We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, great location, enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Trocadero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Trocadero to your Saves list
Hotel Trocadero
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Rue de Belgique, 6000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
“great value, great location, enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Can't think of any negative points about our stay in this hotel. Our room was spacious with a lovely bathroom. Most of the staff we're very friendly and happy to help. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - it may not be a hilton but it's cheap and cheerful and suited us perfectly

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    135
    89
    33
    12
See reviews for
45
133
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Upon arrival we were greeted by a charming young lady. Room # 560 was on the top floor, overlooking the rooftops and exceptionally quiet and rather spacious. It featured 2 double beds, so it could have accommodated a family of 4. It had sloping eaves, so if you are taller than 175 cm or 5 ft 8, this could be a problem. The bathroom was immaculate and modern with a type of round glass dry sink and a small shower. It was actually about the size of an airline toilet, with the addition of the shower. This was not a problem for us, but could be for anyone who wears jeans over a size 34 waist. The only negative was the rather sour attitude of the East European night staff person, Victor or something like that. He was definitely not friendly, and not remotely interested to assist us in calling a taxi for the airport. Luckily, the nice young lady began her shift at 8AM, and was very helpful.

We booked through Venere.com and got an excellent deal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

I used trip advisor before booking this hotel. Because it was priced lower than other hotels, we prepared ourselves to "rough it out" in Nice since we are a couple of uni students just travelling around europe. Needless to say we were pleasantly surprised with our room. It was new, clean and extremely quaint. It was a small room with a roof window and the bathroom was impeccably clean. I enjoyed my stay tremendously and the receptionist was extremely helpful. She also spoke English which was a BIG HELP in a place like Nice. We managed to get information about going to Monaco and Cannes and even to the airport from her.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

There are no frills in this hotel. No hairdryer, no shampoo, one English speaking TV channel, but it is great value. Would i go again - absolutely ! Rooms are clean, Air Con is good, and the location is excellent. % min walk from the airport bus, 5 min to train station and 5 min to tram. I paid 64 Euros per night thru booking.com - Very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Found Nice to be a great place to stay and this hotel is in a fantastic location. Only a short walk (15 mins) to the train station to get to Moncao for the match. I can't understand why people would stay in Monaco when Nice is a far more attractive option. The smell and heat from the swimming pool can turn some people off this hotel and the public bar is not the best, but the location makes up for it. Rooms OK, nothing too sepcial, but for the price we paid more than happy

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

My cousin and I enjoyed our 3-days stay at the Hotel Trocadero last month. We were very glad that it was so close to the train station, but still a walking distance from all the shops, restaurants and, more particulary, the beach. The rooms were very small (especially the bathroom!), but very clean and pretty comfortable. The air conditioning worked well and we though that the area was fairly quiet. The staff was also nice enough to help us modify our reservation with no extra cost when we decided to spend the second day in another city and then come back for two other nights in Nice. Bottom line, Trocadero is nothing fancy, but it does the trick!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

I found the hotel quite easly as the bus from the airport stops just around the corner opposite de ville station, The staff were friendly and spoke english well, The room where clean and quite modern and well laid out and had air conditioning if required. The hotel is in an ideal location for all trains, buses & shops which are all within a couple of minutes walk, the back streets near the hotel look a bit seedy but i had no problems and there is a local police station 2 short streets away, For those on a budget there is a kfc & mcdonalds very close on the main shopping boulavard and a selfservice restaurant next to the train station. i stayed there one night originaly but returned here for a further two night stay a week later

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Trocadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trocadero

Address: 7 Rue de Belgique, 6000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Trocadero 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Trocadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trocadero Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Trocadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.