We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lebanese food novices - great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Europa

L'Europa
3 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France
0699402030
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
L'Europa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #208 of 1,503 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $51
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: For all amateurs of Lebanese cuisine, oriental flavors and authentic atmosphere, the restaurant Europa will welcome you for a moment of delights.Ideally located, close to the famous casino Rhul and to the pedestrian area, the Europa will welcome you in a friendly and cosy atmosphere. The various dishes proposed to the menu within the assortments of Mezzés to share compose a complete range of different flavors from the country of Cedar.The culinary discovery continue through original dishes, served with Lebanese wines rich in colors. Oriental homemade pastries will gently end this journey.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lebanese food novices - great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having seen the Tripadvisor reviews, we decided to give this a go, knowing absolutely nothing about Lebanese food. What a find! Abdel, one of the joint owners, speaks faultless English and after establishing that we were new to this cuisine, recommended a menu at 22 euros (the second cheapest incidentally!) consisting of 10 mezze style dishes around half of which were cold & the others hot. These arrived in groups at sensible intervals and were explained to us in great and accurate detail. Don't ask me to remember the names! They were all interesting, fresh and tasty and very attractively presented. To follow, there were Lebanese pastries and mint tea or coffee. The decor is attractive with red and white sofas and armchairs lining the walls in the style of an arabic tent (but higher). A culinary voyage of discovery, a lot of fun and very good value by comparison with ordinary restaurants nearby. They haven't been open very long and they deserve to do well!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    42
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Lebanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent, authentic Persian/Lebanese food, close to promenade des Anglais. Attentive/friendly service. Taboulleh is fresh/fragrant. Kabobs don't come with sauce, but don't need it because they're so tasty (we had chicken and kafta). Great cafe creme.

One shortfall is the bread provided for the hummus comes in a plastic bag - better places will cook it fresh for you. The meal as a whole is very good, though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
1 review
“Best food we've had so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Everything was exceptional. The food was the best we've had on this trip (we are 30 days in) and the service was excellent. The service was good, and helpfully for us, in English. I tried my French but was thankfully stopped, to the general benefit of myself and anyone in a listening radius.

If you go here, order the mint tea after dinner. It is the most wonderful thing I've ever had. Try it alone, before your palate is overtaken by pastries.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a friendly environment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This restaurant was close to the Hotel Meridien, where we were staying. We decided to try something new and Lebanese food seemed a great option.

The staff were very attentive and friendly and took their time explaining the dishes on offer, as we don't know much about middle eastern food and 9 year olds can be fussy.

We needn't worry, their suggestions were spot on. The food was fresh and delicious, we cleared our plates and if weren't so full would gadly have seconds. Our son tried and finished his mint tea. Fab!

Good value for money as well.

Would love to try their food again next time we're in Nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went to Nice recently and stayed in a hotel close to this restaurant and near the Promenade de Anglais. By the time we had reached our hotel it was about 10.30 at night and we went out in search of Dinner. Most of the restaurants were closed or closing when we saw this. In fact the waiter saw us outside and welcomed us in. It is a Lebanese restaurant and he explained the menu. The staff were extremely friendly. My wife is a vegetarian but the salad and the vegetarian mousaka was excellent. The bread was great and the best part was the bill which was very reasonable. Although we were in Nice for only 3 nights, we liked this restaurant so much we ended up going there one more night. Would recommend this restaurant any time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Europa also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to L'Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.