We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't wait to go back to Nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Taichung, Taiwan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I can't wait to go back to Nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. I want to give it a 4.5. The location is great. On the promenade. You have a beautiful sea view, and only have to walk across to be on the rocky beach. The service was very good.
Although it is strange there is no coffee pots in the room, they do offer a plug in hot pot for heating water. We also asked for an ice bucket and wine glasses which were given to us without any fee.(Of course we would have been shocked if we were charged). The pool was very nice. We did not make it to the steam room. Our king size sea view room with balcony was spacious and comfortable. The reason I am giving it a 4.5 over a full 5 is because of the cost of the food. We did not have dinner there because it cost too much. However we did try the breakfast buffet at 28 euros per person. It was definitely not worth it. It was the last day of our vacation and I needed more than the one cappucino that I received each morning everywhere else. The selection was slim and the food mediocre. We would stay there again. But not eat there.

Room Tip: I would get the sea view. It is so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    385
    106
    43
    26
See reviews for
232
783
65
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee is a beautiful art deco hotel near the center of Nice on the Promenade des Anglais. I was upgraded to a partial sea-view room with my Platinum Gold Passport status.

Pros:
The Staff: The staff of the Hyatt Regency Palais de la Mediterranee seemed genuinely caring and kind. The concierge and front desk staff are fluent in English and were helpful for the most part.

Location: Most rooms have Mediterranean Sea views because you are right at the shore. You are a 10 minute walk from NIce's main shopping and dining district. There are also a few (but not many) shops and places to eat right by the hotel.

Hotel Amenities: The hotel has an indoor/outdoor pool, workout room, sauna, hammam (steam room), restaurants, terrace, and balconies, all open for you to use at your convenience.

Cons
Room Amenities: For some reason, this hotel does not provide hot tea and coffee service in the room (or anywhere else). When I asked, I was told that it was available for a fee through room service. I have NEVER experienced this in any Hyatt or any other hotel, no matter rating (much less at a 5-star like this hotel), anywhere else on earth. This was very annoying and inconvenient.

Additionally, I asked reception if I could have a plate and a fork delivered to my room (no food), and I was quoted a price of 10 Euros ($12.50USD) for this. That is pretty ridiculous. Hotels with restaurants regularly let guests use plates and flatware for a tip to the person who delivers it. This 10-euro charge for an empty plate is an obvious price gouge and extremely disappointing.

Room Condition: The inside of the hotel is not quite as elegant as the outside. I realize it's just a Regency, but the furniture, while clean and comfortable, was a bit dated and worn. They could have done with a room upgrade years ago. I was informed by the manager that room upgrades are currently underway. Not sure how long it will take to do the whole hotel.

Regency Club: There is no Regency Club at this hotel. I'm not sure why. The hotel is huge and has lots of space. They'd benefit from having this, seeing as though they don't provide tea or coffee in the room.

Price of food: The food at the breakfast buffet and Le troisieme restaurant was fine but it was outrageously expensive. Nearly $175 USD for dinner for 2 (1 bottle of wine, 2 entrees, 1 cheese plate for dessert) and $35 USD for the breakfast buffet. The dinner actually cost more than a similar dinner I had at the newly opened Park Hyatt in New York City, which had a much more refined menu. I'd skip eating at this restaurant, and if you want to bring food to your room, make sure you also bring your own plate!

Overall, I would probably not return to the Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee. In my opinion, the lack of basic room amenities far outweigh the politeness of the staff and good location of the building.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner terrace have Mediterranean Sea views, but you will also experience amplified...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After completing a cruise of the Mediterranean we stayed in Nice for 5 days at this lovely central hotel. From reception to departure the service was wonderful. Even though the hotel is now due for an update and in the process of doing so we heard no noise and found our rooms to be large with lovely king size comfortable beds and other than not having an iron there was nothing we needed.
Wi Fi was great no problems at all, breakfast in restaurant was perfect, relaxing and plentiful.
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone staying in beautiful Nice it is so central. The walks along the promenade were gorgeous and the restaurants behind the hotel in the old part of town were plentiful and great.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the inner courtyard, we found it to be very quiet. Would have loved a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediapalais, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée after your Mediterranean cruise. We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you especially enjoyed the quality of our service, the comfort of your room and your relaxing and flavorful breakfast.

Indeed, our hotel is ideally located on the Promenade des Anglais, just a few steps away from the old town and the shopping area.

We thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back very soon to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée during your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,

Floriane Malignon
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved our stay at this hotel. It is in the middle of the Promenade des Anglais in Nice in the best part of the town (as far as hotels go). Right on the waterfront of Nice.

This seems to be one of the nicest hotels as well--there were high roller cars sitting out front the whole time.

This is basically a U-shaped bulding with rooms on higher floors. Check in is on the ground floor. The Terrace with Pool and Restaurant is on a higher floor (3rd if I remember correctly). The terrace has a gorgeous view. The pool is clean and very nice as well (with an indoor and outdoor portion). There are computers in the "business center" on the ground floor next to the elevators. There was a mac and a pc when we were there. We never had breakfast at the hotel because there were inexpensive options outside the hotel. I think the cost for the buffet was 10-20 euros.

The staff is incredibly friendly! They really took care of us.

Our room was on the back of the back building with a view of the mountains. The windows open up to a good sized patio. The bathroom had a separate room for the toilet and for the shower/bath/vanity. TV had several channels with some british news channels in english and several other channels in french, spanish, italian, and arabic. I believe there was water bottles provided daily. The king beds were large and comfortable (from an American perpsective). The rooms look stellar as far as design goes.

I believe that if you'd like an ocean view from the room, you'd need to reserve one of few rooms on the corners which are all suites. FYI

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediapalais, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on Trip Advisor following to your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and more especially the comfort of your room, our pool area and the panoramic sea view from our terrace, and the professionalism of our team.

Concerning our breakfast, with more than 40 items, all freshly prepared every morning, we offer an American buffet breakfast combining international standards with local products at the daily rate of €28 per person. We also have Sea View rooms on every floor that are not necessarily suites, you can find the pictures and the detailed description of our rooms on our website for your future reference.

We sincerely thank you for your recommendation. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée for your future stays in Nice.

Best regards,

Floriane Malignon
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Prime location along the Promenade des Anglais, this is a lovely hotel just 10 minutes from the airport. Bedrooms are very roomy and comfortable and the service from the staff is excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Nice

Room Tip: Any of the sea view rooms overlooking the central pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediapalais, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on Trip Advisor concerning your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you enjoyed your comfortable bedrooms and our excellent quality of service.

Our hotel is located on the prestigious Promenade des Anglais and has a convenient location as we are close from the airport and train station.

We sincerely thank you for your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée for your future stays on the French Riviera.

Best regards,

Floriane Malignon
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel back in July 2013. I am glad I chose this hotel for my trip to Nice. Loved the pool area, food, service and its prime location. I cant fault this hotel on anything. I highly recommend, especially if you can score a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediapalais, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée in July 2013.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are very happy that you enjoyed the pool area, your dining experience and our central location. As you noticed, we are conveniently located on the famous Promenade des Anglais just a few steps away from the old town and the shopping area.

We sincerely thank you for your recommendation. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée for your future stays in Nice.

Best regards,

Floriane Malignon
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Impressive hotel right on the Promenade des Anglais with high quality service standards, well appointed rooms, professional concierge service. We enjoyed our stay in enormous suite with views to the Mediterranean sea and inner hotel courtyard. Balcony facing inner courtyard with the pool needs more soundproofing as in the morning the sound of traffic penetrates the room.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediapalais, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on Trip Advisor further to your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

It was a pleasure to welcome you in our beautiful and impressive 5* hotel and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the high quality of our service as well the professionalism of our Concierge.

We are also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your large suite with its view on our terrace and the Mediterranean Sea. Concerning the noise, you may here the traffic in the morning from your balcony, but as our hotel has double-glazed windows, you do not hear any noise when you are inside the room.

We sincerely thank you for your recommendation. It will be a pleasure to welcome you to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée for your future stays in Nice.

Best regards,

Floriane Malignon
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Address: 13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#1 Business Hotel in Nice
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#2 Family Hotel in Nice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel Nice
Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel
Palais De La Mediterranee Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.