We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms of doom on floor 5” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Univers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Univers Hotel to your Saves list
Univers Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Rue de la Liberte, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Rooms of doom on floor 5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a very basic hotel but in a fantastic location for all the best parts of this beautiful city. We had pre booked a standard room with breakfast for 4 nights and arrived late afternoon. I had already been made aware that the top floor rooms were essentially in the attic and were of very poor standard; small, threadbare and with no windows save for a small skylight. Well......this description is over generous compared to the room on floor 5 we had been allocated. We have travelled all over Europe and this was the worst room we had ever been allocated. To cut a long story short we complained and were given a 'proper' standard room on floor 2 which was still basic but clean, comfortable and with a window. Advice - This hotel is ok if you get a standard or superior room but don't be fobbed off with a room on floor 5.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    124
    58
    35
    27
See reviews for
37
110
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Sorry but this was sub standard. A small room with a double & single bed so close together you had to climb over them to move. Reminiscent of fawlty towers. The shower was okay but accommodation inferior to a backpackers. Not recommended. Positive? Good location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed over when the Nice Jazz Festival was on so the town was buzzing. Easy to get to from the Airport, get off at Albert 1ers, walk up to Massena and go in the direction of the luxury shops (follow the tram route). Once inside, really helpful desk staff in particular the bald guy although his name escapes me and Adnan. Bald guy was very funny and told us where to go for cheap breakfast, gave us a map for nice restaurants (Villa D'Este) and advice on the tour associated with the hotel. Once inside the room, found it to be very basic, not the greatest beds, noisy air-con and very THIN walls. No shower curtain, just a thin glass and not enough room to swing a cat (if needed). No refrigerator, but a nice balcony overlooking the shops and the hills. Not noisy at all when the door was closed. Only horrible thing was when there were ants on the bathroom floor! Huge LCD TV - shouldn't they have used the money spent on this for ant killer??!! Powerful hair-dryer though. Very choppy WiFi that you have to go down to reception for the password. My advice is to go to McD's around the corner for faster connection. I really couldn't fault this hotel, it did the job, could have been cleaner (nasty smell when you come out of the elevator upstairs) Avoid the breakfast! you get what you pay for but am sure with a few improvements, they would go higher in their rankings. Oh yes, the tour that they advise to go on. Do it but beware of how long it will be and the driver! Has a strange way of getting people to leave his van! Happy travelling!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you're lucky, you'll get an upgrade - we had an upgrade - no idea what was a standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The room was incredibly small, air conditioning barely worked in first room, so we requested a change. Our sheets were not changed until the 6th night of a 7 night stay, and only after 3 requests for them to be changed. The beds were barely better than cots, with a non spring mattress and no box spring

There was no bath as indicated on lastminute.com, nor was the a safe with notebook plug (it wasn't even large enough for an 8" netbook) also indicated on lastminute.com. The shower was smaller than a porta-potty, and had very little water pressure, coming out as a mist that could barely rinse a cup let alone your whole body. The water temperature of the shower would jump from normal, to burning hot, to very cold.

I have never dreaded showering like i did for these 7 nights!!!!

Only 1 elevator got a little frustrating at times, and a perfume sample/survey seemed to be going on many days, in a sitting area that the elevators open up to, perfume was regularly being sprayed and sniffed by what appeared to be random women from the street, brought inside by the 2 or 3 "sprayers" who recorded answers to a huge list of questions asked to the random women.

THE ONLY GOOD THING WAS the Desk Staff!!!!!!!!!!
They spoke English very well, and were very helpful with directions as well as a great tour company!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a brilliant 3 night stay in Nice. The location of the hotel is excellent - an easy walk to the Promanade des Anglais, a minutes walk to the Place Massena and a nice little 5 minute stroll to the old part of Nice (where all the best places to eat and drink are).

The hotel itself was very welcoming, the staff were lovely, particularly Adnan who was very knowledgeable and had a good sense of humour. The hotel room was very basic and old fashioned but we were nicely surprised by how clean and comfy the bed was and by how powerful the shower was. We stayed in room 311 which had a balcony over the street. With the balcony doors open you could hear the hussel and bussel from a main high street a few feet away, with the trams making their pleasant soft ringing noise. But with the doors closed it was very quite, just the hum of the air conditioning. The walls aren't particularly thick so we could hear the family next door to us, but this wasn't too much of a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My sister and I have just returned from a 3 night stay in this hotel. The Nice Jazz festival was on and our preferred hotels in this area were fully booked so we were grateful to find a hotel with rooms available. This hotel is in an excellent location right beside Place Masssena and within walking distance of all the main tourist attractions, Our standard room was small, with a large bathroom but overlooked by other rooms, however for the length of time we spent in the room it was sufficient to our needs. The staff on reception are extremely nice and very helpful. I'm giving this hotel a rating of very good based on a very clean room, comfortable beds, lovely staff and an excellent price for this location. In fact, my sister plans on returning to Nice in September and will most likely stay in this hotel for her upcoming trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed 4 days at this hotel by myself. I reserved superior room and I stayed room no. 212.
This hotel is located near place Massena, in front of tram station Massena and gallery lafayette. So you can find it very easy. The staffs were kind and helpful, the room was clean, AC was operated very well.

But there's no shower curtain, so I was embarrassed a little.(of course there's a small wall beside the bath, but it is too small. so the water is over the wall;;;) Moreover there's no refrigerator and mini bar in the room, even though I stayed suprerior room, not standard, so I couldn't drink cool water. And the breakfast was also...... not good. There're just some bread and coffee, there's no any fruit and hot dishes!!

Even thouth there weak points, I'll stay at this hotel again next time cause its location and nice room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Univers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Univers Hotel

Address: 2 Rue de la Liberte, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Univers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Univers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Univers Hotel Nice
Hotel Univers Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Univers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.