We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel, great beach a few blocks away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach to your Saves list
Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Avenue des Fleurs, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great modern hotel, great beach a few blocks away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The room was amazing - we had our own private rooftop hot tub. The staff were always friendly and accommodating even though I only spoke English, and fresh daily breakfast was so much healthier than anything else we could find to eat.
The hotel has a private beach a few blocks away. The food and drink service at the beach is great. Lots of different styles of cots to choose from. Good DJ too.
Stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with private patio and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    95
    70
    53
    37
See reviews for
28
195
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel was disappointing. The room was TINY, I did not like the bathroom be in the middle of the room. It felt like being in prison. I expected some more extravagant design, not that kind of depressing pseudo-design. It is way overpriced, I would not stay there again. The guests at the hotel belong mostly to one of the following: pseudo-hipsters or confused people who didn't do enough research before booking this hotel. I would say it was worth the experience, so at least I have something to tell my grandchildren about, but I would never stay there again. Overpriced and depressing, nothing more than a youth hostel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is not for everyone as it is surely designed for a niche Market.We were given a room with the shower a metre off the floor with split steps to access. The toilet was similar with no handrail or door which I found quite scary to use . We were given another room with an indoor terrace ie a row of indoor plants but the amenities were on floor level.storage space was minimal and all the electrics were controlled by handsets which were finicky to use. The breakfast was healthy....yoghurts , bio drinks, fruit, cheese and a selection of good bread and drinks. The cutlery was made of strange tasting wood. There is a roof terrace with a small pool and a spa with a masseur. It is in a convenient location and the staff are nice. Only go if you like a challenge and quirkiness!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A group of us stayed at the Hi-Hotel over the summer for a wedding in the area. We chose this hotel for the rooftop pool and the private beach. Overall i think we were all quite disappointed given this is an expensive hotel and comparing it to other hotels across the world which were far far better for the price.

We stayed in a range of rooms from the cheapest double to the most expensive penthouse (400+ euro per night WITHOUT breakfast!) and all were well designed but lacked any kind of storage space for clothes, and were honestly rather impractical.

Certainly not for couples who don't know each other well, we stayed in a room where you could see your partner going to the toilet in a glass cubicle and it ventilated into the room! In fact one of our party requested specifically not to have this room when booking but was still placed in this type.

Rooftop pool was ok, despite pictures small though, could only fit 4-6 people sitting in it and very exposed to the sun due to lack of any shade.

Breakfast was good, not sure about the eco credentials of completely disposable cutlery (they should do a life cycle analysis on this).

Beach was good in fact, but given you can go there if you don't stay at the hotel, you're better off staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Do not choose the rooms with the poobicles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

On arrival the look was very dull and gloomy and looked very cheap for a 4 star hotel.The hotel staff were not useful and did not explain any of the room facilities. We were told by Aurelie who checked us in, we have been charged for an additional 2 nights on arrival because of an issue with the booking. On checking in we were given a room with an open toilet with no door. A bedroom is supposed to be hygienic to be able to sleep in to say the least regardless of how trendy it is. We asked to change our room and the second room had a bathtub in the centre. The entire room was flooding when we tried to switch it on as water started to pour out from everywhere even though we used 1 switch. The TV (or projector rather) was very complicated and we were not able to use it. When I tried to call the reception the phone lines did not work.Finally when we went downstairs to ask for towels and about food, we were told no food was served after 10 pm. There was only 1 member of staff at reception working in the entire hotel at this time.This did not make us feel safe at all,especially with our room being on the 1st floor and not having proper curtains we could hear and see everyone on the streets all night wondering what could happen if someone broke in especially with just 1 person at reception and with Nice not being the safest of places. The restaurant table had a worm crawling on it which had just come out a fruit basket that had obviously been kept there for sometime, when we went to order some drinks and the hotel was filled with mosquitos. The overall look of the room had a hospital feel, extremely gloomy.After the first night when housekeeping was done, they had kept the same towels and had not changed them. Also, there were no tables or chairs if you wanted to have a meal in the room. The smell in the corridors were of urine. On checkout we were promised to meet the management as we had made an appointment. To our surprise the manager did not show up.Therefore both the issue of our stay and the fact that we were charged unfairly for an extra period of 2 nights was not addressed as we had to catch a plane. On asking the staff member why this was the case politely, we were told "Excuse me please do not complain I have been working here all night and I am very tired" I am appauled by this kind of attitude and have travelled across the world and stayed at different accommodations from 3 to 5 star hotels and apartments and have never ever had someone speak to me like this. Personally I think the hotel should be closed down and it should not be listen by a website like booking.com as a reliable hotel. I have to this date not even received a communication from the hotel or apology despite all those problems. Also during this vacation I have stayed at a total of 6 hotels in Europe, out of which 4 were in France and this hotel would not ever compare to the others and is not at the same standard. It is far from a 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel. The only good thing about it is the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I booked this hotel through Tablet Hotels, and remember seeing the interior of the space in a Hotel Design book I own. I was expecting the place to look very polished and clean like the photos, but was a bit disappointed upon arrival. The check in desk was very small, low lighting, and cheap looking curtains partitioned the area off. I saw the dining space, which was VERY different then the images I saw in the Hotel Design books. It looked like it was neglected and not taken care of. The room we had was the Monolith room, which was very large and spacious. However the shower and the toilet, had semi transparent glass, so there was no sense of privacy. You could also hear every conversation coming from the halls. The roof top was nice, but the pool was small. They had DVD covers in the main lobby, so I think you are able to rent out movies for your room? We also received fresh juice upon arrival, which was nice after the long train ride from Paris! I did like the location since it was off from the touristy area, and close to the train station. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I would highly recommend reading up on this hotel before deciding to stay there. I didn't. The room we had was called the 'indoor terrace' with the contents if the room placed atop a wooden level (really hard to explain). It had a large transparent shower where it was literally impossible to have privacy as the other person can see you no matter where they are in the room. The room itself was clean but the hallways smelled funny and you can hear everything through the walls.The website leads you to believe that it has a rooftop pool, and I guess it does but it's more suited for two people rather than a hotel filled with guests. It's about the size of a hotub so you feel weird getting in if others are present. The beach is within walking distance and the hotel happens to have a restaurant with lounge chairs on the beach that you can rent for about 16 euro a person. I stayed at many four star hotels on this trip and I just found that this hotel was kinda cheesy and missed the mark.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach

Address: 3 Avenue des Fleurs, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nice
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#35 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
design boutique hotel and ecologic in the heart of Nice with a private beach and spa designed by an ex Philippe Starck’s partner: matali crasset had imagined a modern hotel.this beautiful premise of 38 rooms benefits of a special localization, 200 meters from the promenade des anglais and HI BeachHI was designed by matali crasset and differs from their nine concepts, which arebased on a specific organization of a given area to be lived in and experienced.Beyond decorative themes, these configurations provide an alternative to your everyday codified areas.HI is also concerned about well being and with a strong commitment to ecological values, in relation with today's engagement to protect the planet. our premises propose original benefits as well.the happy bar is at the heart of the hotel. It is formed around a suspended« nacelle », massive yet light. The « nacelle » comes to life with the presence of lives of eclectic music and video screenings. our restaurant, the organic canteen, offers organic products, it is a restaurant where you eat healthy and simple cooked dishes in a playful way, vegetarian plates available or diet snacks in the patio garden, real cocoon surrounded by plants organic breakfasts and brunches.in evening, at sushi bar, you can appreciate the original creations of our Japanese chef kazuomi ota: selection of original sushi, typical starters, green tea matcha desserts and sake bar.between meals, you can relax in our Spa Hi body by REN (clean bio active skincare), which is directed its well-being space towards relaxation and massage.Hi proposes two annexes as well.the Hi business proposes a new and contemporary work environnement inventing a new way to meet and work for your seminar.our beach, the Hi beach, which is based on an innovative concept thatreconciles the simplicity of the pleasure of the beach and the seaside. it developsa new logic of spaces : a beach where each beach of us will find their own rhythm and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Hotel Eco Spa And Beach
Hi Hotel Eco Beach
Hi Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.