We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience. dine here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sejour Cafe

Le Sejour Cafe
11 Rue Grimaldi, Nice, France
+33 4 93 27 37 84
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,375 Restaurants in Nice
Price range: $32 - $52
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience. dine here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were directed here by chowhound and by tripadvisor and enjoyed it so much we made an additional reservation.
The staff was warm and took the time to explain the menu, ingredients and cooking method. Wine suggestions were perfect. The plates were elegant and delicious. The experience made us feel like we were in an episode of Bourdaine's "No Reservation's".

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le_sejour_nice, Propriétaire at Le Sejour Cafe, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank You Eric, your warm appreciation is a real gift for us ! It s so kind !
We look about Bourdaine 's that we didn't know in France. It seems to be a very good travel TV guide !
We are proud to be "in" !

Thank you again, and come back when you want !

Bests and Kind regards from all the Team du SEJOUR Café
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    87
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth 100 Euros?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our meal at Sejour Cafe

Amuse bouche - Pepper and basil gazpacho - Free and very nice

Foie Gras - 16 Euro x 2

A good size portion of excellent Foie Gras served with dots of Mango coulis, thinly sliced apple and hot toast.

Scallop Risotto - 20 Euro

4 scallops served in a very rich but tasty risotto

Duck Breast - 24 Euro

An excellent duck breast but served only with a small amount of jus and below par roasted new potatoes

Wine - Cheapest Cote de Provence rose - 24 Euro a bottle, average quality

Total bill - exactly 100 Euro

The service at this restaurant is very friendly although tables are very tight so expect minimal privacy. In our case the only fault with the cooking of food were the potatoes which were either cremated or under cooked. I updated the friendly owner of this and she quite rightly said I could have told her earlier, albeit there was no call back to the table.

Even if the potatoes had been perfect, at 24 Euro this dish relied too heavily on the quality of duck, to serve only with potatoes and nothing else other than a teaspoon of jus made it dry, bland and uninteresting. The service is great but this is a very touristic restaurant (as demonstrated by countless English reviews) but in view of the costs falls short. At Michelin star prices things have to be perfect and I am afraid i simply cannot imagine that this is the best restaurant in Nice from our experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le_sejour_nice, Propriétaire at Le Sejour Cafe, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur,
C'est avec beaucoup d'intérêt que j'ai lu votre avis, nous concernant. Il est méticuleux mais très imprécis.
En le lisant, j'ai le sentiment que vous avez des exigences variables selon les lieux fréquentés, comme en témoignent les différents avis que vous avez déposés.
Un première chose, vous commettez une importante erreur :
Nous ne sommes absolument pas un restaurant touristique, qui dans votre bouche, prend une signification péjorative. Nous avons 95 % de clients Niçois particulièrement fidèles. Nous recevons avec un immense plaisir, tous les clients, qui nous font l'honneur de passer notre porte, et nous ne traitons pas différemment ,les touristes d'un côté, les français de l'autre, mais comme nous sommes fermés, tous les ans, au mois d'Août (du 28/7/2013 au 28/8/2013 très exactement), admettez que pour un "restaurant touristique", c'est spectaculaire de fermer à une période, pendant laquelle les touristes sont les plus nombreux !
Ensuite, vous détaillez chaque prix, avec précision, il me semble qu'il convient de compléter l'information, pour ceux qui vous lisent.
Tous nos produits sont de toute première qualité, et nous ne travaillons, ni les produits congelés, encore moins les produits préparés. Nous sommes membres du Collège Culinaire de France, qui regroupe les plus grands Chefs Français (Ducasse, Boccuse, Pic, Savoy, Rebuchon,entre autres) je ne vais pas tous les citer, mais c'est impressionnant. Nous avons été admis dans ce Collège.
Il doit y avoir quelques raisons, ne pensez vous pas ? Prenons un exemple, tant pour le Foie Gras (de canard) que pour le Magret. C'est un canard de ferme, élevé en plein air, par un éleveur particulièrement réputé qui fournit les meilleures tables dont de très nombreuses maisons étoilées.
Vous dites que la sauce est sans intérêt, c'est votre droit, car on peut effectivement s'habituer à des sauces industrielles, beaucoup plus marquées en goût, et en sel, mais nous réalisons nos jus chaque jour. On en met peu, par souci diététique.
Si vous en aviez demandé plus, nous aurions eu plaisir à vous satisfaire, comme pour les pommes de terre, que vous avez toutes mangées.
Le vin que vous semblez trouver banal, est un AOC, reconnu comme l'un des meilleurs rapport qualité prix (24 euros ), par les oenologues. (triple médaillé d'or dans les concours nationaux).
Bref, nous avons eu le sentiment que vous veniez pour noter et critiquer, plus que pour manger.
C'est dommage, car cela a probablement altéré la bonne humeur de votre soirée, j'en suis navré.
Je remarque, aussi, que vous n'avez pas du fréquenter des restaurants étoilés depuis fort longtemps.
En effet, le prix de 100 euros, à deux, avec 3 plats et les boissons, tout compris, est très en dessous d'une proposition identique dans un restaurant étoilé.
Consultez, je vous prie, les sites de ces restaurants qui publient leurs tarifs, vous serez édifié sur ce point. Certes les prix Nice sont plus élevés qu'à Cracovie, mais les salaires en France sont 3 à 4 fois supérieurs à ceux de la Pologne, comme vous le savez.
En outre, ce n'est pas faire injure à ce grand pays, que de reconnaître que nos produits, notre gastronomie et nos Chefs, sont reconnus dans le monde entier. Oserai-je ajouter qu'il en va de même pour la Côte d'Azur, visitée par des dizaines de millions de personnes chaque année ?
Avant d'ouvrir Le Séjour, il y a un an, nous avions des restaurants, pendant 30 ans au Guide Michelin, c'est vous dire si nous connaissons le sujet.
Une dernière chose : 95% des clients sont d'un avis contraire au votre, ces avis, nous ne les avons,ni sollicités, ni payés.
Je présume que vous admettrez que l'on peut difficilement avoir raison tout seul (ou presque).
Ce faisant, vous reconnaissez, que ces nombreux clients, qui ont aimé notre restaurant, sont certainement aussi qualifiés que vous, pour donner 95% d'avis contraires au votre.
En outre, dans ces 95 %, il y a peu de nos clients niçois, qui, sauf exception n'écrivent pas sur Tripadvisor, sur leur propre ville. En effet, comme vous pouvez le constater, les clients écrivent principalement lors de voyages. Le mot "Trip" prenant ainsi tout son sens.
Vous même ne donnez pas de commentaires sur tous les restaurants de Lincoln que vous avez fréquenté je présume ?
Si vous venez à Nice entre Septembre et Mai, manger au Séjour, au moment où les touristes sont plus rares, vous serez probablement au milieu de Niçois, ce qui vous permettra de leur parler et de les connaître, la proximité des tables favorisant les contacts, conformément à vos souhaits exprimés sur votre profil.
C'est une des raisons -pas la seule- qui fait aimer ce restaurant, si vous lisez les autres avis.
Comme nous ne voulons pas rester sur votre sentiment, nous vous attendons cet hiver, ou au printemps prochain, d'ici là, peut-être serons nous inscrits au Guide Michelin.
A bientôt donc,
Bien cordialement
R Geille
Le Séjour Café
Nice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Read good reviews on TripAdvisor and decided to give it a try. No reservation but the waitress (manager/owner we think) still managed to find us a table, but don't count on it as the place was full and many were rejected after we sat down.
Food: Limited menu but should satisfy most people. We had duck with roasted potatoes and the risotto with scallops, both excellent and perfectly prepared. Dessert was choclate fondant, and probably the best we ever had.
Service: perfect. Always taken care of in best possible way.

Best meal we had in Nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le_sejour_nice, Propriétaire at Le Sejour Cafe, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest ! thank you so much for your splendid appreciation ! We allways are so gratefull to our clients to take time to write on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know you spent a nice diner in our small restaurant. Hope to see you again ! Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton, Beach, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good, but number 1?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The night before we ate at a restaurant rated 20 something in Nice that was slightly better. BUT, we were very happy at Sejour and would recommend it! Very nice staff. Gazpacho was really Vichychoise, but it was great! Molton chocolate cake was hot and runny, but the chocolate could have been better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaudNice, Propriétaire at Le Sejour Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur
Merci de votre appréciation flatteuse. Vous vous interrogez sur notre classement de N° 1. Je pense que celui ci est le reflet de très nombreux avis, déposés par les clients, sans notre intervention... Ce que disent ces clients est simple : ils considèrent que le cadre, l'accueil, le service, la cuisine, font de nous leur restaurant préféré. C'est un ensemble qu'ils jugent et apprécient, en nous classant N°1. Pas seulement la cuisine. Recevoir les clients, en Anglais, Italien, Allemand, Néerlandais et Français, est un signe de respect et de courtoisie. Avec le sourire ! Sincère, car nous aimons recevoir. C'est pourquoi notre restaurant ressemble à un appartement, comme le disent les clients, qui s'y sentent bien, très bien même. Alors, l'on peut légitimement préférer telle ou telle table, ce qui est bien normal, en fonction de ses humeurs, de ses envies, mais l'important c'est de trouver un équilibre aussi parfait que possible entre tous les éléments qui font que la soirée sera réussie. Telle est notre désir : faire plaisir, pour que vous passiez un bon moment. C'est notre but. Et si j'en crois les réactions, toutes nationalités confondues, c'est, semble-t-il le cas. Les clients ne jugent pas seulement la cuisine, sinon des restaurants réputés seraient toujours premiers ! ils émettent une préférence. C'est plus subtil , car c'est un savant équilibre. Rien ne doit décevoir. Nous espérons vous revoir prochainement et vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire à Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good without too much risk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

food was very good but there were no exclamation point, that give give you the impression of non ended. the service is ok with on or two mistakes but nothing handicapping but the hearty owner make up with her smile. the bill is ok too, it's not free but not too much expansive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sejour Cafe also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Sejour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sejour Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.