We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Hotel Massenet !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Massenet Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Massenet Hotel to your Saves list
Massenet Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Rue Massenet, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 213 Hotels in Nice
Haifa
1 review
“Thank you Hotel Massenet !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We applied to this hotel following reading the TA's reviews and were not disappointed !
We have just returned from our first visit to nice We found the Massenet hotel to be perfect base. Me and my wife stayed at the Massenet for seven nights. The hotel is in a great location, ideal base for touring Nice and Cote d' Azur. Locates in a quiet lane (which gives you lots of quietness) just three minutes walk to the Promenade des Anglais, close to the tourist information and all bus stops and tram, close to the pedestrian road with all the shops and restaurants, Massena Place and within walking distance of the Old Town (Vieille Ville).
Our room was big enough fore two people. It has an excellent A/C, a small fridge, flat TV, The bathroom was nice and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Free WiFi which worked perfectly for us during our stay.
We shall come again !
Above all, this is a comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff (who speak good English).Many thanks to you Matthieu, George, Daizy, Ghani in the reception, for you welcoming and your family treatment. You gave us feeling at home !

Room Tip: We enjoed very much our room #203 and we are sure that the rest of the rooms enjoy the same quietnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    126
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
24
147
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have been to Nice many times, but this was our first time at this hotel. From the minute we entered the hotel to check-out everything was great. The hotel staff are the most caring and wonderful people. They made sure that our every request was catered to swiftly. We had booked the superior room and it was quite big by french standards and was very clean. There was a small balcony facing the front of the hotel. There was zero noise at night inspite of being less than 100mn from the promenade. The hotel is in a very quiet street and is 2mins away from many restaurants and cafes. The room itself was very comfortable. We took our travel boiler along, and it was very useful in having teas and boiling water for our newborn. We had requested a cot for the baby by calling them a few days in advance. Probably they can change the mattress in the cot to something slightly softer. Overall, we loved the hotel and will be back very soon. Thank you for the previous reviews to allow us to find this gem of a place.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms where we stayed were quite big. Superior room with a small balcony. All rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff who spoke good English. Hotel is in a great location, very close to the Promenade des Anglais, plus the cafes and bars one road back, and within walking distance of the Old Town (Vieille Ville).



Genuine Hotels.com guest review

Room Tip: We were in room 204 on the 2nd floor. The view from the window is just the backs of other buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife & I stayed 5 nights could find little to complain about . The staff were all very helpful specially at reception, they went out their way to make us comfortable which helps to make a good holiday. We had continental breakfast there every morning adequate for us anyway, although there were plenty of cafes close by. It was Ideal for us & would not hesitate in going back again.
J & J

Room Tip: If you like to make a cup of tea take a small electric kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chimkent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

100m far from the "promenade des Anglais" and the sea shore, the hotel is closed to the very center of the town where most of the restaurants and shops are located. The hotel is quiet and clean.
An underground and closed parking is available at the hoteland wifi is working well.
I didn't try the breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Massenet for one night in August. It was perfect.
The location was ideal, tucked away on a quiet cul-de-sac, close to the beach, close to the pedestrian road with all the shops and restaurants, close to the airport bus stop (2mins walk).
The room and bathroom were clean and spacious. We liked leaving the room key with the front desk when we left, it was one less thing to carry around. The wifi worked perfectly for us during our stay.
The staff were extremely helpful; they allowed us to check-in early (10am!), gave suggestions about the area and restaurants, and held our baggage all day for us in storage so we could enjoy our last day in Nice.
We would most certainly stay at the Massenet again if/when we return to Nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Location: Less than 200 meters from Promenade des Anglais, 10 mins to Place Massena
Hotel: Small building tucked in a lane, joined to other properties on the sides
Room: Big, well lit, big bathroom
Positives: Location, big room/bathroom, helpful staff, parking available, free internet
Negatives: noisy airconditioner, no system of multiple room cards
Ranking at time of writing: #18 of 213

This is one hotel regarding I was confused between 3 or 4 stars. The location is fantastic for the price. You can't get anything better. Less than 200m away from the beach (no view of the sea though), close to a plethora of restaurants. The reception is manned 24 hours and the staff is very helpful. They serve breakfast (extras) near the lobby. Parking is in a sheltered garage next door.

The room is quite big with a balcony, which unfortunately was not in the best of shape - dirty and had no view as there were trees around. There's a cupboard to store clothes, a locker affixed into the wall, a table, chair, enough room to walk around. The bathroom is big with a clothes heater and a shower + bathtub. They had free internet (apparently only for a short time as the new wifi network was patchy and hence they didn't want to charge for substandard services)

The downsides - the aircon in our room would vibrate very very loudly at the highest fan setting. What put me off is that the staff was very much aware of that!!! It was very annoying as the room wouldn't cool at a medium fan setting and one couldn't sleep at the higher fan setting. We were there on the Bastille Day weekend and hence no chance of having that fixed. The other downer was the card system. They could only issue 1 card per room, so if one of the occupants needs to go out whilst the other stays in to sleep, you are in trouble. And when we did a bit of an adjustment for the 2nd card, the card just wouldn't work. Nearly 1am at night, I couldn't enter the room, nor could I wake my wife up. Finally after going to the reception twice to reset the card, the receptionist had to come up and open the room with his master key.

Had it not been for these two issues, I would've certainly given a 4 start to this place, may be even a 5.

Room Tip: 1st floor south corner room had plenty of A/C noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Massenet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massenet Hotel

Address: 11 Rue Massenet, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Massenet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Massenet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massenet Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massenet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.