We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Garden Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nice Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nice Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Nice Garden Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 rue du Congres, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denmark
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice Garden Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located (5-15 min. on foot) for the coast, the train station, the restaurants, and the old town. Our room (for 4 nights) was nice and quiet, and despite being smallish had good storage space. The hotel patio was wonderful – we enjoyed very much having breakfast there and also relaxing during the day. Marion, the owner, and her staff did all they could to make our stay pleasant. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    124
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
71
291
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel. spotlessly clean, warm, and comfortable, and close to transport and attractions but also so quiet; what more could you want.
The staff were fabulous and coudnt do enough for you. Marion felt like a friend by the end of our three night stay.

Breakfast so good, and well worth paying for.

We will return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We enjoyed New Year 2012 / 13 at the Nice Garden Hotel.
From our arrival, the staff were so helpful that we immediately felt "at home", with great warmth.
Our rooms were extremely clean.
The location was perfect - five minutes walk to the sea and ten to fifteen minutes to most attractions, including the "Old Town".
Breakfast was served in our room and proved to be excellent value, with extra items / drinks available in the adjacent public area.
In Summer, breakfast can be taken in the lovely, tranquil garden.
You can avoid an expensive taxi ride to / from the airport by taking Bus 98, which entails a simple ten minute walk to / from the Promenade.
From your guests in Wales,
We hope to meet you again.
Diolch yn Fawr i Bawb.
Angela, Alun, Joy, Alan.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor and overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belin-Beliet, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

it is beautiful place with the best staff available. they are mixed nationalities and do a great job in running the hotel together. the manager is a great man himself. all your needs are taken car of. there were a lot of children when i visited but its still pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The price of our two night stay at this hotel cost less than one night's stay at the surrounding hotels. However, this did not mean we received poor service. In fact, do not let the two star rating fool you. The amenities and service certainly merits a higher rating.

Rather, our stay was quite enjoyable. The manager recommended areas to visit and places to eat. When we explained we had to be up extra early, she provided us with her own alarm clock. Furthermore, the location was perfect. It was a short walk to both the waterfront and the old town. We received not only directions to both by the owner, but we also received a map with the locations marked off.

When we return to the area, we will be sure to return to this hidden gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

First impressions of this b&b are great. The location is 10 min walk from the station and 5 min walk to the beach, tourist area. The outside courtyard is beautiful and relaxing and the rooms are clean and spacious (superior double)

We were also able to borrow beach towels and umbrellas which was much appreciated. Along with the great restaurant suggestions.

The only drawback is how the b&b handles any criticism. On the first night our air conditioner stopped working. Only after an hour or so did we realise it had stopped. After this we were unable to get it working. When we told the host the next day the response was 'you must have broken it playing with the remote' the air conditioner was then fixed by restarting it.

Secondly as the reception is right outside our room each morning we could hear people leaving from 8am. One morning the noise was ridiculous, on /off from 8am with kids running down the hall and very loud French conversation where the guests were talking over one another and kids yelling. At 9:40am after 30 mins of this and having been awake since the noise started at 8 I poked my head out of the room to give the noise makers a look. The response from the host again was quite rude off the bat saying that we sleep in late and she can't asked guests to be quiet. However she did ask if we wanted to move to the back of the b&b that's quiet.

I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends however I think the host needs to understand not to get so defensive. We are on holidays and therefore would like some level of quiet until a reasonable time in the morning. I would suggest not staying in room 1 or 2 if you sleep in later than 8ish.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in past 8am do not stay in rooms 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I'm always in the market for an inexpensive hotel. This met that requirement, so for me, this hotel was perfect: well located and central, clean, small, and - best of all - cheap. I paid under 60 Euro a night (cash) for a double room - no breakfast. For the room quality and location, I could not find a deal to beat this.

For the down sides, I slept with the windows open - and there was some amount of night noise. It appeared to come both from the street and the neighboring building. I'm a pretty sound sleeper - but it woke me about once each night. It was not a problem for me. There is air conditioning ... so having the window opened is not necessary - even in the summer. And shutting the window did substantially block the noise.

The room was large (for European standards), the bed very comfortable with a warm and clean down comforter. The bathroom was quite nice given the price. It contained a shower, not tub (always a bit of a down grade for me)... There was some bit of mold in the shower corners... but not enough to be a problem for me.

The guy staying next door was young, and was asking about the local bar scene (young English lad looking for a bar, troubling). But I never heard anyone come or go from the hotel at night. It seemed to be a respectful clientele.

This is a very small hotel on a single floor in a large building with no over night desk support. They give you a phone number for emergencies and the code to get into the building. The reception is on the ground floor - up only a handful of stairs. The woman at the desk the morning I left was very helpful double checking to ensure my flight was on time.

I would return. If I could get this price range a bit closer to old town and on a bit quieter street, I might jump at it. But honestly, I couldn't find that option.

I was glad to stay in the more central Nice than the smaller neighboring towns (as example: Villefranche sur mer).

For more on my trip report to this area: http://worldinbetween.wordpress.com/2012/12/02/three-days-in-the-cote-dazur-in-and-around-nice-france/

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nice Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Garden Hotel

Address: 11 rue du Congres, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nice Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nice Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nice Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.