We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agreed. Not a 5-star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 212 hotels in Nice
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Agreed. Not a 5-star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed her for our 5th year wedding Anniversary (which by the way was not acknowledged at all , even though we made a note in our reservation) at the end of August for 10 days. The hotel was apparently sold out during our stay and the first room we received had a strong pet odor. We were told by the front desk that dogs are allowed in most rooms (which I guess was our case) but that there was nothing they could do until later on in the week when more rooms became available. Mind you, we are Hyatt Platinum members which didn't make a bit of difference. The room was a corner room on the 8th floor (you can get a glimpse of the ocean if you stick your head out of the balcony and look right). Otherwise, we were facing the city/mountain views. Finally, at the end of the week, Pedro (super Manager and extremely friendly gentleman) personally handled our transfer and we were given a much better (rennovated room) on the same floor with direct Column views (in front of the ocean there are tall columns that obstruct the water). We were much happier than the stinky, dirty room we came from .

Breakfast is the same buffet over and over again, but it includes lots of items, e.g. omelletes made to order, lots of pastries, cold cuts, yogurt, fruit, fresh-squeezed juice, etc.

The location is fantastic. My only suggestion is if you can afford it, splurge for a deluxe , sea view on lower floors (the higher the floor, the more obstruction). So floors 4-6 seemed to be the best.

If you want help with Concierge, ask for Vincent. He is by far the best staff member.

Room Tip: Sea View on floors 4-6 Or the 9th floor (highest). If you can splurge on a suite, that's even be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to welcome you for your wedding anniversary at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and the service of our Head Concierge Vincent.

We are absolutely sorry for the inconveniences you experienced with your fist room and with the fact we never mentionned your wedding anniversary during your stay: please be assured that we paid all our attention to your comfort and satisfaction and that we proposed you to change your room as soon as it was possible regarding the occupation of the Hotel.

We thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée during your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    867
    343
    93
    41
    24
See reviews for
197
716
60
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for 5 nights at the beginning of September.

Firstly I will start with the mistakes. My partner is serverely allergic to nuts. I advised the hotel of this. We were brought nuts with our room service. We advised them again and we were given them with our ice cream at dinner the next day.

There was obviously a miscommunication at the kitchen. The hotel handled my complaint very well. 100 euros was deducted from our room bill. Countless apologies were made. 150 euro dinner was on the house. And we were offered a 150 euro a nice discount on our next stay.

The food is great the location is fantastic and the service is phenomenal.

In particular, Lorence (deputy manager) and Pierrick (restaurant staff)

I have stayed at many many hotels and I think this is the best service I have recieved. I have never felt so comfortable and at home at a hotel.

Will definitley return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to welcome you at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée and that is a pleasure to hear that you particularly enjoyed our central location and the quality of our service, and that you felt at home here. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience your experienced and for the mistakes regarding the allergy of your partner. We renew our most sincere apologies.

We thank your for your feedback and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the hotel in August. The location is very good and a 5-minute walk to the Old Town. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The check-in process was smooth and easy. We reserved a deluxe sea-view room. It was on the 7th floor with a small terrace. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed. Our room had a separate shower and tub, Anouk Goutal bath products (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, body wash), a safe, robe and slippers. The 4-star rating is for the general room and hotel decor and not any specific issue with our stay or the nice staff. The staff member at check-in noticed it was my birthday, and when we returned to the hotel after being out for the day, a delicious chocolate cake was waiting!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, following to your summer stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay for the occasion of your birthday and that you enjoyed our central location and service.

We thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days on August 23rd. We travelled there with our 3 kids age 15, 13 and 10. We reserved 2 rooms on a high floor and requested that they be connecting. Upon check-in we were told that they have 2 rooms for us, but that they are 2 different floors. I explained to them that I called the hotel twice a month before we arrived to make sure that they had our connecting room request in their computer, and I was told yes you will have connecting rooms both times. We told them that 2 rooms on separate floors were unacceptable because we did not want our kids wandering the halls to come to our room if they needed us and that our suitcases were all packed with everyones clothing in all the suitcases together because we assumed we would have the connecting rooms. Pedro the front desk manager stepped in and apologized and said that if we take the separate rooms we can switch to the connecting rooms when they become available, we said that would not work. I asked if they had any family suites,he said there was one available and he showed it to us. It was a very large bedroom with king bed and a huge living room with 2 massive balconies, (however the view of the ocean and hills was a bit obstructed because they constructed the hotel with a huge wall the blocks some of the ocean view.) Pedro called housekeeping to ask if they could set up beds in the living room for the kids as the couch that was in the living room They set up the living room and it was still quite roomy. He also included breakfast for us for our stay. The breakfast was delicious. The kids enjoyed the pool which is right near the outdoor breakfast restaurant. We had to arrange with concierge to use the private beach across the street and that cost us 25 Euros per person (kids too!). The beach was very nice even with the rock dance that everyone does to get in the water without hurting their feet. We were able to sleep with the balcony doors open as the weather was beautiful. The train station that we took to Monte Carlo was a very short walk from the hotel. The great market Cours Selaya which is a fruit/flower market by day and tons of restaurants by night was about a 12 minute walk from the hotel. The best was Rue De France which is a street located around the block from the hotel and is a pedestrian walkway of cafes and restaurants and boutiques. We ate dinner there almost every night. I would have given this hotel a rating of excellent if did not have the problem with the connecting rooms. Pedro, the front desk manager was very nice and professional and went over and beyond to make sure we were happy and the housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful as well. The concierge were very helpful in planning our days. All in all we would return to this hotel even though it is pricey but it is a great location, has a nice pool and the staff is very nice.

Room Tip: If you make a special request after you book your room, make sure you write down the name of who you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, following to your family stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are very pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay, more especially our central location, our indoor and outdoor swimming pool and our staff. I will share your feedback with our Concierges, our Housekeeping and Pedro our Front Office Manager. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your connecting rooms: please be assured that we paid all our attention to your comfort and satisfaction.

We thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back very soon at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

very good location, clean rooms and attentive staff. Smooth check in and check out service. The only thing that would need improvement is the water pressure in the shower (in my room the pressure was very weak and it was hard to regulate the water temperature).
I would recommend this hotel and will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to welcome you at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée and that is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our central location and attentive staff. Concerning the water pressure in your shower, we thank you for your feedback: please be assured that we pay all our attention to your comment as your comfort is our main preoccupation.

We thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back very soon at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks great on the web and the frontage and location are impressivie BUT our room cost €400 and was very tired and dirty. Poorly cleaned each day, stained carpets and god knows what in the shower and bathroom. VERY disappointing. The hotel - or at least the room are no where near 5 star!!! When I complained all I was offered was a paid upgrade..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, following to your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are absolutely sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the quality and cleanliness of your room. Please be assured that in case a problem is identified during the stay of our guests, our Guest Relations Managers are informed and pay all their attention to find a solution immediately. Concerning an upgrade in sea view, there is a supplement to pay regarding the view which is different and the fact that these rooms are newly renovated.

We renew you our most sincere apologies.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

On my stay at the hotel the whole staff were amazing specially the conceirge and mrs lorence abd tge whole ppl wants to serve all guest. And the location is more than perfect. I cant forget to tell u about the best rest that it is around the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following to your summer stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and more especially our professional staff and central location. Please be assured that your comfort and satisfaction are our main preoccupations.

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back very soon at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Address: 13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#1 Business Hotel in Nice
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#2 Family Hotel in Nice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Splendia, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel Nice
Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel
Palais De La Mediterranee Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.