We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regence

Save Saved
You added Hotel Regence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Regence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 212 hotels in Nice
Surrey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Affordable, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location for exploring Nice. We asked for a quiet room, and were given one at the back- couldn't hear any noise from the street at all.
5 minutes walk from the beach, easy reach of the bus stops to get to/from the airport if you want to keep costs down and avoid paying for a taxi.
Room was clean, comfortable and basic. Very minor niggle is that the hair dryer was broken in the room (but still functioned) and it wasn't exactly very powerful, so if you have long hair, take your own!

I would definitely stay here again for a summer holiday. If I were going again at a time when the weather wouldn't be so good, I'd get a hotel with more stuff to do/going on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    273
    64
    15
    8
See reviews for
45
244
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

we have just returned from our second visit to nice having stayed in a much more expensive hotel last visit ,we found the regence to be perfect base , staff very helpful ,very clean , comfortable bed ,superb location for sight seeing and the beach is only five minutes walk away ,excellent value for money we will book to stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

stayed there in Sep 2013 with 2 friends and we had a fantastic experience!
Room was good size and clean. Excellent location, easy access to the beach, train station & bus stops and lots of restaurants and shops at your doorstep.
All staff was VERY friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. Big thanks to Alexandre and the rest of team that made our stay in Nice even more enjoyable!

Room Tip: our room was on 3rd floor - very spacious front room can be a bit noisy as lots of restaurants down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you want t be in this part of Nice the Regence is excellently situated. No complaints with the Hotel at all, good value for the price and staff are friendly and very helpful everything went to plan and we enjoyed our visit. there is not a restaurant or bar but plenty of establishments around you, breakfast was OK. We will return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My Mum & I have just returned after 1 week @ The Hotel Regence, it was great value. It's location is so close to the Tram line & the Place du Massena, Old Town, everything is so accessible. Every which way you turn when you leave the Hotel there are Restaurants & Shops, so no shortage of places to eat nearby. Although you have to walk further to find the more authentic french restaurants and away from the Pizza/Pasta Houses.... It's a bit like Little Italy! We knew in advance from previous reviews that the rooms were going to be on the small side and that breakfast was limited to breads & juice. Our room 306 was perfect, at the back of the hotel, plenty of place for 2 large suitcases (women never travel light!) and it was absolutely spotless. There are any amount of places to go for breakfast if you want outside the Hotel but we found it was sufficient to start the day. The staff were exceptional, in particular Maria and Alexandra, they were so helpful & always smiling, they couldn't do enough for you. Of note: The Hotel was fully booked when we were there yet it was refreshing that the staff actually remembered what room you were in when giving you your room key when you returned in the evening without having to ask you. In summary, if you are looking for a CLEAN hotel with HELPFUL FRIENDLY staff in the center of Nice that isn't going to cost you a fortune look no further. Oooh & they have air-conditioning & a lift! I just hope I can get a room the next time I am booking a room here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I wouldn't give a better note as the hotel is good value for money : clean, working AC, very well located, friendly staff, good beds, but the place has its downfalls as well.

The location means noise if your room is on the street. And until very late.
The breakfast is very limited : one type of bread, mini croissants and pain au chocolat, coffee/tea/water/chocolate from the same machine, and some juice from another one. No fresh fruit, no cheese, no yoghurt, no cured meats, no honey, no margarine (only butter).
For 6 Euros, better go somewhere in the neighborhood and enjoy a nice breakfast outside.

One nice hotel, still.

Room Tip: Take a room on the backyard to be able to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent two nights at Hotel Regence.
The location is superb - just a few steps from "Vieux Nice", the lively part of the old city.
Very friendly and helpfull staff.
The rooms are small, but clean and well kept.
Good value for money and Great location !
(No pool - Sorry for "miiss-print" in ranking below)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regence

Address: 21 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regence 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regence Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.