We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 212 Hotels in Nice
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The facade of this hotel is an outstanding piece of flamboyant architecture and echoes the long-lost luxury of the 20's and 30's. Internally, the hotel is cool, and immaculate, Our room was a little cramped as our 16 year old daughter was sharing with us. However, the large balcony with views over the city and the distant hills, more than made up for this.
Breakfast was of the highest standard, which we have learned to expect from the Hyatt brand, though the one evening meal that we had in the hotel disappointed my husband.
The staff were unfailingly helpful and courteous and deserve the highest praise. As the weather was more suitable to sight-seeing than lying on the beach, we decided to explore Nice thoroughly. The advice we received from personnel in the conciergerie was invaluable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, following to your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our historical facade and location, sea view breakfast and the service of our Concierges. We are absolutely sorry to learn about your disappointment regarding your dinner and the service at our restaurant. Please be assured that we pay all our attention to your feedback and that I will share your comment with our F&B manager: your comfort and satisfaction are our main preoccupations.

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée during your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    383
    102
    43
    26
See reviews for
231
781
65
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is the closest to American standards and it was the best I could find in Niece for a price I could afford. It is modern, clean, good amenities, nice bar/lounge and good service. The room was really big when compared with the size of regular hotels in Europe. Tip: if you need late check out double check a few times with registration to make sure it is in their system. I asked for late check out but got a phone call next day at noon asking us to leave. It was surprising and inconvenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to welcome you at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée and that is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and more especially our spacious rooms, our amenities and quality of service. Concerning late check-out, we invite you to contact our Reception during your stay in order to confirm if that is possible.

We thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back very soon at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Luxurious and chic hotel, and full of kind and apparently unjudgmental staff. Staff in the restaurant were really excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Went out of their way to make the experience memorable and get what the guest really wanted. Certainly recommend it for a special occasion as it is very pricy! Worth paying for the sea view rooms if you can get one.

Architecture is hard to grasp until you've been here. Facade is original and then the modern hotel is built on three sides behind it giving enormous frames to the sea view. The base of the courtyard is effectively on the third floor where the pool and restaurant are located. The tables overlooking the sea are really lovely, and add to the ambience, which, as well as being able to stroll along the promenade des anglais from this hotel, make the location second to none. Thank you to all the restaurant staff who made our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: Save up for sea view! Corner rooms with so called restricted sea view are good value as balcony has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, following to your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

We are very pleased to hear about your satisfaction, especially concerning our staff and our quality of service at our Restaurant Terrace Le 3e. Indeed, the sea view from our terrace is absolutely unique. Please be assured that your comfort and satisfaction are our main preoccupations.

We hope to welcome you back very soon at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée and thank you for your recommendation.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We just returned from a European vacation and this was one of our finest hotels! It was right across from the beach, pebbly but nice. We had good service from the front desk staff and the concierge. The pool was lovely we had drinks there one day and received complimentary olives, toast with tomato jam. THe view is great. They tried to charge us an extra $100 plus euros because I had my teenager with me but because their main office had booked at the lower price they ignored the extra charge. The taxi driver didn't know where it was because it was called Hotel mediterranean or something like that before, and charged an exorbitant rate to come from the train all of a 1.0 km. trip, 20 euro. THe beach chairs are an extra 25 euros a day but they are nice. Beds were really comfy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée and more especially our staff, central location and swimming pool. Concerning the taxis, we thank you for your feedback: please be assured that they should know us as Hotel Palais de la Méditerranée, which was our name before we became a Hyatt Hotel.

We thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back very soon at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to France and we had high expectations after seeing all of the pictures and reading other reviews. This hotel is in a great location and the concierges (specifically Vincent and Bryce) helped us figure out where to go and what to see. Everyone was very friendly and didn't seem to mind that we spoke very little French. The breakfast each morning was outstanding too. This hotel exceeded our expectations in every way and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. That is a pleasure to hear about your satisfaction, especially concerning our quality of service, our Concierges and and our breakfast with sea view. We are very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

We thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back very soon at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked this hotel primarily for the location, but also because it had a pool - the latter was great, albeit much smaller than it looks on the hotel's website. The hotel is in a great position on the Promenade des Anglais - this particularly proved the case as it was the Nice leg of the Tour de France and we had prime viewing from the balcony of the bar/restaurant. Our room was a bit of a let down - again, nothing like those shown on the website. It faced the rear of the hotel, could have done with a refurb and was pretty small for a double. It was not good value for money, given our nightly rate. Housekeeping was efficient and prompt and the room was certainly cleaned well. Breakfast was good - nice buffet with a wide variety of choices. This hotel is a good base for touring the area - bus stop just outside for St Paul de Vence, the airport etc. We would return when next in Nice, but would ensure we got a better room next time - hotel was fully booked during this visit, so there was no opportunity to switch to an alternative room. Great location, good service, nice pool area and good breakfast - good base for Nice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée, especially thank to our central location, our quality of service and breakfast with sea view. We are absolutely sorry to hear about your disappointment concerning your room with city view: our rooms with city view have been renovated for a small part, we hope all the rooms will be renovated next year. Please be assured that your comfort and satisfaction are our main preoccupations.

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back very soon at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée for your future stay in Nice.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in June and I cannot think of anything to criticize. It is a haven of peace on the very crowded Promenade des Anglais (more crowded I assume than usual due to the lead up to the Iron man races) and close by centre. We booked a room high up at the back facing the city and mountains which I would highly recommend. This cheaper room was large, quiet and had a good sized balcony and a very comfortable king sized bed. Life in the hotel revolves round the chummy third floor split indoor/outdoor pool, and surrounding terraces featured in most of the shots. Breakfast and other meals can be taken in and around this open area which has views out to the sea. The very extensive buffet breakfast was outstanding. All the staff were friendly and obliging but a special mention must go to concierge Vincent who dealt calmly and efficiently with our two emergencies, a broken tooth and a broken car ensuring that the stay was still a joy. Arriving by car is a bit of an issue because there is little or no space out front to unload and the hotel doesn't have it's own car park. It is best to go direct to the separate public car park which is basically underneath the hotel and the concierge desk can arrange the transport of cases to and from the car. done this way it is quite straightforward.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and high up are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing Communication Manager at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to welcome you at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée during your 3 nights stay in June. Your comfort and satisfaction are our main preoccupations: that is a real pleasure to hear that you had an excellent stay and that you particularly enjoyed your Deluxe King room, our restaurant and terrace with sea view, and the service of our Concierge Vincent.

Concerning the parking, indeed there is the public parking “Palais de la Méditerranée” located under the hotel (preferential daily rate at €30 per car) and our Concierges and Valets arrange the parking for you.

We sincerely thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Méditerranée for your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Address: 13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nice
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#2 Family Hotel in Nice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel Nice
Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel
Palais De La Mediterranee Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.