We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 Star Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #5 of 212 Hotels in Nice
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not a 5 Star Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Plain and simple, this is a nice hotel. But not luxurious. Not fantastic. Not 5 star. Certainly not on a par with George V or Plaza Athenee or Shangri-La or Mandarine Oriental in Paris. Their so called renovated rooms were nice - but not fantastic. Still no chest of drawers to unpack clothes. The bathrooms are subpar. Only one sink. A plastic shower. Slight musty odour. Definitely not terrible. But when is 'not terrible' an acceptable adjective for a 5 star €600++ [$850 Cnd) property? Great location. Very nice breakfast. Good coffee. Amazing location. Professional concierge. Just not 5 star!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following to your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location, our breakfast with sea view and the service of our Concierges. Nevertheless, we are absolutely sorry to learn about your disappointment regarding our renovated rooms, marble bathrooms and the room rate during the high season. We pay all our attention to your feedback: please be assured that your comfort and satisfaction are our main preoccupations.

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    364
    97
    42
    25
See reviews for
219
749
63
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here last year in March. Stayed in one of the deluxe suites and was very pleased. Impressive, well-appointed suite with a great view of the sea. Room had nice extras such as a complimentary bottle of wine and macarons waiting for us in our room upon arrival, a Nespresso machine, and a complimentary vanity kit in the bathroom . The suite was large and furnishings were plush and tasteful. The hotel is perfectly located – by the beach and close to the open market. Despite all of this, I still have a hard time giving this a 5 star rating. In my book, a 5 star hotel needs to have that little something extra that makes the experience truly memorable. This hotel, while perfectly lovely and a worthwhile stay, lacked that something extra for me. Perhaps it was the service --- while warm, it lacked the personal charm needed to make me feel totally welcomed with open arms. The common areas and facilities of the hotel are nice, but not exceptional. Regardless, I can easily recommend this hotel to others and would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and recommendation.

We were very pleased to welcome you at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée and that is a pleasure to hear that you particularly loved our Sea View suite.

We are absolutely sorry to learn that something extra is lacking according to you. Please be assured that we pay all our attention to your comment and that we hope to welcome you back very soon for a memorable and perfect stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Arrived around 5pm at the hotel and checked in immediately. We had two rooms booked. When we had checked into our rooms we were given 2 rooms on different floors - one on the 6th floor and the other on the 8th floor. We asked for this to be changed so we could be on the same floor. Unfortunately, due to us late checking in, most of the rooms were taken up! We left our luggage with the receptionist as the concierge would bring these to our rooms. I had told the receptionist specifically, which suitcases were to go to what room. Once the concierge brought our suitcases to us I had noticed our bags were muddled up! I did not bother calling to get this sorted out and just sorted out the cases myself! However, our room on the 8th floor was a bit further away compared to the 6th floor which was right outside the elevator!

8th Floor -Twin room - Was very spacious, which we were extremely satisfied with! We even had an outdoor balcony. Perfect! The bathroom was spacious and consisted of a shower, bathtub with shower and basin. The only thing which put me off was the toilet was in a seperate room on it's own which does not make sense! There was not even a basin! It just did not make sense! Beds were very comfortable!

6th Floor - Not as spacious as the 8th floor and there was no shower on it's own!

Generally, would like to say the housekeeping in this hotel was superb! Even in the evening time the room was re-cleaned with fresh towels and rubbish emptied! Totally loved the cleanliness -hardly any hotels do 2 cleans in one day! Enjoyed our sweet treat surprises we were left in the evening from the housekeeper, nice treat.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel had it's own casino next door, which was great for entertainment and was the busiest for the Salsa dancing in the evening! Perfect and close to shopping and restaurants! Fantastic being so central even the train station was 15 minutes walk from behind our hotel on the Rue Congrees, which was great for day trips to Monaco and Cannes.

We had the buffet breakfast one evening and sat indoors in the AC. We felt there was not many staff to help with getting tea refills etc compared to outdoors. There was not much selection for the buffet breakfast and I would not say it's value for money.

Overall, excellent for location and heart of the city centre. Perfect for day trips as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, following to your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Summer stay and more especially our central location which is perfect to discover the city of Nice and the French Riviera from Cannes to Monaco, and our staff. Please be assured that we are absolutely sorry to learn that your bags were muddled up between your two rooms, we pay all our attention to your feedback.

We sincerely thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back very soon during your future stay in France and on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hyatt just bought this hotel so deff to me not a true hyatt , at first they gave us a corner room that was dirty and smelly I was in shock since I do stay at hyatt's in different parts of the world , they were very accommodating in changing the room kept apologizing and gave us the room with a sea view , room was clean. And nice not the best but nice , we stayed 5 days the Room service was good I ordered breakfast and dinner one night , perfectly located to everything the beach was across the street and around the corner from all the shops and Resturant's .

Room Tip: Deff get sea view or higher everything else is garbage , needs a lot of renovations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, following to your summer stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are very pleased to hear that you particularly enjoyed our central location facing the sea. Indeed, we are a Hyatt hotel since April 30th. We are working in achieving all the Hyatt standards and in improving the quality of our service, facilities and amenities in order to answer to your expectations. Please be assured that your comfort and satisfaction are our main preoccupations. Regarding the renovations, all our partial and sea view rooms, suites and some rooms with city view have been renovated in 2012. We thank you for your comment and will pay all our attention to your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back very soon during your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is my first time in Nice, what a wonderful experience I had. The hotel was nice in general, there are certain staffs will do their utmost to ensure your stay is comfortable, there are certain staff are there just to get their salary. (I am talking from experience, as I have been working in 5* hotels in Asia and London for nearly 20 years). The room I stayed was nice and comfortable, but looked a bit “old fashion” - #518). I believe the photos on their website are newly refurbished. That was not an issue, as I don’t think guests will stay in their rooms all the time in resort hotels. Breakfast was delightful, one of the staff even remember my drinks – soy latte. How many coffees he makes a day…, I don’t know! But he certainly made my day. The concierge staffs were good, one particular gentleman was extremely helpful (I am so sorry, but I didn't get his name. Perhaps Beir – the tallest Frenchman at the desk). The swimming pool was a bit odd design, the sofa/sunbathing area was a bit small. Hence, I only went there once during my one week stay, and the rest of the trip went to the beach (even though it was full of pebble and not really comfortable when you lay down). One last thing, you cannot get any better location then this hotel. All in all, I would certainly recommend my friends to stay there. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to welcome you and that is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée and that you particularly enjoyed our central location, sea view and the service of our Concierge Brice.

Concerning your room with city view, indeed some of them have been newly refurbished, we hope the other will be renovated soon.

We thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back very soon for your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The facade of this hotel is an outstanding piece of flamboyant architecture and echoes the long-lost luxury of the 20's and 30's. Internally, the hotel is cool, and immaculate, Our room was a little cramped as our 16 year old daughter was sharing with us. However, the large balcony with views over the city and the distant hills, more than made up for this.
Breakfast was of the highest standard, which we have learned to expect from the Hyatt brand, though the one evening meal that we had in the hotel disappointed my husband.
The staff were unfailingly helpful and courteous and deserve the highest praise. As the weather was more suitable to sight-seeing than lying on the beach, we decided to explore Nice thoroughly. The advice we received from personnel in the conciergerie was invaluable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, following to your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our historical facade and location, sea view breakfast and the service of our Concierges. We are absolutely sorry to learn about your disappointment regarding your dinner and the service at our restaurant. Please be assured that we pay all our attention to your feedback and that I will share your comment with our F&B manager: your comfort and satisfaction are our main preoccupations.

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée during your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is the closest to American standards and it was the best I could find in Niece for a price I could afford. It is modern, clean, good amenities, nice bar/lounge and good service. The room was really big when compared with the size of regular hotels in Europe. Tip: if you need late check out double check a few times with registration to make sure it is in their system. I asked for late check out but got a phone call next day at noon asking us to leave. It was surprising and inconvenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to welcome you at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée and that is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and more especially our spacious rooms, our amenities and quality of service. Concerning late check-out, we invite you to contact our Reception during your stay in order to confirm if that is possible.

We thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back very soon at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Address: 13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#1 Business Hotel in Nice
#2 Family Hotel in Nice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#5 Spa Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel Nice
Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel
Palais De La Mediterranee Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.