We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Nice Centre - Acropolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Nice Centre - Acropolis to your Saves list
Campanile Nice Centre - Acropolis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Boulevard Risso, 06300 Nice, France (Old Town / Vieux Nice)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“good location, budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We've stayed in a few budget and mid priced hotels in Nice over the years. We've stayed at the Campanile Acropolis quite a few times now as a first choice for value. Yes, rooms are very small - but so are very many hotel rooms in Nice, and it is a budget priced hotel. Last year we stayed a few days in a well known and much more expensive hotel just off the Promenade des Anglais and weren't that impressed when comparing value with the Campanile. We have had rooms in the Campanile Acropolis on a variety of floors and facing front and back. This time we stayed a full week and hoped to be allocated room 803 because we knew it had a terrace. The view from the terrace is excellent - looking down onto the garden of the Modern Art Museum, across the rooftops, towards the castle hill and panarama right round across Nice and to the Alpes Maritimes. As always, the room and bathroom were immaculate. Even though the lift is close to all rooms, the lift noise didn't bother us. Double glazing works well but in hotter summer months when it's good to have windows open perhaps a room at the back would be better. My only criticism is that I didn't find the bed or pillows comfortable - the bed was large but too firm for me and the pillows just like bits of sponge - I don't remember this on earlier stays but maybe they've been changed with the refurbishment. Also, what a shame they no longer provide the complimentary Fragonard toiletry samples or the butter biscuits - that was a welcome touch of goodwill. We like the hotel because it's in a very good location - near the old town; at the start of a lovely walk through the Place du Paillon; round the corner from tram stops, bus stops, airport bus stops; very near the old town; restaurants,supermarket and cafes nearby. We've always found the staff to be very professional, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter in terms of street noise, rooms at front on highest floors have good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    158
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
45
108
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute for a stay in Nice at reasonable price. It was an easy tram ride from the train station to Place Garibaldi, then a short walk around the block. The lobby and hallways are stark and uninviting. The room was clean; queen bed was comfortable and they provided extra pillows; bathroom new and modern with a nice shower. The young desk staff were pleasant and helpful. Hot water maker with instant coffee or teas was a nice amenity. It is located near the old city which we enjoyed exploring for its shops and restaurants. Did not take breakfast because there are many options nearby including boulangeries and cafes and another reason to get out of hotel and explore. For us, a couple, however, the room was prohibitively small. There was a tall narrow cabinet to hang a few pieces of clothing but no drawers. With our two suitcases on the floor there was barely room to pass each other single file to get to and from bathroom or out the door. For that reason, we stayed only one night, increased our hotel budget and booked another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the majority of the good reviews and the price. We were first given a room on the 8th floor which I requested to be changed into the lower level floor. My request was immediately granted by the receptionist. Too bad I was not able to get her name as she was genuinely friendly.
THE LOBBY: is adequate. There is a vendo machine where drinks are sold at a fair price…
THE BEDROOM: is small but since we only had one large luggage with us and staying for just two days, it was good enough. The room was SUPER CLEAN! I just couldn’t fault it. The shower was good and there were soaps and shampoo dispensers. The view from our window was amazing. We had the room on the side of the street, facing the beautiful gardens of the bibliothèque (library) We could also see the Museum of Modern Art and Acropolis from our window. We had a quiet night. If I am going to be too critical, I would say it was a bit warm. I had to open the window during the night. There was a coffee/tea making facilities.
THE LOCATION: is very centralized. A short walk to Massena, the beach, La colline du château, Promenade de Anglais and the water fun at the Promenade du Paillon (not to be missed). There are also plenty of restaurants around. Beside the hotel is a Chinese/Oriental supermarket and just around the corner is the Monoprix supermarket.
THE BREAKFAST: unfortunately, we didn’t eat breakfast here. I am a very small breakfast eater… all I need in the morning is a cup of coffee, a croissant/sandwich and a newspaper so, we took our breakfast at the bakery not far from the hotel and it costed me just €3.00 for an espresso, croissant and a can of orange juice (or softdrink)

OVERALL EXPERIENCE: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff, cheap drinks at the vendo machine, I give this hotel a thumbs up. We will definitely book this hotel again and would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Booked this via Lastminute.com. The location was perfect, opposite the modern art museum and around the corner from place garibaldi.
From here you can walk everywhere. Good restaurants, bars, the old town, the sea front, etc.
Very helpful staff.
Small but clean and functional rooms recently refurbed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphanie V, Directeur général at Campanile Nice Centre - Acropolis, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your nice comment !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed for five days in this hotel due to attending a conference in "Acropolis". Location wise I couldn't have asked for anything better. Plus it is close to the old city, to shops and cafes. The room was a bit small but super clean and tidy. A bit noisy in the late evening as my room was from the front side of the busy street. Not too bad though. Breakfast was very basic. I could have skipped it. Other than that, personnel was friendly and nice. I could consider staying again if the case arose.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel via a Lastminute deal. The hotel is very close to Place Garibaldi, opposite the modern art museum & walkable to the old town, the seafront, the harbour, etc.
Hotel rooms are small, clean, recently refurbished and for the price excellent.
The hotel staff are very helpful, fluent English.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We prety much liked the location : it's just around the corner of Place Garibaldi which has some nightlife but not too much, with several nice caffés and terasses (you can have a meal or drink outside even in February in Nice, the climate is rather mild). The hotel is just10 minutes walk to the city center and promenade des Anglais, and 15 minutes (and even less if you take public transport) to the railway station (gare Riquier, not the main one) where you have the trains heading to Monaco and Menton..In plus, the bus to the airport stops just nearby - really convenient...and in just 5 minutes you are at the port of Nice..and the gallery of modern art is just in front of the hotel. We didn't take a breakfast so I can't say how it was, but there are several bakeries in the surroundings if you want to spend less than 9 euro per person(the hotel's price) on your morning meal..The room was really tiny but with comfy beds and the bathroom was completely new, nice and clean...There were several strange marks/stains on the carpet though, so the room seemed not well tidied up at first glance...Our stay would have been perfect if only...if only our room wasn't located on the 8th floor. As it is the last floor, the elevator engine is located right there, under the ceiling, and it kept doing awfull and quite annoying noises all the night through (and all the day). So we had real trouble sleeping! And this despite the fact that the bed was super-comfortable and our room was on the quiet side of the building overlooking a calm courtyard so we could sleep with our windows open and weren't disturbed at all by the traffic noise..so try to avoid this floor, or at least room 802.

Room Tip: once again : avoid the 8th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Nice Centre - Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Nice Centre - Acropolis

Address: 58 Boulevard Risso, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Old Town / Vieux Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Nice Centre - Acropolis 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Campanile Nice Centre - Acropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Nice Centre - Acropolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.