We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely week at La Perouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Perouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Perouse to your Saves list
Hotel La Perouse
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   11 quai Rauba-Capeu, 06300 Nice, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #8 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Fleet Hampshire UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A lovely week at La Perouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

La Perouse is an oasis of good taste. Friendly and efficient staff, quiet and well-equipped room, wonderful sea views from balcony. The small but quality restaurant had good choice of dishes and breakfast was well-run. The reception staff recommended a restaurant for our anniversary dinner, and when we arrived the table was decorated with a floral arrangement, and Kir Royale on the house. La Perouse is not cheap but you get what you pay for! We will go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    203
    56
    26
    19
See reviews for
94
396
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The location and view was second to none however we did pay top dollar for this luxury and that was the only luxurious thing about it. The room was standard, semi-soft double bed, desk, bathroom, tv...a normal hotel room. We had paid €422 a night for this room and that does not include the €25 breakfast daily, €19 a night parking, tax or even quality shampoo. We were sitting in reception waiting for our car to be collected from parking and witnessed a couple be upgraded from a garden view to an ocean view room. About a €80 variation in price, I can live with that. On our last day we again witnessed 3 young girls be upgraded by the female staff member from a standard room to a garden view room, about €100 upgrade, then a free bed for their extra guest, €25 a night saving and then the male staff member gave them a further upgrade to an ocean view room. And here we were after paying €422 a night for the room, €19 a night for parking and €25 a day for breakfast, plus tipping staff! We received no consolation after pointing this out. So I recommend if you stay at this hotel, book the standard room, flash some skin to the male staff and wait for your upgrades. Also DO NOT get cocktails by the pool. The bar staff have NO IDEA how to make standard cocktails (we had mojitos...if you could call them that) and they charge through the roof and again expect you to tip them on their poor effort. I recommend this hotel for the view, that is all. But you can get the same view at the other 20 hotels on the beach strip so have a look at them all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Wow, South of France! Muah, its fabuloso ! This Hotel Perouse offers great rooms, views and even experience with their staff! Nickolas, Door and Car guy - is the best ! He knows were going to Monaco and gives us his own tie to ensure we get into Monte Carlo.... Who Does That ? Amazing service does ! He even recommended my possibly fav spot so far which was Eze Village - Go ! Its a Bucket List experience for sure !

Room Tip: Were in room 115, Cant complain !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular location close to the beach near plenty of shopping places and place to eat. The room was large and nicely decorated however there was a slight moldy smell when first entering the room. Breakfast buffet was good but some of the staff could work on their demeanor. Overall a good place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The latest episode in our continuing love affair with France was a tour of the south of that country starting in Nice. By coincidence we were there at the time of the Monaco Grand Prix and the Cannes Film Festival marking the start of the high season. The Hotel La Perouse is very well located right on the ocean.
The rooms are luxurious, the views spectacular, the food devine and the staff are friendly, helpful and very professional. We had an ocean view room, we would open the shutters (yes they come and close the shutters and curtains every night as part of the turn down service) each morning and watched the sunrise.
The hotel is well located close to the flower market and the old town. We walked down to the Flower Market on the first day and watched the flower sellers in action over a glass of champagne.
The most efficient way to travel in Nice is by bus or the tram and the hotel is within easy walking access to these.
Even though the hotel was very busy while we were there they managed it all very smoothly and we still had the full service experience.
All in all an excellent hotel which we would recommend to everybody. Make sure you book an ocean view as there are some very nice close up views of the cliff face at the rear of the hotel which only the geologists among you will love.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an Ocean View room also pay attention when they are showing you to your room. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent one night here during our honeymoon and got upgraded to a very lovely room on the 6th floor with a full sea view. The view was spectacular. The room itself was very nice with a large bathroom.

We had dinner in the hotel which was excellent (fillet and tagliatelle pasta). The breakfast buffet was very good with a lot of options.

Access by car is a bit tricky but the hotel provides valet service. You just park the car in front of the hotel (which happens to be in the middle of a lane near a turn) and they take care of it. As the parking is some distance away, it takes them about 20 minutes to get the car.

The only minor complaint is that like most other hotels they put together two beds to make one larger. They do it without adding a common top mattress so if you like to sleep close one of you will inevitably end up in "the gap" between the beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotel La Perouse is a charming small hotel right on the ocean in Nice France. It is very close to the flower market area which turns from a market with dining areas to a full dining experience at night. There are many choices and I don't think you will find a bad meal at any of the restaurants. The hotel itself is built into the side of a mountain and apparently during WW II it was used as a prison which might help explain the small rooms. Lets call them intimate and we will leave it at that. They are all nicely appointed and the linens and other elements in the room speak to the top quality experience offered by the hotel. Breakfast was included in our stay and it was more than you would expect with a choice of buffet products as well as a la carte.

I am shorting the hotel one point out of five for the difficulty in getting to the hotel by car from the airport. Not to say you can't get to the hotel but there is no turn into the hotel. Your only choice is to drive past, make the first right turn you can and then make an illegal u turn to go back to the hotel. When you do return to the front of the hotel - its beside the Hotel Suisse by the way - you may have to double park in front turn on your flashers and carefully open the driver's door into he traffic coming around the corner behind you. A little unnerving the first time you do it.

Be sure to visit the park that is part of the old fortifications above the hotel. There is an elevator just around the corner from the hotel. The views are even more amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for and pay for a room at lesst on the fourth floor with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Perouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perouse

Address: 11 quai Rauba-Capeu, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#4 Family Hotel in Nice
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#15 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Perouse 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Perouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perouse Nice
Resort La Perouse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Perouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.