We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soo Far, Soo Good !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Perouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Perouse to your Saves list
Hotel La Perouse
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   11 quai Rauba-Capeu, 06300 Nice, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #8 of 212 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Soo Far, Soo Good !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Wow, South of France! Muah, its fabuloso ! This Hotel Perouse offers great rooms, views and even experience with their staff! Nickolas, Door and Car guy - is the best ! He knows were going to Monaco and gives us his own tie to ensure we get into Monte Carlo.... Who Does That ? Amazing service does ! He even recommended my possibly fav spot so far which was Eze Village - Go ! Its a Bucket List experience for sure !

Room Tip: Were in room 115, Cant complain !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    226
    71
    28
    21
See reviews for
110
455
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Spectacular location close to the beach near plenty of shopping places and place to eat. The room was large and nicely decorated however there was a slight moldy smell when first entering the room. Breakfast buffet was good but some of the staff could work on their demeanor. Overall a good place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The latest episode in our continuing love affair with France was a tour of the south of that country starting in Nice. By coincidence we were there at the time of the Monaco Grand Prix and the Cannes Film Festival marking the start of the high season. The Hotel La Perouse is very well located right on the ocean.
The rooms are luxurious, the views spectacular, the food devine and the staff are friendly, helpful and very professional. We had an ocean view room, we would open the shutters (yes they come and close the shutters and curtains every night as part of the turn down service) each morning and watched the sunrise.
The hotel is well located close to the flower market and the old town. We walked down to the Flower Market on the first day and watched the flower sellers in action over a glass of champagne.
The most efficient way to travel in Nice is by bus or the tram and the hotel is within easy walking access to these.
Even though the hotel was very busy while we were there they managed it all very smoothly and we still had the full service experience.
All in all an excellent hotel which we would recommend to everybody. Make sure you book an ocean view as there are some very nice close up views of the cliff face at the rear of the hotel which only the geologists among you will love.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an Ocean View room also pay attention when they are showing you to your room. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent one night here during our honeymoon and got upgraded to a very lovely room on the 6th floor with a full sea view. The view was spectacular. The room itself was very nice with a large bathroom.

We had dinner in the hotel which was excellent (fillet and tagliatelle pasta). The breakfast buffet was very good with a lot of options.

Access by car is a bit tricky but the hotel provides valet service. You just park the car in front of the hotel (which happens to be in the middle of a lane near a turn) and they take care of it. As the parking is some distance away, it takes them about 20 minutes to get the car.

The only minor complaint is that like most other hotels they put together two beds to make one larger. They do it without adding a common top mattress so if you like to sleep close one of you will inevitably end up in "the gap" between the beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotel La Perouse is a charming small hotel right on the ocean in Nice France. It is very close to the flower market area which turns from a market with dining areas to a full dining experience at night. There are many choices and I don't think you will find a bad meal at any of the restaurants. The hotel itself is built into the side of a mountain and apparently during WW II it was used as a prison which might help explain the small rooms. Lets call them intimate and we will leave it at that. They are all nicely appointed and the linens and other elements in the room speak to the top quality experience offered by the hotel. Breakfast was included in our stay and it was more than you would expect with a choice of buffet products as well as a la carte.

I am shorting the hotel one point out of five for the difficulty in getting to the hotel by car from the airport. Not to say you can't get to the hotel but there is no turn into the hotel. Your only choice is to drive past, make the first right turn you can and then make an illegal u turn to go back to the hotel. When you do return to the front of the hotel - its beside the Hotel Suisse by the way - you may have to double park in front turn on your flashers and carefully open the driver's door into he traffic coming around the corner behind you. A little unnerving the first time you do it.

Be sure to visit the park that is part of the old fortifications above the hotel. There is an elevator just around the corner from the hotel. The views are even more amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for and pay for a room at lesst on the fourth floor with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a fine hotel with small but good rooms and with very good bathrooms. The bathrooms are spacious and modern. The hotel location is excellent and the views are awesome. Be sure to understand what kind of view your room will have before booking. Most rooms offer at least partial water views but some of the back rooms do not. Take advantage of the pool area and upper decks for the best views. The breakfast was adequate but I was not overly impressed with other meals at the restaurant. It's best to walk to old town and area restaurants - well within easy walking distance. Please note that if you have lots of luggage, you will need assistance getting up the front steps to the lobby and even within the hotel which has multiple elevators and stairs depending on your room location. The way it is built into a rock cliff creates an interesting warren of hallways that are confusing at first but not a big deal unless you have heavy luggage.

Room Tip: My first room on the 4th floor was noisy with a tile floor. My second room on the 5th floor had car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Since last reviewing La Perouse in 2005 we have returned 3 times, the last occasion being May 2013. 'Garden View' room 511 is OK but overall does not represent good value for money. As other reviewers have mentioned La Perouse is a place to stay only if you make sure that you have a room with a view, otherwise much of the reason for staying at La Perouse is lost. We also noticed a discernible slipping in standards during our last stay with the beds and bed linen now being no better than you would find in a Premier Inn and the restaurant staff in particular being untidy and off hand. A stunning view from our bedroom balcony might have alleviated our feeling of overall disappointment but it may be sometime before we would consider returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#10 of 212 in Nice
4.0 of 5 stars 1,314 reviews
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice
Boscolo Exedra Nice
#26 of 212 in Nice
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perouse

Address: 11 quai Rauba-Capeu, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#10 Family Hotel in Nice
#14 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Perouse 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Perouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perouse Nice
Resort La Perouse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Perouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.