We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service and All Around Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel les Cigales

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel les Cigales to your Saves list
Hotel les Cigales
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 211 Hotels in Nice
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Service and All Around Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My experience was outstanding at the Hotel Les Cigales during my recent 12 day stay. I typically select hotels that are the top rated TripAdvosr hotels from Rick Steve's recommended list. For purposes of compassion, I have stayed at Aster House in London, Londress Eiffel in Paris, Oceania and Albergo Chiara hotels in Rome, and Panella's Residence in Florence, all of which were excellent picks. Hotel Les Cigales was by far the best pick, in all respects. The friendliness, and willingness of staff to assist with directions and services is the stand-out feature, and the level of service was unparalleled at any hotel I have stayed at. I have never recevied such polite, and freindly service at upscale US hotels. The hotel is in excellent condition, and all facilities, air conditioning, elevator etc. work flawlessly. The bed was new, firm, and comfortable. My room on the second floor was perfectly quiet, and my sleep uninterrupted with no street noise whatsoever. Noise should only be an issue if the tenants at the time are noisy; there was noise early the last morning due to tenants in the hallway, but I was rising for an early departure anyway. The hotel is ideally located for the Promenade, and great restaurants which suited my purposes perfectly, less convenient if you are primarily interested in repeated visits to the old town for dining or entertainment which is farther away, but fine for several sightseeing visits. There is a very freindly, full service laundry and dry cleaners several stores up at number 18 Dalpozzo. The breakfast was healthy with fruit, cereal, cheese etc. I heartily recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    145
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
63
164
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you're looking for a 4-5 star hotel, do not go here. However, if all you need is the essentials it is perfect. About a 5 min walk from the beach (you can take the hotel towel, they have mats and an umbrella for you to use, also). About a 10 or less minute walk to the train station (we did it with 4 pieces of HEAVY luggage between 2 people). The woman that is there during the daytime (I believe her name to be Eliane) is very helpful and speaks very good English. We could not figure out how to use the safe and the man at the front desk (although new to the
Hotel and not fluent in English) was very helpful, as well. They have a cute rooftop where you can enjoy their breakfast (we opted out and went to a bakery right up the street) but they did charge us 3€ for a cup of coffee from them from the breakfast room! This was disappointing because most hotels would give it to you, had we known this we would have gotten it somewhere else, though it was good coffee. Also got a bottle of wine upon our arrival using the code "welcome in nice" (not sure how long this will o on)... nice touch. And the bed was not bad at all for a European bed - we stayed in room 5... VERY quiet!!!

Room Tip: 5 is in the very back... Quiet!!! And easy to get to (no stairs). Only thing is you can hear the peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

The location is great w.o. Being right on the promenade, and the staff is super friendly. There's always someone at the lobby to greet you. The rooms are nicely spacious and the bathrooms are sleek. However the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything, inside and outside.

Also do not take their "garage" parking. It is just one spot and very hard to get into. I scratched up my car getting in.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

excellent service-very friendly and helpful staff.Room was modern ,comfortable and clean and moderate size.Effective air conditioning
The hotel provided sun umbrellas and beach mats
Location excellent- 5 minute walk to Promenade
10 minutes walk to old town
10 minutes walk to station.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 8 on 1st floor has 2 large windows with small balconies( enough for small chair)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Very good location only 2 blocks from promenade at congress just east of Negresco. Convenient for bus from airport, walk to train station, and all public transport. A short walk to bars restaurants and shopping with decent options within a block or two. Carrefour City just around corner for groceries. Our room (4) was pretty small but fully equipped, clean, decent bathroom, working air conditioning. Hotel has a nice roof terrace where you could hang out and relax, which means room size was not a nuisance. Staff were pleasant and very helpful on arrival.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Excellent budget stay in beautiful Nice, helpful staff were happy to give us directions and tips for seeing the cities attractions, rooms were clean tidy and quiet, great location only a couple of blocks from the beach. didnt get to eat at the restaurant or look around the whole hotel...would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Nice

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 great days here in September 2011. The location was convenient and our room was very spacious and quiet. We enjoyed using the semi roof top patio to relax with a glass of wine at the end of the day. It was a short walk to the Promenade and restaurants. The staff was helpful, especially when we emailed with questions before our arrival. We would not hesitate to stay here when we travel to Nice again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel les Cigales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Cigales

Address: 12 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Cigales 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel LES CIGALES warmly welcomes its guests in the fascinating setting of a completely refurbished oldNoble residence in the heart of Nice, just 150 m from the sea and the Casino.All our 19 rooms, with attached bath, are air-conditioned and sound-proofed.Other room facilities include minibar, satellite television, direct telephone line with modem socket, and WIFI internet connexion. Personal safe and hair dryer.Our guests are sure to appreciate the warm hospitality and cordiality of our staff, as well as the quiet and peacefulAtmosphere of a family run concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel les Cigales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cigales Hotel
Les Cigales Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel les Cigales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.