We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, staff not helpful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Azurea Nice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Azurea Nice to your Saves list
Hotel Azurea Nice
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 rue Paganini, 06000 Nice, France (Thiers / Train Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good value, staff not helpful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister and I stayed here on holiday. The room was average by European standards. (2 twin beds, small bathroom, Juliette balcony). Our bedding had burn marks possibly cigarettes?
The bathroom was very nice although shower was small. The in room signs are comic gold. See pics. The hotel is by the train station and there were lots of dodgy people about. Many (?homeless/ illegal immigrants?) people were sleeping around the train station and it smelled of urine. Wifi was slow and not secure. Easy and pleasant walk to beach (about a mile). You pass some great Indian restaurants as well as a shopping mall and some delightful squares with lovely architecture. The room was clean. The staff was not helpful. The first night we asked for a restaurant recommendation (we got in after 6 and to the hotel around 7 pm. The gentlemen at the desk said "I eat only at home" and went back to playing angry birds on his cell phone. Perhaps it was because it was holiday season but I was annoyed. We ended up grabbing bottles of water and some fruit at a little grocery a block away. A cleaning lady opened our door without knocking one morning. Breakfast was expensive, your better off getting something at a cafe. I would stay again because despite staff it is a good value and a nice location. Bathroom & value above average, room & location average, staff below average.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator. Drunks can be noisy at 2 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    45
    36
    57
See reviews for
26
39
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

The hotel is good and they are making best of it. Beware of the location! It is very close to the train station, with all the mess around it - doubtful shops, 18+ studios, dodgy people on the streets. Chapeau for staff - during my stay standards were great, but one can imagine how difficult this might be!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

5 minutes walk from the train station. Very helpful at reception, giving us a map and explaining where everything was located. Fridge in room, which was an unexpected plus. Clean, good wifi (but not password secured, so be careful). Very convenient to beach, tram, main thoroughfare and plaza. Our room faced the street, which made it rather noisy into the night, but you can close the shutters and French doors to improve the quiet. The only negative is that the room was not refreshed when we returned at 3pm. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I always think good location is key during travel. So i would definitely rate this high on location. its just couple of mins from train, bus and tram stations. Also 10 mins walk to the beach. Its a basic hotel and nothing fancy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Conveniently situated close to the train station. Rooms are basic but clean. A tiny shower, but everything that you need for an overnight stop. We arrived mid evening and we were unable to get a meal in the hotel. Head for the sea and there are plenty of restaurants and life around the Place Massena.
Beware, the room was cleared for the next guests whilst we were at breakfast & all of our belongings which we had left on the bed ready to pack were moved. Fortunately we left nothing behind.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We spent just one night here and that was more than enough. We were part of a group and luckily we were only on the first floor. Others were scattered round the hotel right up to the 6th floor and did we hear some horror stories!! The lift was not working properly and stuck on the third floor so this left senior citizens carrying their luggage up to the 6th floor. Our room was large and looked clean, as did the bathroom. But the view of the air conditioning plant for the whole hotel left a lot to be desired. We did not experience the bad bugs. Breakfast was basic but plentiful. The other guests apart from our group seemed to be mostly German schoolchildren. But at least it was quiet at night as we were at the back of the hotel. The area is a bit dingy but a short walk will bring you to the promenade and lots of local restaurants.

I would avoid this hotel if I were you.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

There are so many things wrong with this hotel I don't even know where to begin. The area, apart from the obvious advantage of being near the train station, is unfriendly and makes one feel unsafe. The hotel staff, with the exception of one lady who was a little more professional, seemed irritated by the presence of the hotel guests, spoke very poor English, were incapable of handling the simplest of situations (like booking a guided tour advertised in their hotel, or changing a guest's room). They couldn't be bothered less about any of the guests' demands or complaints. The 'free wifi' is a complete joke as there was no reception, nowhere in the hotel. Breakfast would not get replenished and when my husband complained at the reception because we had been waiting for 15 minutes without even a spoon to stir the coffee with, the rude receptionist answered 'why can't you wait a minute,'!!! The room was tiny, the bathroom not properly cleaned, and it was overlooking the back of some other buildings and a rotting condom right outside our 'balcony' door! The worst part, however, came on the day before our last one in Nice, when we discovered some bites on our arms. Bed bugs!!! No one at the reception seemed surprised to hear about this, or even apologized and I'm sure that they gave our room to some other unfortunate traveller right away. It was our mistake that we did not make more trouble at the time, we just wanted to get out of there. However, two days later, and when we had already left France for another country, I had a very bad allergic reaction to the bites, my arms turned red and extremely itchy and had to go to the hospital. If I had known that bed bug bites could get so serious I would have certainly done something more about it there and then, like a lawsuit. Avoid this hotel at any cost, it's not worth a single penny.

Room Tip: Avoid room 104 bed bugs, bed bugs, bed bugs!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Azurea Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azurea Nice

Address: 31 rue Paganini, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azurea Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Azurea Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Azurea Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.