We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money - lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Avenue Jean Medecin, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% less on 2nd night !*
Ranked #41 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value for money - lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Chose this hotel for it's location and value for money, plus it has tea and coffee making facilities which you don't get in many hotels in France. This was very handy as we were travelling hand luggage only.
Our room was clean, the beds comfortable, the shower had good water pressure and there was plenty of hot water.
The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.
Proper bedside tables would have been handy and yes it would have been nice to have proper drawers for clothes but we managed and I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    170
    68
    11
    3
See reviews for
56
154
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We booked this hotel from 4/1/14 thru 4/6/14. We thought it would be a good location f0or access to the trains as well as old town. It was, but the hotel room itself, was lacking. There were absolutely no drawers. We literally lived out of our suit cases. The wifi was available, but I needed to stand at the door to get it to work. The bathroom shower leaked onto the floor and following a few calls to correct it, we simply put towels on the floor to soak up the water. Our first night, we left the T.V. on really, really low. At 4 a.m. I received a call from the gentleman at the front desk telling me to turn off my T.V. as the person next door can't sleep. I apologized and turned off the T.V. Ten minutes later, he banged on my door and said my T.V. was still on and to shut it off. I told him it was off and to NEVER knock on my door again. The day staff were lovely and as helpful as management would allow them. Walls lacked any kind of insulation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

As you'll see in many other reviews, the Best Western Alba is well located. A short walk from both Nice centre and the station. If it's you're first time in Nice, you can get to most other key places by train very easily. (Monaco, Cannes, Antibes etc). From this hotel, you can get to the station with a 5 minute walk.

The staff were friendly and helpful. They speak good English and can advise on getting around and where to go, what to do etc.

The rooms are a little dated and somewhat basic.

I didn't think I'd made a very bad decision in staying there, but thought that maybe for a little extra money, I could have stayed somewhere much nicer and more modern, or for less money, I could have found somewhere as good.

That said, the rooms were clean, if a little on the cramped side.

If you're doing lots of walking on your trip, you might want to go back to the room and relax, so maybe a room with a balcony and view might be worth considering. If you go back to the room in this hotel, there's little to do, other than watch tv or sleep. Just a thought. When we went back to the room late afternoon, I thought it would have been nice to sit on a balcony with a view and watch the world go by - maybe I'm just expecting too much.

I wouldn't advise anyone against this hotel, though do your research and check what you're getting for your money.

I think it's a little on the steep side for what it is, but then again, I definitely didn't get the "omg - what have I done" feeling.

Shop around and give the Best Western a try, if the offer looks good.

I personally booked hastily, as I left things late..........

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I spent a long weekend in Nice and chose the Alba for it's location. The hotel is what you would expect; comfortable, clean and quiet however, the staff were really good. They couldn't have made us feel more welcome and it made our stay the more memorable because of their lovely smiles and friendly disposition. There's a lot our English hotel staff could learn from these guys.
One thing to watch out for; there's a church located about 150 yards away from the hotel where for whatever reason there tends to be a meeting spot for some pretty unsavory characters, they never gave us any trouble but I would advise using the other side of the road if you intend walking past.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I arrived very late at night and received a very unfriendly welcome. This did not give me the best impression of the hotel but luckily it was a once-off and all other staff were friendly and helpful during my stay.

The location is perfect and a short walk from the train station, the tram stop and Place Messena.

The room was comfortable although a little dated. The rooms are very quiet and I could not hear any street noise. The biggest downfall of this room was that the floor tiles in the bathroom were broken. I had to put a towel down because I was afraid I would cut my foot. This seemed to be very dangerous.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

clean and pleasant hotel,good rooms,very helpful staff.the hotel is in a great location in this great city.close proximity to the station and the old town make this hotel perfect for a short break.i would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The first thing I have to say about this hotel, is the location is perfect! I flew into Nice and got the bus shuttle (€6 I think!) into town. I hopped off at Nice train station and from there, it was a five minute, simple walk to the hotel! The hotel is surrounded by cafés and shops, so plenty of places to sit and people watch. It's about a ten minute walk from the hotel down to the water front.... Which was a beautiful clear blue blue blue!!!! The rooms were small but not ridiculously so. They were clean and fairly quiet. The lift is quite small, so take the stairs if you don't like small places.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful too. I'd recommend this hotel for a reasonably priced, great located lace to stay while in Nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel

Address: 41 Avenue Jean Medecin, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.