We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere! Without a doubt, the worst value for money we have ever stayed in!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa La Malouine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa La Malouine to your Saves list
Hotel Villa La Malouine
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Boulevard Carnot, 06300 Nice, France (Mont Boron)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 211 Hotels in Nice
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere! Without a doubt, the worst value for money we have ever stayed in!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

Although we have stayed in a nimber of hotels, this is the first time we really felt compelled to genuinely advise the people what they are potentially getting themselves into.
We stayed in a standard room (112€/night for 6nights).
Firstly, the owner (Nikolas), insisted on knowing our every plan for the duration of the stay.
Although he appeared to be willing to help, he deliberately did not do so when asked for things such as booking a taxi for the return to the airport.
Towels and bed linen were of very low quality, towels were changed once, (only when we complained), bed linen was not changed at all!
The shower and toilet were a makeshift build on that did not fit with the room plan. These facilities, which were all grouped in a single ~2m square were so small you could not pick the soap up if you dropped it in the shower, or bend down to cup some water from the laventry after brushing your teeth. The toilet screen could not be closed as your legs got in the way while sitting down on the bowl.
Internet, while available at the reception, was randomly switched off (presumably by the owner) in the evenings. Similar shortages occurred with certain power points and hair dryer during the early mornings and late nights, resulting in our mobile phones and cameras failing to charge!

In summary, we whole heartedly suggest you consider another accommodation. This should be declassified as a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    17
    8
    5
    23
See reviews for
5
65
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Pros:
- rooms are clean and quiet
- nice small garden

Cons:
- location: it takes 30 mins walk to reach the beach and the old town (main attractions of Nice)
- lack of amenities in the surrounding: the hotel is located on a big off-the centre road
- price: we paid 340 euros for 3 nights, the breakfast is not included and it costs 8 euros per person (you get a cup of coffee, a croissant and a baguette to share).
- no common rooms, resting areas and internet services
- no hair dryer, shower gels or shampoo provided

All in all, not to be recommended as ration price/quality is poor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

this intimate villa felt so right to us we changed our schedule and stayed for 6 nights. we loved the quiet laid back feel of the old house and its friendly and helpful proprietor, Nicholas. our room was thoughtfully put together with comfort the priority. the open , sunny atmosphere, high ceilings and huge bathroom were a joy. the beautiful sea breeze coming through the window said you were in a very special place. it was a privilege to breakfast in the garden each morning and a great way to greet the day. this terrific little hotel is only a short walk to the old harbor and a great jump off point for enjoying dinner at the harbor in villefranche and points beyond. we'll be back, nicholas.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We were so happy with our short trip to Nice, and especially with this charming little hotel, nestled in a deliciously peaceful corner of Nice, only a stone's throw from the old port and the authentic bustling old town. Tastefully decorated and great value for money. We'll be back...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We chose the hotel after the advice of friends and we were not disapointed.One needs to choose a large altough even the standard rooms are ok .It s quite,ten minutes walk from
the old town.breakfast on the terrace terrific.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Overall we had a very good 3 night stay here. Our host was very helpful with directions and even leant us his map for the day when we went on a road trip. Breakfast was a bit disappointing considering we were charged 8 euros each for it so we would think again on that. It is about a 10minute walk down to the port area and just a further to the old town. It is also very easily accessed by car and parking cost us 7 euro per day in the house's driveway. Overall we had a very good stay here but it was quite expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

In the atmosphere of a family house, with breakfast served in a private garden, clean quiet rooms and friendly staff made my stay in this small secluded hotel very enjoyable. The impression of a country house a few minutes walk from the Port. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa La Malouine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa La Malouine

Address: 62 Boulevard Carnot, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Mont Boron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa La Malouine 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa La Malouine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa La Malouine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.