We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Statu.co

Le Statu.co
12 Rue Pastorelli, 06000 Nice, France
0493878424
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #18 of 1,293 restaurants in Nice
Price range: $26 - $65
Cuisines: Delicatessen, French, Hamburgers, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were a bit surprised that this classy looking restaurant was quite empty on the evening we came but having confidence in the recommendations on Trip Advisor we prepared for a good meal ahead.

The service was wonderful, friendly and attentive, with the menu being explained with great detail and passion.

We both enjoyed the starters (melon sorbet and fig starter and Bella Nissa). The success of the mains was mixed with my companion saying it's one of the best dishes he's ever had (referring to the rabbit fillet with fois gras) and the other one of us not really enjoying the dish (the daube beef in red wine sauce- which I found to be a little too fatty for my personal taste and the general dish therefore being very heavy and rich. It's possible that some people with richer palettes than mine and who like the taste of savoury red-wine sauce may enjoy it though). Desserts which consisted of 3 taster portions of different dishes, were enjoyable - particularly the fruit dishes which had some tang to balance out the sweetness. All together the portions were very generous. We both felt like we could literally barely move after the whole 3 course meal! so come hungry!

Overall, I think if you order the right things for you on the menu (which I suspect is 99% of the dishes on there), this restaurant has the potential of offering you the perfect night :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    170
    43
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Generous portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked this restaurant following the good reviews on trip advisor. We enjoyed it enormously despite the road works outside! I had the Niçois menu at €29 which was extremely good value for money if you have a large appetite. The starter, bella nissa, was huge and the other 2 courses followed suit. My other half and son chose from the a la carte menu and also had generous portions which they thoroughly enjoyed. However we would say that there is no comparison with Scottish beef which is far superior to anything we've ever had in France. Staff were very attentive and we could not fault the place. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Nice. We would go back apart from the fact that there are a huge number of restaurants here to try.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Based on ta-reviews, we booked our last night on honeymoon at this restaurant. Sadly, we got really disappointed.
- ok start, with few people in the restaurant
- service got slower and slower
- starters quite ok! Even if they came back because they forgot what we ordered
- no refill at the table with wine or water, no questions asked what so ever
- main course failed totally. I ordered steak with foie gras sauce, medium rear. It was like chewing gum. Called for the waitress, who asked some questions, why i didn't like it etc. Got a new course and the chef came to make sure that the new course would be good. He explained that the waitress was bad at english, and said medium well... My new course was better, but not good... When the chef came to check on me he said that i should have been here last week, because they had fillet that week...
- my wife ordered duck, and that was dry as well. The chef said it was because it wasn't breast but fillet!
- we got one main course for free, and that saved le statu from an even worse critic!
- stay away if you expect a gourmet meal with good service...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Meal in Nice, France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I found this restaurant on Tripadvisor and it was everything and more when we were able to have a meal here. This is one very busy place and a reservation is a must as we were not able to get in the first time we tried. The portions are HUGE (and I had been led to believe that small portions are the norm in France) and presented like pictures, they are so beautiful. We shared the Nissa Bella appetizer and it consisted of about 12 different small portions of appetizers. Then we had the grilled duck with cherries, pomme de terrre, vegetable napoleon and garnishes. Too full for desert although we saw what others were eating and they also looked beautiful. .The staff were all really nice, spoke english very well and the owner even came around to see how we were doing. If you love good food, this is a place to go

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a good neighbourhood bistro somewhat off the tourist routes but well worth seeking out. I went there for lunch and there was a mixture of tourists and local business people. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

The name is a bit peculiar and the decor is quirky, but the food is astonishing good value. You really cannot argue with a EUR 15 menu of starter, main course and coffee especially given their very generous portions.

Some great user-friendly details like the Cafe Gourmand - three mini desserts and an espresso for EUR 5.80 - or the starters designed for sharing or the two sizes of salads.

Note that the outdoor seating is on the street and it is busy - there's a hospital across the street that attracts ambulances and it's on a bus route. Strictly for smokers I would say.

Nice like any large city has its fair share of medicare restaurants - this isn't one of them and it is worth the walk.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Statu.co also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Statu.co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Statu.co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.