We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills, but Clean and Quiet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Flandres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Flandres to your Saves list
Hotel des Flandres
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, rue de Belgique, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Studio City, CA USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No Frills, but Clean and Quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The pluses of this hotel are simple: Reasonable rates, prompt, fast maid service, friendly and helpful employees and a location in close proximity to areas of interest and the train station. The hotel was also pretty quiet and had excellent air conditioning.
The drawbacks are what one might expect from a lower-priced hotel: Rooms and bathrooms that could use some updating, somewhat hard or lumpy mattresses and a kind of lackluster appearance after one leaves the lobby. Even so, for the budget-minded traveler who doesn't expect to spend a lot of time in the room, this hotel is pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    17
    11
    9
See reviews for
9
11
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went there for family of five, stayed for 2 nights, it was okay but abit worn out, and it smells quite bad even the towels have a nasty smell. The ceiling has a hole on it and waters are dripping in the toilet. But it has a very strategic location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel had a spacious room for our family of five, and we enjoyed staying there. The staff was very helpful, and the room was very clean, but several of the beds had many springs that poked into us. That's the only reason for four stars, instead of five. We placed blankets over the worst mattresses, and that enabled us to sleep fine afterward. Besides the friendly, helpful staff, which was a big plus to us, the hotel is located near the train station, which was convenient with our Eurail pass. It was a little noisy in the room at night, as there are a few bars down the street, and the garbage trucks seem to run every night after 11pm. The neighborhood is okay--neither exceptionally good nor bad. We would recommend this hotel to other families on a budget in Nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Central location near train station. Hotel has air conditioning but don't be fooled by the designer feel of the lobby. As soon as we got out of the lift, the corridor was dark and wires stuck out along the ceiling. There was a stale smell in our room and a wet patch on the carpet. Some damp in the bathroom walls. Lucky for us it was a one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

As we were arriving and departing by train and only staying a night, we chose this hotel.
Signage outside was not good and we only saw the hotel when we arrived at it. Street was a bit run down.
Reception clerk was very polite and helpful. There was a lift also.
Rooms were old and a bit tired but clean. Breakfast had to be ordered and was not a great variety.
Shopping street and beach was very close.
Good basic hotel for a night's stay.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We drove into Nice, but were taking the train out, so we selected this hotel. The price is very good especially for Nice. We got a twin room which ended up having three beds so it was nice to have the extra room. The Hotel is about two to three blocks from the train station and we were able to return our rental car right at the train station so that was convenient. The hotel lobby is done in Black, White and Grey. The breakfast room has very high ceilings as did our room. The room is simple but adequate. Price and location are what make this hotel a great value. The breakfast was very nice with several things to select from, but the coffee was not great, tasted like instant and not good instant but it did the trick.

Room Tip: This hotel has an elevator so the third floor was not an issue. Good resturants nearby. Hotel offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Flandres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Flandres

Address: 6, rue de Belgique, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Flandres 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Flandres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Flandres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.