We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Les Cygnes

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Les Cygnes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Les Cygnes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 av Chateau de la Tour, 06000 Nice, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 212 hotels in Nice
Belfast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for a week in September 2012. Benedicte and Remy immediately made us feel very welcome and the room (3) was far bigger than I imagined, with a lean-to conservatory. The room was spotless with a large bathroom and shower. Breakfast in the garden each morning was a delight to start the day. It's ony a few minutes walk to the seafront and you are basically in the centre of the bay, albeit a few streets behind the seafront. One note of caution, there is an incline to master if you are returning to the hotel on foot. Remy recommended a number of local restaurants and we weren't disappointed when we sampled a few - of particular note is '11eme' which lies one street behind Promenade des Anglais. First Class and for 28 euros a head we had a 6-course meal consisting of 2 starters, 2 main courses and 2 desserts. While the portions were small, we certainly didn't come away hungry and the standard of cuisine was 5-star. Definitely worth a visit! If returning to Nice, we would stay in this hotel again and I can't praise it higher than this.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 - on ground floor, beside reception, quiet and far larger than expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    56
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
214
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at this small, family-run hotel for a week this autumn and can´t fault it in any way. The couple who run the hotel gave us a very warm welcome and answered every request throughout our stay. Very friendly but unobtrusive service. The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area within walking distance from the city centre. We stayed in room no 5 ,which faces south-east and has a narrow balcony facing south. The room was cleaned to perfection each morning.The breakfast served outside (weather permitting) in the shade of a lime tree provided a perfect start of the day and worth the supplement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Hotel Villa des Cygnes is quite special. Its owners welcomes you as they would old friends. Nothing is too much trouble. They are at all times happy to help, chat, share and advise.
Our room (no1) was very spacious and so was the bathroom. It was decorated with taste too and was extremely comfortable. We had our own terrace with a table and a couple of chairs to enjoy the peace and quiet of the area. When you're there you forget that a mere 10mins' walk away, there is the noise and constant activity of busy Nice. One of the highlights of our stay was provided by the proximity to the Promenade des Anglais and the beach, and also to different and very interesting museums. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villalescygnes, Propriétaire at Hotel Villa Les Cygnes, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others, and ourselves, know about your stay with us.
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help discover our beautiful city of Nice. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I booked for a two day stay at the hotel but two days later I had to cancel it due to some unforeseen circumstances. To be fair, the emails I received from the owners did state a penalty of 50% of the cost for cancellation (a practice which is pretty unheard of at 4 or 5 star hotels when you give 18 days notice!). So I say beware - unless you are totally sure you won't cancel then this is probably an OK hotel but they didn't even offer me an alternate opportunity later in the year which I would have taken, as I travel to the Cote D'Azur a lot. They clearly need the money. Not bad business for them - very unfortunate and expensive for me. Read the fine print!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villalescygnes, Propriétaire at Hotel Villa Les Cygnes, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are sorry but our cancellation policies are very precise and written with readable characters by everybody. There are not fine print.
We accept without charge, the cancellations further to the refusal of our cancellation policies by our customers.
We hope to have the pleasure to make you appreciate the qualities of our hotel during a next stay in NICE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A very warm welcome from Benedicte & Remy, idyllic suburban setting, and a short walk to the beach made our stay memorable.
Would recommend room 3 as it has a separate veranda/conservatory. Free water and internet a plus.
Fully deserves number one TA rating.

Room Tip: Would recommend room 3 as it has a separate veranda/conservatory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Initially, we were quite surprise to see a little "apartment" looking hotel in a residential area of Nice. We arrived a little late and Benedicte and Remy e-mail their concern. We were pleasantly surprise that our room and bathroom was large.
They are a really nice couple and nothing was too much for them. The cutest thing about them is that Benedicte speaks French and Remy will do the translation. Their suggestions of restaurant was spot on as well as the places to see around Nice.
I forgot and left my jacket in their wardrobe and immediately they tried calling and emailing us about it. When we wanted to send some stuff via mail, they even tried calling the local post office and check on the price for us.
Would definitely stay there again if ever we're in Nice and we hope it's soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were not sure exactly what to expect when we booked this little hotel in a more residential area of Nice and it turned out to be the most pleasant surprise of our trip. We showed up early and without giving notification about our time of arrival after realising that it would be easier to drop off our lugguage at the hotel before returning our rental car. Our lugguage was stored and we were given a map and directions and went off to enjoy a day in Nice.
We returned in the afternoon at an arranged time to be shown to the nicest little room we had while in France. This was room 3 and it includes its own bright little conservatory room. Over the course of our three night stay we enjoyed using this room to relax, sip some wine and even brought in dinner one night when we tired of looking for restaurants.
The bedroom itself was a good size and comfortable. The bathroom had two sinks and a decent sized shower which we found to be very unusual in France. Everything was modern, clean and well cared for.
We decided to eat breakfast in the hotel at a cost of 12 euros each per day and we thought it was a great deal. It is served in a beautiful courtyard with an orange tree and a palm tree and it was very peaceful beautiful place to start the day. The food was plentiful and nicely presented. Our hosts were so charming and friendly and we met another nice couple also from Canada and they gave us some valuable hints for dinner.
I would highly recommend this cute little hotel but be prepared to do a lot of walking or take the time to figure out the buses.
We needed to return to the train station for an early morning train and a cab was arranged for us. This was the only disappointment we had in Nice. The trip was only 1.5 miles but just a little too far to walk with our lugguage and the cab driver charged us 23 euros. We were upset about this but felt we had no choice but to pay. I would definitely ask the rate up front if you plan to use the cabs.

Room Tip: Room 3 is very nice and the building itself is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Les Cygnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Les Cygnes

Address: 6 av Chateau de la Tour, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nice
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Les Cygnes 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Les Cygnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Cygnes
Les Cygnes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Les Cygnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.