We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 211 Hotels in Nice
san ramon, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel with nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I recently stayed for 5 days and was truly impressed with the quality of the room and the view of the mediterranean. Upon arrival, they automatically upgraded us from partial sea to full sea view. Furthermore, by mistake we parked in an underground residential garage thinking it was the hotel's upon our arrival, and could not get the car out. With prompt attention, the front desk and valet took the keys and arranged getting the car out of the locked parking garage, and brought up all of our luggage with 30 minutes. The concierge was attentive and helped me plan a super itienerary for all my days, always in touch and fine tuning the program as needed. The location is good too. We walked to old town daily, and we enjoyed the beach club across from the hotel. I would definitely return one day, even if it was to take in the scent of the beautiful blooming flowers in the lobby. Best smell ever.

Room Tip: partial view vs. full sea view are all good rooms. If they do not upgrade you for the same rate, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing coordinator at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time you took to express your satisfaction concerning your stay at the Palais de la Mediterranee on TripAdvisor.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you and we are very pleased to know that we answered to your expectations especially in terms of service. We will share you review with all of our team members, our Concierges, valets and front desk.

We hope to welcome you for your future stay in Nice, the occasion to discover the new floral and perfumed creations in our lobby!

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    385
    106
    43
    26
See reviews for
232
783
65
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at the Palais de Mediterranean and had a great short break with fantastic October weather.
The hotel is in a prestige position within walking distance of the Old Town and our room overlooked the sea
The room was very comfortable with a sunny balcony and luxury bathroom all up to a good standard

My slight disappointment was the breakfast service which was disorganised on the first morning (but did improve on the other 2 days) The breakfast food buffet was very good quality but could have been displayed much better as you could miss what was on offer. I loved the apple cake but only spotted it after my husband pointed it out.
My other disappointment was the size and arrangement of the swimming pool it was quite small and had strange changing /showering arrangements I therefore only used it once.

However despite the two niggles we found the staff helpful and friendly ,the hotel comfortable and in a fantastic position to enjoy Nice .
I particularly enjoyed eating breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Bay of Angels
A very memorable start to the day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing coordinator at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor concerning your stay at the Palais de la Mediterranee, and more especially for your recommendation concerning our perfect location and the comfort our rooms.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the service of the breakfast on the first day. We watch permanently the improvement of our quality of service. Indeed, in this very sunny October, taking the breakfast on our sea view terrace is a memorable moment.

Concerning our indoor and outdoor swimming pool heated all year long with 20m in its largest diagonal, it is from far the largest on the Promenade des Anglais, with a very orginial shape and located at the third floor of our property.

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you for your future stay at the Palais de la Mediterranee.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

First off, hotels in Nice are expensive. My wife and I stayed 7 nights in Nice recently and tried the "budget" route the first 3 nights. That first hotel was ranked #20 on TA at the time and it was not a good fit for us. (see my other reviews for a description of our experiences there). We opted to splurge a bit on the Palace for the last 4 nights and were much happier in this hotel.

Background: Married couple with no kids who have traveled extensively throughout Europe, the Caribbean, and North America. We typically stay in 4* hotels in US and utilize discounts, frequent flyer programs, etc. We are budget conscious but do splurge once in a while.

Details:
Location (*****) - If you are looking for a hotel on the Promenade this is an ideal choice. Located mere feet from the ocean and a short 5 minute walk down to the Old Town or Place Messina, it's also centrally located enough to not need the buses or taxis except for airport, train, or the museums.

Facilities (*****) - Inside the hotel is a fitness facility, indoor/outdoor pool, sauna, valet parking, concierge, restaurant/bar. It's got pretty much all the trappings you'd expect from a nice hotel and they are all renovated and in good repair.

Rooms (*****) / (****) - We spent the first 3 nights in a deluxe room and the final night in a Superior room. The 5* rating applies to the deluxe room and the 4* to the superior room. The bed linens were much nicer in the deluxe room and I enjoyed the night's sleep quite a bit more in that room. The superior room wasn't bad was just a notch below the deluxe (also about 100 Euro less).

Bathroom (*****) (****) - Again, deluxe gets the 5* due to a larger shower with multiple jets, a slightly larger bathtub, and dual sinks. The superior had a separate shower, bath, and the toilet was in a room separate from the rest of the bath, which I always prefer.

View (*****) - The views of both rooms were great. We had sea views from both rooms and they both overlooked the pool. The hotel is built basically like a horseshoe with the rooms clustered around a centrally located terrace/pool combo. It's a nice layout.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the Palace and thought it was an ideal spot to spend 4 nights in Nice. Keep in mind: You get what you pay for. This is a nice place, they demand top $ for their rooms, but they do provide excellent service for your money.

If ever in NIce, France again I would not hesitate to stay here for the trip.

Travel tips:
-- Signed up on their website for the Concord membership and we received free breakfast each night of our stay (typically 30 EUR/pp). If you don't get the breakfast for free, opt out of it and save your money.

-- Parking is available in the garage located directly behind the hotel (Rue de France). It's about 25 EUR a day as far as I could tell since it wasn't clearly marked.

-- Restaurants in this area are not the best and seem to be tailored to tourists. Stick to breakfast/lunch around the hotel and take the short 5 minute walk to Old Town for the best meals.

-- The beach club that is directly in front of the hotel is not recommended. Overpriced and not worth the money you spend there.

Room Tip: If money is not a concern opt for the deluxe rooms or the suites (really expensive). They are worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing coordinator at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your valuable feedback following to your stay in our property on TripAdvisor and for your recommendation. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, our perfect location, services and facilities.

That was a real pleasure to welcome you and we hope we will get the chance to welcome you for your future stay in Nice, France.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel- full of luxury.
We stayed in a superior room that was just lovely... Great facilities- amazing pool, gym and EXCELLENT buffet breakfast, better than any we've come across!
We had a mix-up with the booking to begin with but were assisted by the very helpful Kay at reception, who deserves a special mention. Very expensive but worth it for the facilities an location....
If you are thinking about this hotel- do it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing coordinator at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and written review on TripAdvisor. That was a real pleasure to welcome you and we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property.

Indeed, our breakfast buffet is the best way to start your day at the Palais de la Mediterranee, especially if you can take your breakfast on our sea view Terrace. We will share your feedback with all of our team members, and especially with Kay our receptionnist.

We trully thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you for your future stay on the French Riviera.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

While I understand that check-in is at 3:00 and they cannot guarantee any rooms for guests who arrive before then, this one star is for the poor attitude of the staff.

We arrived around ten in the morning due to an early and unchangeable flight. They charged our credit cards and signed us in, but as the rooms were not yet available, we left our baggage at the desk and went out for breakfast and a stroll. We returned to the hotel at 11:30 and proceeded to wait in the lobby.

I was with my 60-year-old parents, older brother, and 5 1/2 months pregnant sister-in-law and we just sat, virtually ignored by the hotel staff who neither inquired after us or paid us any attention.

I approached the desk once around noon and was told that one of our rooms had been checked-out of by the previous guests and was already in the process of being cleaned.

I went back again a full hour later, and I said, "I know that our rooms aren't ready yet, but I was hoping I could get an approximate time? My sister-in-law is pregnant and very uncomfortable on the lobby couches."

The two women behind the counter proceeded to be exceedingly unhelpful, borderlining on rude. One even said rather curtly, "We see you sitting there. No, we haven't forgotten you." And "No, we can't give you an exact time." Which wasn't what I was even asking, as I just wanted an approximation.

Given that this is a "5 star" hotel, I definitely expected better service, better attitudes, and a little more accommodation for pregnant and older guests.

So, one star, for your lack of consideration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing coordinator at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We truly thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are absolutely sorry to learn that we did not answer to your expectations during your stay. Indeed, the availability of the rooms is guaranteed from 15.00, we do our best so that you can have access to your rooms as soon as possible. Our Desk pay attention with the Housekeeping to the preparation of your rooms.
Then, following to researches with our Front Office Manager, the first room was ready and given to you at 14:02, the second one at 14:24. Our receptionist Alina watched to reassure you and informed you about an approximate time.
We perfectly understand that your situation was not very comfortable. To watch your satisfaction and well-being, we gracefully upgraded you in a partial sea view room. We hope this compensation demonstrates you in which measure we grant the biggest importance for your consideration.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you for your future stay at the Palais de la Mediterranee.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Unfortunately off to poor start with booking problem which required escalation to Director level before resolved so recommend particular care if booking & to follow-up on all mails etc if in any doubt.

That said, assurance of no issue to spoil our anniversary trip was supported by friendly welcome from Manager & allocation of best situated, renovated room of class we'd booked & to accompany champagne ordered, a few canapés & small celebration cake (which it seems is norm for occasions Le Palais is made aware of - nice touch)

Staff were all very pleasant & always helpful and overall this a nice hotel in a good location but it just really isn't true 5* quality & as such it is very overpriced.

Hotel lacks finesse of real 5* with amenities which just fall short on luxury e.g.
> nice pool but rather more compact than web suggests with very tight side by side sun loungers & hamman/sauna strangely on entirely different floor not in spa area (seems a converted hotel bedroom)
> bar isn't terribly smart or authentic with slow service & midnight closing (presumably due to rooms above as noise from terrace does infiltrate sea-view rooms - even on top floor)
> Public areas & bedrooms bit jaded (even our renovated room) all a bit worn with few chips & dents apparent, rather felt 'end of season'
> breakfast selection decent but just not special in any way & when weather prohibited use of outdoor terrace quite an issue in accommodating everyone

Real let down in this hotel was actually was due to mismanaged expectations; € 500+ per night is pricing of real luxury grand hotels & so the disparity in what we found in reality rather jarred. Whilst we made sure the unfortunate handling of the booking problem didn't taint the weekend regrettably in all likelihood this was only a reflection of the less than 5* standards of Le Palais

Disappointing....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing coordinator at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank for your review on TripAdvisor. We truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at the moment of your reservation. We did everything to make your stay a memorable experience: we hope you appreciated the celebration VIP welcome we reserved you.

Concerning our indoor and outdoor swimming pool heated all year long with 20m in its largest diagonal, it is from far the largest on the Promenade des Anglais.

Concerning our warm Lounge Bar with asian inspirations, time closing depend on the presence or not of our guests. Consequently, it can be later than midnight, everything depends on the activity: in any case, we shall refuse to serve our guests.

Following to your comment concerning the cleaning of our public areas and bedrooms, I will address your concerns, you can be sure that we will pay attention to all of these details.

Finally, concerning our breakfast, in case of good weather, you can take your breakfast on our Terrace. In case of bad weather, our Madison room is the perfect place for breakfast: just renovated in a contemprorary spirit, we invite you to discover this new room on our official website.

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you for your future stay in Nice to ensure you that your second stay will be memorable as 5 stars.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The location was perfect for us. We had a room overlooking the indoor/outdoor fabulous pool.
You can tan by the pool protected from the wind, yet enjoy the sun.
Our room was decorated lovely and quite big for European standards. The entire staff was quite helpful and eager to help in any way. The bathroom was clean and equipped with a nice array of products which were not tiny and easy to use. There were robes, slippers and a good hairdryer in the bathroom. There was a safe in the room as well.
The only regret was that I felt that breakfast should have been included the in price as the rooms were not inexpensive.
I loved the hotel, other than that, will stay there again and hope that they change their view on including breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce M, Marketing coordinator at Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time you took to write a review concerning our property on TripAdvisor. We were very pleased to welcome you and thank you for your positive feedback.

Concerning our breakfast, we pay attention to your comment: from now, by reserving your stay on our official website and by becoming an exclusive member of our Concorde Privilèges Club, we offer you the breakfast.

We invite you to become a member of our Concorde Privileges Club and hope to welcome you for your future stay at the Palais de la Mediterranee.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee

Address: 13 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nice
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#2 Family Hotel in Nice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel Nice
Palais De La Mediterranee Hotel
Palais De La Mediterranee Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.