We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and extremely welcoming staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldstar Resort & Suites

Save Saved
You added Goldstar Resort & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Goldstar Resort & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 212 hotels in Nice
Kolkata
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value and extremely welcoming staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Goldstar was nice hotel cum apartment. The staff was extremely warm and helped us to take our luggage till the room and also gave us the room before check in time. They were warm and nice. The room was huge and spacious. It was in close proximity to the promenade and the supermarket and other marketing area. The only flaw was no carpet in the room and the bed of living area was not at all comfortable.
One can easily take bus to monte Carlo , Monaco, Cannes from the bus stop 59 meters away from the hotel. In short it was a great hotel and a great valu for money eapecially when one is staying with family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    135
    54
    23
    13
See reviews for
112
129
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've booked Goldstar Resort and Suites hotel for its private parking, central location and relatively good reviews on booking.com. It's a slightly weird hotel and rather overpriced for what it represents. The suite consisted of a kitchen, separate dining room, bedroom and a huge bathroom. I'd rather have a better managed space use and a lower price than all these (rather useless) separate rooms. The bathroom design was really unwise. It was wall to ceiling granite clad. The shower area was combined with the vanity+mirror area, so when the water from the shower spread all around, you stood on the slippery (very dangerously slippery!), cold, wet floor to do whatever in front of the mirror. No electrical outlet in the bathroom to dry your hair or shave in front of the mirror. That is one, silly bathroom layout.
The decor was dark and gloomy.
The WiFi practically did not work, so I don't think it's fair to advertise it.
Another huge surprise was the undeground parking. Incredibly steep, narrow and winding ramp makes it tricky to get to the lower level unless you drive a small car or are used to this kind of entryways.
The strongest suit of this hotel is definitely its central location, within walking distance to most attractions. The private parking was good to have, though its difficult drive down, made us unwilling to move the car until the check -out date. There is a pleasant top floor deck with some loungers and a swimming pool. The breakfast selection was average, nothing spectacular and not worth the 20 Euro, but the servers were nice.
To sum it up: an OK hotel in a pretty good location. Way overpriced, though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDNIce, Guest Relations Manager at Goldstar Resort & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for the time you took to review our hotel and share your experience with us.
It always is an disappointing surprise for us to discover that one of our guests did not fully enjoy his time in our Establishment, as we constantly strive for your satisfaction.
Reading your description of the suite, you apparently stay in one of our Consul suites for 2, specially designed to accommodate guests using wheelchairs, hence the open shower, the extra space and the slightly different electric plug disposal.

We really sorry to hear the the decoration was not up to your likings as the use of granite and wood usually appeals to most of our guests.

Concerning the car park, it is true say that it is not the widest ever built, it is simply built according to the european norms.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Hotel's central location and rooftop terrace.
We hope that you keep good memories of your stay in Nice

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Goldstar Hotel - Nice

We had an excellent introduction to the hotel when we checked in. The receptionist was exceptionally friendly and helpful and nothing was a problem for her.
Our room wasn't ready as we had checked in early, so she arranged storage of our bags whilst we went to the restaurant for coffee.
In a very short time she came to collect us to take us to our suite, explaining along the way where things were in the hotel as well as explaining how things worked in our suite.
Our suite was excellent and we couldn't fault it. It lovely and clean,as well as being very modern, spacious, and well suited to our 5 day stay.
The location of this hotel is excellent, being within walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars, buses, and the Promenade Des Anglia.
Breakfast is dear at €20 each, however, there are plenty of restaurants nearby that serve a lovely breakfast at a reasonable cost.
The hotel advertises the Wifi is available throughout the hotel. This appears to be incorrect as we had trouble connecting in our room as well as the reception area. In fact, the only place we managed to get connection was in the Restaurant area. Judging by the complains on Tripadviser re the lack of Wifi connection in this hotel, this appears to be an ongoing problem and the hotel doesn't seem to care about it. Shame on this hotel for not rectifying this ongoing problem, as it is the only negative about this hotel.
Overall, I'd still rate this hotel as the rooms, location and staff are excellent. Would I stay there again..... Yes, definitely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel was clean and i the midle of the city. Between the promaned and the shopping street. All in good Reach. What made this hotel good, vas the suits. They are bigger than most hotel suits, and the have a small Kitchen if you want to Cook something small. The roof top pool was quiet and water was hot. You could get service at the pool:) The only thing getting this hotel a smaller rate is the breakfast. This was not a 20 € breakfast. Not Worth it.

Everything else was good. Service was good - but they never came up to amazing:)

Room Tip: Ask for a suite. best rooms:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I liked this Hotel! I've stayed in Junior Suite, it was spacious, nicely decorated, huge bathroom, very clean. Having kitchen was very nice addition. Also I've been using SPA area: I've been in pool wich is located on the roof, also they have finnish saune + steam sauna. Both were good! Just please note, that it is better to book sauna beforehand and if massage will be done there then sauna area will be closed.
Only one negative thing: It is said that they have jym... it is actually just 1 cardio machine, Power Plate + one machine for some weight excercises. All of them located in SPA area in a small corner. But hotel is located pretty close to Promenad area which is very convinient for jogging

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington,UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Goldstar is in a fantastic location in Nice. Our consul suite was great for the 3 of us ( friends ) with an unusually comfortable pull out bed. The bathroom was lovely and large with a separate toilet - great for our group. There was a very small kitchenette which we mainly used for storing things in the fridge - the only thing I would say is it would have been nicer with more glasses provided. The pool is very small and the sun-beds are packed very closely together. This didn't present a problem to us in mid-September but I don't think it would be somewhere I'd like to be in peak season. All the staff were very friendly and helpful - particularly those that were there in the evenings. It would be nice to have the ability to have a shower prior to leaving if you have used the pool facilities after check-out time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stopped here in Nice and the quality of the rooms was excellent. The pool was inviting for the kids and the breakfast one of the best we had across Europe with very fresh fruit, cereals, hot buffet. Location was central to the items we wanted to see. The front desk was very helpful in organising a transfer to the airport for us at the last minute. Room was a little tight for a family of 4 but it didn't take anything away from comfort. Beach literally 5 minute walk and even less to Restaurants. It was about a 10-15min walk from the man train station as we caught the train down from Paris.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goldstar Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldstar Resort & Suites

Address: 45 Rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#14 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldstar Resort & Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goldstar is a 4-star hotel located in central Nice, just 2 minutes from the Promenade des Anglais. It features a heated swimming pool and a rooftop terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Goldstar Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldstar Resort And Suites
Goldstar Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldstar Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.