We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sejour Cafe

Le Sejour Cafe
11 Rue Grimaldi | Plein Carre d'OR, 06000 Nice, France
+33 4 93 27 37 84
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,503 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the "Carre d'or", our restaurant is small, elegant, and friendly. Fresh products of the day, We would love to welcome you ! Reservation recomanded. We are "MAITREs RESTAURATEURS DE FRANCE and Members of the FRENCH CULINARY COLLEGE with Alain Ducasse, Joel Robuchon, Paul Bocuse, Michel Guerard, Pierre Troisgros, Anne Sophie PIC, Guy Savoy, Gerald Passedat, Regis Marcon, Thierry Marx et d'autres grands Chefs francais.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We chose this restaurant as it was close to our hotel, Le Grimaldi, and we were not disappointed. It is necessary to book in advance as we saw people being turned away.
The menu was small but interesting, and a la carte, no inclusive set menus. ( perhaps salmon tartare and steak tartare too much on a small menu?) Appetisers were served whilst choosing, and an amuse bouche too. The pichet of house wine at 15 euros per 50cl was acceptable for us. The service was very efficient and friendly. Our 2 course meal with wine was approx. 70 euros and was well worth it. We left while the lady owner was busy with someone but she ran after us in the street to say goodbye when she realised we had gone. A nice touch !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    123
    26
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

As with other reviewers, we chose this restaurant on the basis of many good reviews. We were not disappointed! However, the first thing to do is book ahead. We found it one evening but they were fully booked and offered us a table the following night. Many people were turned away the next night while we were safely booked and enjoying the most delicious food. The restaurant (NB NOT a cafe as we mean it) is small and the tables are quite close together. It has interesting "arty" decor in a modern context and all of the staff are absolutely delightful and helpful with good English. The menu leans towards fish dishes but by no means exclusively so. Three attractive and tasty "amuse bouche" savouries preceded our main courses of John Dory fillet and tuna .. Both were perfectly cooked and were bursting with unusual flavours. If I'm beginning to sound like a Masterchef presenter, it's because these people ARE master chefs. The quality and freshness shines through! A scrumptious Baba au Rhum and hazelnut meringue completed out fine dining experience, all washed down with a bottle of Petit Chablis. With a Kir aperitif beforehand our bill was around £110 and worth every penny! We cannot recommend it highly enough and if we are in Nice again we would book immediately!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I chose this restaurant on the basis of the Tripadvisor reviews, and the fact it seemed to have plenty of spare tables. Little did I know that they were all reserved, but as I was on my own they managed to squeeze me in to the last corner. A number of other people were turned away afterwards so I'd definitely recommend booking. I certainly shall if I'm in Nice again.
The short menu is written on a small blackboard that is hefted around from table to table. The waitress checked I understood what all the dishes were before leaving me to make my choice. I only ordered a main course, but this was preceded by several small complimentary amuse bouches including a delicious asparagus cream. My main course steak (sourced from the UK!) was superb - one of the best I've had.
This is obviously a restaurant that attracts regular locals, a number of whom were greeted with warm embraces, but is equally welcoming to stray tourists.
Unhesitating recommendation!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“MARVELLOUS DINING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We selected Le Sejour Cafe based on earlier Trip Advisor recommendations recommendations and we were absolutely delighted,not only with their great food ( scrambled eggs with mushrooms just fabulous & the best sea bream ever) My wife is blind & eating out can be tricky but we were swamped with kindness & understanding from the lovely couple who run this restaurant.

We went on successive nights & enjoyed ourselves thoroughly; tables are close together but we met interesting people & had a great laugh in a relaxed happy atmosphere.

Be sure to book but don't miss this spot in Nice. You will find nowhere better!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic ambiance and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very friendly service, and great food. Small tables close to each other, which makes it easy
to talk to your neighbors, and make new friends.A combination of modern style and a home
library, with books, photos and other warm feelings-inducing stuff. Maybe the best restaurant ambiance that you can find in Nice,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sejour Cafe also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Sejour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sejour Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.