We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Verdun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Verdun to your Saves list
Hotel de Verdun
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49, rue de l'Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 211 Hotels in Nice
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you want to pay for luxury then there are plenty of options in Nice for you. If you want a clean hotel with a friendly staff in a good location Hotel de Verdun will be for you. The brown bed spreads are not very attractive but the sheets underneath were crisp and clean. Our bathroom was roomy and clean. The staff was very friendly and was eager to make our stay in Nice pleasant. Our room was on the street which is very busy but with the window shut you could hardly hear a thing. I hope to visit Nice again and I will book my stay at Hotel de Verdun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    99
    34
    9
    11
See reviews for
39
72
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Great location . The owner was very friendly and helpful . This city is like the Gold Coast on steroids . The hotel is a little old . Bathroom had been renovated , but was very small , probably only one person per use . Breakfast was ample . Photos on TA are pretty representative .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night and were happy with everything. The hotel looks tired from the outside, and yes, the reception is on the first floor so you carry your bags up one floor. But...
the hotel is in the best position, one block from the main shopping area/plaza/tram lines, and 10 mins from the waterfront. Our room was on the fourth floor (using the lift) and was spacious, with modern if small bathroom. We had a balcony overlooking the street, but closed the shutters and the glass doors, and only heard a very soft hum from downtown Nice.
The staff are welcoming in French and English, and we found both receptionists friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast was good for €8. WiFi was a little unstable.
Bed was comfy, clean and fresh. Happy to stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We were met by a very rude and very arrogant manager/owner . I introduced myself and was told that I was a "typical American" I then stated that I was an Australian, he then just gave a shrug Of the shoulders.we were to stay four nights but because of his arrogant attitude decided to stay two.we asked to see the room and nearly had to catch the key as it was being tossed at us across the counter. My wife and I were going to walk out only to be told that we would have to pay two nights,so we decided to stay. The rooms are dirty ,small,smelly and very outdated. What it says about this so called hotel on the Internet is all wrong. Do yourself a favour and spend the extra dollars and stay somewhere else,we should have

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were a family of four sharing two adjoining rooms for just one night. Our 2 children were quite amused that they had a shower cabinet in the corner of their room. With our 4 cases it took a bit or rearranging before we were able to open these. Though bedroom was cramped the beds were fine and the AC very welcome.
Location was excellent given our limited time in Nice.
Reception service was fine and the breakfast was quite up to standard.

The price seemed reasonable given the location and it being a 2 star hotel though the rooms could do with some upgrading.

Room Tip: Rooms were very small and if staying more than one or two nights it might be advisable to ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel if you are a budget traveller. The location is perfect, close to everything. The staff is amazing! Always helpful and kind. The room was big and you get all you need! The continental breakfast for 8 euros was good. I really could not find any faults with this nice NICE hotel. Next time I visit Nice I will stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 days in early July. The hotel was super easy to find, a straight walk down the main street and off to the left, it was very easily spotted. Upon first impression we were a bit skeptical, however turned out we had an absolutely amazing stay here. The Hotels location is definitely it's best selling point. 15min walk to the Chateaux Du Parc. 10minute walk to the beautiful beaches and less than 2 minute walk to the Place Massena and shopping district. The room was adequately furnished and had more than expected for its 2 star rating. We shared a room with two single beds, which were upkept nicely and cleaned daily. The shower could be a touch bigger, but the shower head is decent. Could use a tad more shelving around the hotel and maybe another mirror here or there. The staff were fantastic, willing to lend a hand when we got into a bit of trouble with the language barrier. Always so pleasant, polite and truthful about what to see and do in Nice. Hotel De Verdun is definitely a place to keep in mind when coming to Nice on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Verdun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Verdun

Address: 49, rue de l'Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Verdun 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel de Verdun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Verdun Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Verdun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.