We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat in Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Papa Fred

Chez Papa Fred
25 Boulevard de la Madeleine, 06000 Nice, France
+33 4 93 86 84 60
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,430 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I ate here last Saturday night and were delighted. The owners were very friendly, enthusiastic and proud of their restraunt. The food was fantastic and not expensive. Well worth eating here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    43
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Don't eat all day.... SAVE yourself for this meal. The chef and server were so friendly! They speak english, and were very helpful navigating the menu. Most of us ate the daily specials... take their recommendations! The lamb was cooked for 4+ hours and melted off the bone. You can really taste the effort they put into their food! The beef was cooked perfectly and was absolutely delicious. One of us ordered the Carbonara pasta with the egg. AMAZING. We were all stealing some off her plate. The dessert was also delicious- we ordered the chocolate cake, apple (tartin) pie, and creme brulee. Plates were all empty by the end of the meal. Pictures don't do the food justice. You have to see it in real life. For the price, you can't beat the meal. We highly recommend visiting Chez Papa Fred. Making a reservation was worth a call. It is not located in the center of nice, but well worth a taxi ride (or even a walk - that you may appreciate post-meal) to get to. Thank you for an amazing experience Chez Papa Fred!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I went to this little restaurant at the airport end of Nice a short walk from the centre. Enjoyed a beautiful salmon in saffron sauce while the other people in the party had the lamb. The restaurant is run by a husband and wife Mama and Papa Fred. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth 2nd ranking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had expected much more from a 2nd ranked restaurant than what we got. The size of the portion was ok and the taste was good but to be on the 2 nd place you expect something more. More finess on the plate and not adessert that tasyes and looks that it has been purchased from Lidl.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best food experience in Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

For our last night in Nice, we went to this small and cozy restaurant run by a sweet couple. We had read about this place on TA, and I have to admit, my expectations were high from reading all the comments. But they did not disappoint.
We had to walk for 30-40 minutes to get to the restaurant (from the old town). We could of course have taken a taxi, but this way we could really work up an apatite... Which we needed, cause there was plenty on food in every course.
The menu is not that big, but I think that's good, it means they specialize in the dishes that they do serve, and make it, from my perspective, close to perfection. For 25 euro you could get a starter, main course and dessert. And I promise, you will not leave hungry.

Since it's a small restaurant, we made reservations earlier the same day. November is not a time with lots of tourists, and there were two tables available for drop-in visitors. If you want to go there in mid season I would strongly recommend to call and make a reservation in advance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Papa Fred also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Chez Papa Fred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Papa Fred, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.