We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and full of life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town (Vieille Ville)

Old Town (Vieille Ville)
Vieux Nice, 06000 Nice, France (Old Town / Vieux Nice)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$60*
and up
Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour
Ranked #2 of 189 things to do in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic part of Nice feels like a medieval village with narrow streets curving between old buildings with red-tile roofs, small restaurants and open-markets.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming and full of life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A great way to be immersed in the culture of southern France. Shopping and food is great.
I loved the flower market and the beautiful views.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,323
    1,405
    209
    28
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint and interesting area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We liked the atmosphere, the informal entertainment and the markets. Our hotel TV did not have a channel for the tennis at Wimbledon - only the World Cup! Our hotel Aston la Scala made enquiries and discovered a bar/restaurant that was showing the final at Wimbledon and gave us a map! We couldn't have wished for more!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you like exploring really old streets away from the glitz of modern traditional Nice - browsing in little shops - this is the place to go. OK, some alley ways were a bit grotty, but there are such fantastic little bars, cafes/restaurants - you will be spoilt for choice. A real must to get the feel for a southern French, Mediterranean city.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level Contributor
323 reviews
206 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Very positive atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Don't miss to visit old Nice.
Plenty of good restaurants, shops
Very positive atmosphere.
Also visit place massena

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old and very active”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lively... Very big area. We visited twice. Many tiny street waiting to be explored. Seems like we are going to stay whole night.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town (Vieille Ville) also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Old Town (Vieille Ville)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town (Vieille Ville), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.