We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis by name, oasis truely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oasis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oasis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France (Thiers / Train Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 212 hotels in Nice
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oasis by name, oasis truely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights, having origninally booked for one. Fabulous location, set back 50 metres off the road in a garden/gated area. 10-15 minutes walk to the promenade or port areas, surrounded by dozens (if not hundreds) of bars,cafes, restaurants.Just far away enough from the main tourist strip to give the genuine French feel about it all. Parking available for small exra fee (Euros 10.00). We had room 110 which opened onto a private patio area. Room was a very spacious one considering the normal size, clean, quiet, internet, T.V. tea/coffee facilites - all of which made for really good value. Staff were really friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have thier own private patio area which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    86
    39
    24
    14
See reviews for
19
93
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bandon oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The room was tiny like some Paris hotels. I felt cramped. The African decor was a hoot. Breakfast was nice and very ample. There are several nice bistros nearby. I have stayed here many times mainly because of the laundry mat nearby and the easy walking to shopping. This hotel is extremely quiet.

Room Tip: Look at the room first size varies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel in Nice for 5 nights. We are from South Africa so we found the questionable African interior theme amusingly ironic. Despite this we had a lovely stay. Good value for expensive Nice and a great location about halfway between the main train station and the promenade. Several bus stops are also close by including the one for the airport which we used for day trips outside of Nice and the airport. We love walking so never used the bus in Nice itself. Rooms were very clean, reception friendly (even offered for us to leave our baggage with them locked away for the day after we checked out). Wifi is good although you need to get a new password from reception every 24hrs. We did not have breakfast (preferred Nutella Crepes on the go!). Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were looking at affordable hotel in Nice and book hotel at the last minute. We were originally placed in a small room but due to problem with availabilty of safe in the room the staff was so accomodating and upgraded us to a much bigger room#110 overlooking the garden. Rosalia and the rest of the receptionist are very helpful. It's close proximity to train, restaurants and airport buses was a plus. The Promenade des Anglais is approximately 10-15 minutes walk away. breakfast cost €12 with few selection so we decided to opt out. Overall would recommend this hotel if you are in a budget.

Room Tip: Standard room are small and if its not too busy best to request for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This little hotel close to Nice railway station is indeed a little Oasis,good size room with coffee and tea making facilities,informative and friendly staff,car parking and a nice wholesome breakfast.this hotel also has some history to it.....find out for yourself. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend to any weary traveller to stay.

Room Tip: Look into the hotel's history....very interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel Oasis made our stay most enjoyable. The room wasn''t huge but was big enough for us as we only spent time in it to sleep. They have a lovely lounge area and outdoor seated area. The staff were very friendly and always courteous. They have free wifi access too. Its about 15 mins from the seafront and 10 mins from the station. The bathroom was clean and well kept with a very good shower. It's not luxury but it's comfortable and makes a good base.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHOREHAM BY SEA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed in room 110, very spacious with fridge, tea/ coffee making facilities. Very clean. Central to Nice so easy walking distance to station, beach and town. The garden is a real joy to sit in. Also found the area very quiet at night so no problems sleeping. Will definitely be returning. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: 23 rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 212 hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oasis 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Nice on a quiet lane the L'Oasis Hotel offers an ideal base for guests looking to explore. This facade of terracotta, green wooden shutters and some wrought iron balconies adds to the ambiance and tranquility of this hotel. This hotel is only 500m from the popular Promenade Des Anglais and the beach, while the elegant arcade Place Massena, with its sparkling fountain, gardens is a mere 800m walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.