We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome crispy chicken wings, fish 'n chips and mushy peas!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wayne's Bar

Wayne's Bar
15 rue de la Prefecture, 06300 Nice, France
+33 492 13 46 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 1,431 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: French, American, Hamburgers, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Wayne's has become world famous as cultural melting point where people from all over the globe can get together for the sole purpose of having fun. Nestled in the heart of Vieux Nice, the city's most vibrant quarter, Wayne's is well established as the busiest and most popular bar and restaurant within the old town's walls. Whether you are looking for great food, live music, or to watch live sports events, Wayne's is the place you want to be. We are open for brunch, lunch and dinner, evening reservations in the weekends are advised.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome crispy chicken wings, fish 'n chips and mushy peas!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Walking off jet lag all day and wanted comfort food. Didn't feel like struggling with the language. Too tired. First meal I had in France was chicken wings!! Girl from the Buffalo area, I had specific requirements. They did a very nice job. Sauces on the side preferable. Happy hour prices Yay! Prices weren't inflated and the server was British so no struggling with the language. She was so upbeat and perky she made my 1st experience to the inner city really fun. The tonic water was fresh out of a bottle not a soda gun and the price was certainly right.It was the first and last place I stopped in Nice for a meal. My friends did the same. We had to laugh of all places to eat in Nice, we picked Waynes. Our last night the 3 piece band played some excellent country rock and Louisiana rock very well. we hit the jackpot for our last night!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    112
    20
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place was fun. We sat in the pit, had a few drinks then danced on tables when the band came out. I'm really surprised people don't get hurt there on regular basis but it's worth the risk ;)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place but not for having dinner in groups!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We made a reservation for 25 persons with good time in advance. When we came we had just a guy trying to get our orders and drinks. As you can imagine, the drinks came in good time but the food NOT, most of us got the wrong food. He did all that he could, but it was enough.
After the meal came another large group of teenagers, and the waiter started to walk on their tables to deliver the drinks! Not a good idea...
I would recommend it to have a drink with friends at the bar!.
Hope this review helps you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, Guest Relations Manager at Wayne's Bar, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Diego_4U. Thanks for bringing in you group to have a meal with us. As you will have seen, we have a very big seated area in the concert hall which is perfect for large parties who cannot fit into our restaurant area. For later reservations, there is always a danger that the space will begin to fill up with other customers who have come in to listen to the music, and as we provide table service all night long, sometimes the only way for the waiters to move through the crowd is to walk over the tables. It's all a part of the fun. One suggestion that we do make for large groups coming in during the evenings is to have a look at our menu (it's available on our website) before arrival. This helps to speed up the whole decision-making process, which in turn gets food to the table faster! Even better, if you can phone ahead with an indication of what people will be eating, this will also help the kitchen to prepare in advance. With so much live sport coming up this autumn we are expecting many groups coming in to eat with us - we do hope you give us a call to make sure we can fit you in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Traditional pun in the heart of the old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Conveniently situated in the centre of the old town, this is a popular pub with a limited amount of outside seating. Inside it appeared to be quite a traditional pub ambience, and there were a few screens around as well as a list of sporting fixtures that were being shown on an A-board outside. Live music is also on from 22:30 most nights.

English seems to be the predominant language here, with most of the staff clearly having it as their first language, and the menu had the dishes listed in English before French. We didn’t eat on this occasion, but from the looks of things it offered a good selection of “pub grub” dishes including a number of burgers.

Happy “hour” is actually three hours late afternoon/early evening and at this time you can get both cocktails and a pint for €4.90, which is relatively good value for these parts. It’s just a shame that the only cider was Magner’s instead of something decent. Overall, well worth visiting, unless of course you what something more authentically French.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent 10 days in Nice in August 13, we found Waynes and ended up here on a number of occasions, they sell cider on draft which is what first attracted us. The back of the bar (The Pit) is fabulous for younger kids to listen to live music dance on tables and drink shots - yet they do not interfere with the front of the bar where you can sit in nice surroundings enjoying a drink whilst listening to the band of which there are 2 each night! Every member of staff we met was lovely and even when busy pleased to stop and speak with you. Our waitress was the lovely Sarah she was just perfect, polite, good at what she does & great fun! We ate here twice and found the food great value, very fresh and good honest grub! If we were back in Nice we'd definitely go back to Waynes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wayne's Bar also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Wayne's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wayne's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.