We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa La Tour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa La Tour to your Saves list
Hotel Villa La Tour
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue de la Tour, 06300 Nice, France (Old Town / Vieux Nice)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at The Villa La Tour for a long weekend in June 2012.Its a lovely clean simple hotel.The rooms were adequate for our needs ( a bed,shower & toilet ) The hotel is clean and the staff will bend over backwards to help all guests. They were very friendly and always on hand to direct and inform. Rooms were changed an a regular basis and i cant really say more than that.Its in a fantastic location in the old town and is surrounded my absolute beauty. Stay here if you want to explore Nice,Monaco and the surrounding areas . . . Don't stay here if you want to sit in a hotel room all day watching Television !!!!! ( They have a great TV by the way,with many channels :) )

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    131
    51
    25
    23
See reviews for
29
185
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last year after seeing reviews on trip advisor and fell in love so returned to it again this year. It has charm and character in a good way and yes the stairs are narrow but not that big a deal! We love the location in the old town, staff were very helpful and very friendly they also speak english really well. Rooms are small but charming and we would highly recommend this hotel. Its the perfect hotel for a beach holiday

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a lovely little hotel, situated nicely in the old town of Nice. It was clean and comfortable, and the front desk staff were super friendly and accomodating. I spent 3 nights there, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The breakfast was conveniently located downstairs in the lobby, which was "family" style, or you could dine outside in the front courtyard. There was a good variety of breakfast items, and the price was reasonable. The location was very convenient to the public tram system, within walking distance of old town shopping and dining, and 10 minute walk from beach. There are no elevators, only a narrow stairwell, so you must be fully capable of carrying your luggage up several flights. Loved the reasonably priced accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Villa La Tour for 2 nights in early June. We landed in Nice after our 24 hour flight from Australia and we immediately greeted my the friendly staff at Hotel Villa La Tour. Although our rooms were not ready, we were allowed to leave our luggage while we explored Old Town for a few hours. The hotel itself is conveniently located in the thick of Old Town where everything you need is right at your doorstep. When we were able to check in all three of us were extremely happy with each of our rooms, and although they initially feel small, they are the perfect size as you don't spend hours in your room except to sleep. They were clean and comfortable and in my opinion all you really need. The three of us would like to thank the staff in particular as they were extremely friendly and assisted us whenever they could whether it was translating, recommending places to explore or quickly letting us use their computer. I received a lovely email the morning we departed thanking us for our stay and wishing us the best for our next adventure in the Cinque Terre. Without a doubt I would stay here again, and will recommend the hotel to my friends if they visit Nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Run! run! run! from this place. I don't know why there are so many positive reviews. I came to this hotel late in the evening. I planed to stay here for 2 nights but it was impossible for me - I ran away to another hotel.

If you're still going to this place you should know:
1. In the morning when I woke up I found BIG bug that was in my bed.
2. When i went to shower I found that towels are with somebody's else hairs!!! I asked to change it, but they bring me dirty towels again! For 3d time it was ok.
3. When I told reception in the morning that rooms very dirty and towels were dirty I was told, that I'm 1st person THIS YEAR who complains. And they said that I was telling lies.
4. Hotel stinks: mould, mustiness.
5. Stairs are narrow. it's really a problem to get your luggage upstairs.

Location is nice but everything other is really really bad. It's one of the worst hotel in my life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Oktogo.ru

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Villa La Tour, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madame,
We take good note of your comments and all of our team, we have to say, are very sorry, that you didn't come to see us at reception . All our laundry bed sheets etc. is delivered from a reknowend, professional laundry company. Cleaness is one of our first priorities !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This property is rough-around-the-edges, but, overall, I'd recommend it to those who to experience "Vieux Nice". Loved the quirky ambiance a lot. I imagine they will replace the dubious red carpeting--and red track lighting on the steps--during an off-season in the very near future. Our "junior suite" was cute (very tiny for a family of four...if you have more than three people, I'd probably just book two rooms). The bathroom clean and pretty huge. Good water pressure and temperature--shower only.

The wine/juice welcome was a nice touch and the lobby oozes authentic charm. You feel right at home immediately.

The only quibble I had was the lack of information about parking in the area. When we checked in, we overheard a couple asking about what to do with their car--should they move it to the garage? Was the street metered? Pretty basic stuff. The (very sweet) receptionist's answer: "I don't know. I don't have a car."

We had parked in a garage right across the street and asked if we could leave and return without getting double-charged. She had no idea. I'm sure many clients have cars and ask these same questions. I emailed twice in advance to ask about parking (could we even drive up and park in front of the hotel?), but never received a response. This is an easy remedy--they just need to research a bit and create parking information "sheet" to send out--and give to their (otherwise wonderful) receptionists.

Neghborhood was great and felt safe--lots of fun to walk through on the way to the beach and Cours Saleya. Old Nice is old and a little gritty...that's what we liked about it, but if you're not into that kind of thing, definitely stay in a bigger, more modern place in the newer area. We enjoyed our stay, overall, at the only place to stay within the Vieux Nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is our third stay in the Villa la Tour at the end of holidays in the area to enable easy access to airport buses. It has always been ideal--situated in the rambling streets of the old town and with lovely views over the area from a little rooftop terrace, an ideal place for an evening drink. Rooms are a little small and staircases steep due to the age of the building but beds are comfortable and we had a newly refurbished bathroom. Also our own little balcony overlooking a popular wine bar over the road. It is an easy walk to reach the castle, flower market, beaches etc and many delightful reastaurants. Breakfast looked varied and delicious though we didn't have it ourselves. Staff were as usual charming and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa La Tour

Address: 4 rue de la Tour, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Old Town / Vieux Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa La Tour 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originating from part of an 18th century convent, Hotel Villa La Tour offers the charm of Southern France in an exclusive location. In the heart of the old part of Nice, near the colourful flower market, the port, museums, opera, bistros and shops. Only 10 minutes’ walk to the beach. 17 individually furnished rooms offering modern facilities: shower, WC, hair dryer, telephone with PC attachment, air condition, free wifi connection satellite TV and a personal safe; some with a small balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Tour
La Tour Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa La Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.