB! Some restoration needed in bathrooms/common areas.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pricey but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It has a nice minimalist feel, and the food and wine was very good. Each course came well presented and ranged from tasty to exquisite. There were miniature steaks we were especially impressed with, literally melting on the tongue. The tables are pretty close together, so if you are unlucky like MichaelP below, then it can detract from the experience. We found a group of loud drunk French people next to us quite distracting. At something like €280 for two it was probably not the best value for money, though no regrets as it was still a great experience. We will go back again, probably for the €28 lunch menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1 Michelin star, really?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Some interesting flavors. Good service. Very pricy for what you get. No Japanese influence. Very good wine but quantity is very limited if you do not order your own bottle. Not sure I will return to the place

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quite brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The quite interrior is only one unperfect thing in this restraunt. Perfect service & one of the best food in my life! Duck liver terrine is the masterpiece, but other dishes were also unbelievable!! If you want to hve the really unforgetable gastronomic evening - welcome!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keisuke Matsushima also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Keisuke Matsushima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keisuke Matsushima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.