We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helvetique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Helvetique to your Saves list
Hotel Helvetique
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Rue de l'Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Located in the center of Nice, with a 10 minutes walk to the beach and old town through the Place Massena. Close to tram and buses including airport bus. Big room, bigger than I would expect in the middle of a city and nice bathroom. Stayed there with a friend for almost 2 weeks and it was very comfortable sizewise.However our room had a street view which made it somewhat noisy as the hotel is located in the center of Nice.
All staff was very helpful and friendly. Reception open 24h. There was a mini fridge in the room which was great to keep cool drinks (it was hot enough in march) and cheeses in.

Room Tip: ask for patio view room, street view ones are rather loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    122
    58
    16
    8
See reviews for
48
107
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If I only new what a horrible experience I will have with them, I would never ever made a reservation with this hotel. My advice to everyone - don't chose this hotel if you can. Horrible unfriendly service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelhelvetique, Direction at Hotel Helvetique, responded to this review, January 26, 2015
Dear Sir,
To avoid such problem it is very important to use a valid credit card when you book on internet.
Because in case of no guarantee, reservations are automatically cancelled.
Best regards
Hotel Helvetique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My 85 year old Mum and I stayed 3 nights here and found it great. So convenient - about 100m to tram, 200m to shops, cafes over the road, walking distance to Vielle Ville (Old Town), Cours Saleya (flower market) and Promenade des Anglais (beach front). The hotel has a tiny lift, just big enough for one person and suitcase and free internet on first floor (remember to use the Alt Gr key to put in a @). We had room 207 which was nice and quiet and a lot more spacious than we'd been expecting and a window that opens. The view is just onto the back of other buildings, but neverthe less you get a nice (no pun) breeze. Plenty room to hang clothes, and undies dry well, oh and also a hair drier and a room safe. Only downside to the room is that the toilet is the second tiniest I have ever had to use (one in a NZ backpackers gets the prize) - your knees touch the door. Breakfast is extra and is basic - Cocopops and Frosties for cereal, tinned fruit, yoghurt, bread roll and 2 pastries/person, selection of jams, honey and Nutella, sliced bread and coffee, tea and hot chocolate. Filled us up enough though. Pierre at the desk is very helpful. You can catch number 98 bus (4 Euros) from Cote D'Azur airport to Avenue Jean Jaures and walk to hotel, or walk shorter distance by catching the bus then a tram (use same ticket) to Place Massena stop on Avenue Jean Medecin, cross the road and head down a short block and a half to the hotel. Look for the blue vertical Helvetique sign on the building, which is on the right hand side of the street. If you walk to the Promenade des Anglais near the Meridien hotel you can catch a number 400 bus to St Paul de Vance - well worth a visit. You can also catch bus to Monaco from near Vielle Ville. Really this hotel is in such a great location. ALERT - be careful with trams - despite being extremely careful, one day I had my purse stolen from the zip pocket of my over-the-shoulder handbag at the tram stop and I didn't feel it happening, probably was just jostled when buying a ticket from machine. Fortunately only lost 50 Euros and the purse.

Room Tip: Suggest avoid room on first loor next to breakfast room and computer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Before we left for our trip, I read the reviews of the hotel which seemed to be either really positive or negative so I wasn't sure what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised. Our room was on the third floor (There is a tiny elevator so you don't have to lug suitcases.) in the back of the hotel, which means that it was quiet. The room was large and had a television, air conditioner/heater, and closet with shelves. The bathroom set-up was interesting. One room had the toilet and in another room was the tub with shower, sink, and bidet. The room was clean and odor free. The whole hotel is no smoking and there is a hefty fine if you do get caught smoking. The staff was friendly and helpful. We went to St. Paul's and with the help of the front desk staff, we were able to catch the correct bus with little difficulty. The hotel's location is perfect. You are about two blocks from the old city, twenty minutes walk from the convention center, and very close to a shopping area as well as a large supermarket. This hotel was a great find! For 75 Euros a night, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The first room was depressing and smelt heavily like cigarettes. We changed the room, however, it was also depressing with old sheets and towels. The light of the hotel sign kept us awake and early in the morning - as expected - the breakfast activities stopped our sleep. The breakfast was prepared without love. We were depressed. However, the staff was very very friendly and helpful all the time. We changed agsin to another floor and this room was mjch better and fitted with the other tripadvisor evaluations. We stayed a week and enjoyed it. In conclusion: very nice staff - and a good place to stay but definitely avoid the rooms of the lowest category (just 10€ less than the other rooms).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a room on the first floor, next to the breakfast room, so we were woken up at 5:50 in the morning. We were really thinking about changing the hotel because it's not a vacation when you have to wake up so early.
But the staff was really nice with us and found another room on the 3 floor.
It's not a luxury hotel but it is in the centrum of Nice and 5 minutes from the beautiful see.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night. The hotel is a five minute walk from place massena, where We got off the 98 bus from the airport. We arrived a little earlier than expected, and was asked if we wanted a room with a bath or a shower, good size room at the front with a balcony. staff couldn't do enough for us, very helpful. Free wifi at a good speed was a great help. Breakfast was very tasty. First visit to Nice, so not stayed anywhere else before but u would be happy to stay here again. 30 seconds to tram stop. 10 mins walk to train station. a few good restaurants within walking distance, and also lots and lots of shops close by.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Helvetique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetique

Address: 47 Rue de l'Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Helvetique 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Nice center, 5-minute walk from the beach, the Place Massena, the Old Town, the Promenade, shopping areas and bus station and at only 15-minute walk from the SNCF train station and Acropolis Exhibition Center, Hotel Helvetique will grant you a warm welcome in a family-like atmosphere all year long. All our rooms are air-conditioned with bath or shower, toilets, telephone, satellite TV, safety box, little fridge, hair dryer. Free Wifi and free internet. Garage available on reservation (20 euros per night) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Helvetique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetique Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helvetique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.