We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nice Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nice Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nice Garden Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 rue du Congres, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 212 Hotels in Nice
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a 5 night stay at the Nice Garden Hotel. Most of the previous reviews represent accurately what this hotel has to offer. When I say hotel most UK nationals would regard it as only a B&B. The main plus points are the charm and helpfulness of the owner Marion, her daughter and staff and it's fantastic location. It is in walking distance of most of the attractions of Nice though still quiet at night and in a safe area. There was a little traffic noise noticeable at times but nothing that disturbed us in any way. We had room 8 which is described as a superior room. The reference "superior" meaning it is larger than some of the other rooms as the furnishing is basic but adequate. It was clean and the bed linen and towels are changed every day. The continental breakfast is again "basic" but worth every penny as you can enjoy it in the lovely "nice" courtyard garden. This was particularly pretty at the time we visited. If you fancy something more then there are plenty of cafes nearby to choose from. The price is reasonable considering some of the outrageous prices elsewhere in Nice.

Room Tip: Room 8 doesn't have a view of the garden but it's the most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    113
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
66
270
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed in Nice Garden Hotel for 5 nights in June. It is a family owned hotel that serve its customers with an individual care. The Hotel is located in the center of the city, 2 blocks away from the sea. It is a lovely hotel and very affordable. I highly recommend to stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our stay although brief (2 nights) was certainly a good experience. After what was the nightmare drive from Saint-Tropez to Nice taking approx 5 hours then found our GPS couldn't find Hotel address we were luckily the receptionist could speak enough english to get us to hotel. Although car parking around corner (and another 13E per night) the location of B & B (Hotel) was excellent with good walking access to beach, restaurants and general city sights. Our room had window on to garden which was nice and allow some needed ventilation. Bed quality good and room presentation clean and pleasant. Owners were very helpful (this clearly a family run business) and breakfast in garden quite nice. All in all quite a nice place well located to spend a few days. Recommended.
Lesson - Hint: even though distance St Tropez to Nice looks quite close driving via coast very slow,,, go via freeway

Room Tip: Get one with window into garden as with all French room can be stuffy if unable to open a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My partner and I have just got back from a weeklong stay at this wonderful hotel. I honestly can’t fault it. From the moment we arrived until the moment we checked out, we were looked after extremely well.
We had emailed ahead a few days before our arrival to let Marion know what time we would be arriving, so upon arrival we were able to go straight to our room. The rooms themselves are absolutely gorgeous, very typically French, yet surprisingly spacious. We had beautiful views of the garden (as I believe all rooms do?) The beds are comfortable, there is plenty of storage for clothes/suitcases, there is a small fridge, spacious enough for bottles of water, beer, food etc and it was spotlessly clean. We were also offered a kettle, cups and tea bags for our room since they knew we were English and can’t go too long without a cuppa! Which was a lovely touch.
Marion and the other girls are fantastic! They attire to your every need, going above and beyond where possible. On one occasion we brought some food back to our hotel from the local market and they were happy to give us plates, cutlery, napkins etc. It felt more like a family home, than a hotel.
The location is amazing, only 5 mins from the promenade/beach, and a short 10 min walk to the main shopping area, and a 15 min walk to the famous Old Town. The train station is also only a 10 min walk.
Breakfast was a traditional continental breakfast, it’s a mix of self service and the girls popping by and bringing extras, bread croissants, drink top ups. It’s wonderful to be able to sit in their beautiful garden whilst eating breakfast.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to book a trip to Nice.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a lovely view of the garden, however it doesnt have access to the garden like others. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington, ON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Overall we had a lovely stay here! We were treated very well by the staff and they even gave us a honeymoon gift. The room was clean and well kept, though I do agree with a few other reviews regarding the dampness. This is definitely something to take into consideration. Our clothes were left a bit "dewy" in our room even with the air conditioning on. However this place is an excellent value for the money. As long as you keep in mind this is a 2 start hotel with excellent staff you will be satisfied with your choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. This hotel is an approximate ten minute walk from the station and a five minute walk to the Promenade Des Anglais. The location is ideal, just out of the tourist area in a quiet part of town, but perfectly safe.
I corresponded with the owners through email prior to my visit. The owners said they would try and have my room ready for my arrival at 11am, which indeed it was. This impressed me enormously. I received a warm welcome at the hotel and the owner is a very friendly and hospitable host.
Breakfast was served in the garden of the hotel and I could not fault the breakfast in any way.
The room itself was perfect. I opted for a small room but it did not feel especially small. The bathroom was a nice size and very clean.
I would definitely return to this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is the third time that my sister, mum and I visited this charming hotel. We stayed in their triple room which has doors into the beautiful garden. What a delight to open the doors in the morning and have the sunshine and bird song flooding in. The room was lovely with a small fridge and television. Marion was kind enough to provide us with a kettle and cups so that we could have coffee and tea at any time of day. Marion and her mother are extremely helpful and have created a very restful environment. The hotel is in an ideal position to walk to the station or the old town,also it is ideal for older people, as it is easy to bus to the old town for an evening meal.Thank-you Marion and Bogna for being so helpful and ringing various restaurants in order to make evening reservations for us. We all look forward to returning to Nice Garden Hotel next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nice Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Garden Hotel

Address: 11 rue du Congres, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 212 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Nice Garden Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Nice Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nice Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.